Need an Alternate Format?

If you have comments regarding any documents on DET's website or need an alternate format, you may contact us via email at:

Wisconsin Apprenticeship Advisory Council

The Wisconsin Apprenticeship Advisory Council's mission is to advise the Department of Workforce Development on matters involving the Wisconsin Apprenticeship System, including the enactment of laws, rules, and standards.

Council Composition Council Members Council Subcommittees Meeting Material

Council Composition

The Council is required by law to maintain the following composition:

  • nine (9) members are employer representatives and nine (9) employee representatives who are appointed by the Secretary of the Dept of Workforce Development (DWD);
  • one (1) representative from the Dept of Public Instruction appointed by the State Superintendent of Public Instruction;
  • one (1) representative from the WI Technical College System (WTCS) appointed by the WTCS Director;
  • two (2) members who represent public interest appointed by the DWD Secretary; and
  • the Director of the Bureau of Apprenticeship Standards serves as the nonvoting chair.

All members of the WI Apprenticeship Advisory Council must be persons who are familiar with apprenticeable occupations. Employee and employer members serve three-year terms and are nominated by statewide trade associations, employer groups, the state labor organization, and community-based organizations. Only designated members of the Council are authorized to vote. The Council generally meets three or four times a year or more often as needed.

Council Members


  • Terry Hayden, Wisconsin Pipe Trades Association
  • Henry Hurt, Hurt Electric, Inc.
Employee Members
  • Jim Cook, NECA IBEW Apprenticeship & Training
  • Michael Daily, United Steel Workers
  • Shaun McHugh, IUOE Local 139
  • Brandon Mortenson, IAMAW District 10 Business Representative
  • Hollie O'Neill, IBEW 2150 WI Electric Power
  • Mark Wieseke, UAW Local 469
Employer Members
  • Daniel Barker, Ariens Co.
  • Leigh Emrick, Associated Builders & Contractors of Wisconsin
  • Tracey Griffith, Walbec Group
  • Gert Grohmann, Associated General Contractors of Greater Milwaukee
  • Callie Hellenbrand, Alliant Energy Corp.
  • Gene Jacobson, Precision Drive & Control
  • Kathellen Pfannerstill, Toolcraft Co. Inc.
Educational Representatives
  • Chrystal Seeley-Schreck, Wisconsin Technical College System
  • Karin Smith, Department of Public Instruction
Public Members
  • Seth Lentz, Workforce Development Board of South Central Wisconsin
  • Anthony Ruben Jr., Urban League of Greater Madison

Council Subcommittee

Subcommittees are comprised of Council members and may include other apprenticeship stakeholders.

Career Pathways Subcommittee

Develop critical linkages between the Department of Workforce Development's Youth Apprenticeship and Registered Apprenticeship programs, certified pre-apprenticeships, and the secondary and post-secondary educational system.

Equal Access and Outreach Subcommittee

Promote apprenticeship opportunities in high-growth areas and increase access, recruitment, training, and retention of women and minorities in state approved apprenticeship programs.

Policy and Standards Subcommittee

Review and provide recommendations to the DWD/Bureau of Apprenticeship Standards concerning apprenticeship regulations and policies.

2021 Meeting Materials

The Council meets on a quarterly basis or more often, if needed. Meeting materials from 2017 to present are available on Wisconsin Public Meeting Notices and Minutes.

Date Time Location Meeting Materials
Feb 9 (T) 10 a.m. Webinar
Approved Minutes
May 4 (T) 10 a.m. Webinar
Approved Minutes
May 18 (T) 10 a.m. Webinar
Approved Minutes
Aug 4 (W) 10 a.m. Webinar
Meeting Material
Nov 9 (T) 10 a.m. TBD