Outdated or Unsupported Browser Detected
DWD's website uses the latest technology. This makes our site faster and easier to use across all devices. Unfortunatley, your browser is out of date and is not supported. An update is not required, but it is strongly recommended to improve your browsing experience. To update Internet Explorer to Microsoft Edge visit their website.

Construction Pathway, Electrical Fundamentals Unit

DSPS Registration and Instruction Requirements

All YA Construction Electrical Fundamentals students must be registered with the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS).

Any individual, regardless of age, who is doing installation, maintenance, or repair of electrical wiring is required to hold some type of individual Wisconsin electrical license or registration and to work under the supervision of a Wisconsin master electrician, Electrical Apprentice is the best fit for YA students. Each youth apprentice working in the Electrical Fundamentals unit should complete and submit a DSPS Electrical Apprentice (wi.gov) – Application for Electrical Apprentice Registration, along with the required $30 application and credential fees. The Electrical Apprentice credential has no requirements for applying but does require renewal after one year.

The DSPS administrative rules (under s. 106.13, Stats.) requiring a student participating the youth apprenticeship program to complete at least 24 hours of continuing education to renew or reacquire their enrollment has been waived. (See SPS305LRRD.pdf (wi.gov) issued by the DSPS waving the requirement of 24 credits of continued education to renew a general electrician (apprenticeship) license.) DSPS determined the exemption from continuing education requirements in the proposed rules aligns with its mission to promote economic growth and stability while protecting the citizens of Wisconsin as designed by statute.

If you have questions concerning the electrician licensing, please email DSPSCredTrades@wisconsin.gov.