Skip main navigation

Outdated or Unsupported Browser Detected
DWD's website uses the latest technology. This makes our site faster and easier to use across all devices. Unfortunatley, your browser is out of date and is not supported. An update is not required, but it is strongly recommended to improve your browsing experience. To update Internet Explorer to Microsoft Edge visit their website.

Unemployment News for Employers

Work-Share  |  Public Hearing  |  Credit Card & Debit Card Payment Options  |  Worker Misclassification  |  Labor Law Training  |  Employer Handbook

Message from DWD Secretary-Designee Pechacek

DWD Secretary-Designee Pechacek

Dear Wisconsin Employer:

This year, Wisconsin's Unemployment Insurance Advisory Council (UIAC) celebrated 90 years of serving the state of Wisconsin. The UIAC was created in 1932 and requires five members of labor and five members of business management to participate. The council advises the Department of Workforce Development (DWD) on program policies and administrative rule development. It also advises the legislature and DWD on proposed law changes. The council ensures that the program remains stable and avoids large swings in policy changes due to changes in leadership at the state level.

Wisconsin's Unemployment Insurance (UI) program was developed in 1932, the first of its kind, and was the basis for the national UI law that followed a few years later in 1935.

Good news! Tax rates for 2023 remain in the lowest rate schedule, Schedule D. The Wisconsin State Budget signed by Governor Evers, included $60 million for 2022 and 2023, to support employers and the UI Trust Fund.

Schedule D has been in effect since 2018.

Wisconsin's labor market remains highly competitive due to the worker shortage, an issue not unique to Wisconsin. The worker shortage is a global issue, but here in Wisconsin plenty of programs are available to help employers find skilled talent. Whether it is setting up an apprenticeship program, applying for a Wisconsin Fast Forward grant, or connecting with thousands of candidates on the Job Center of Wisconsin website, we encourage employers to reach out to DWD for assistance in filling vacant positions or starting training programs. Visit to get in touch with your local business services team today!

Thank you,

Amy Pechacek

Wisconsin Work-Share Program To Help Avoid Layoffs

The Work-Share Program (also called Short-Time Compensation or STC), is designed to help both employers and employees. Instead of laying off workers, a qualified employer can plan to reduce work hours for employees.

Unemployment benefits are pro‐rated for the partial work reduction. Employees do not need to apply for other jobs or be available to work for another employer while in the plan. Employers can retain valued, skilled, and trained employees during an economic downturn.

During the pandemic the Work-Share program benefitted many Wisconsin employers and employees.

The UIAC Agreed bill, signed by Governor Evers, made permanent some pandemic changes such as reducing the minimum number of employees affected to two and extending the program length to 12 months in any five-year period to reach more employers.

Please visit for more information.

Have A Suggestion? Unemployment Insurance Public Hearing

The UIAC is interested in hearing your comments regarding program improvement ideas and law change suggestions. You may provide your thoughts during the 2022 Public Hearing, which will be held in November.

Watch this site for dates: If you are unable to attend the public hearing, you may submit your comments according to the instructions on the site.

Credit Card & Debit Card Payment Options

Credit card logos for Discover, Mastercard and Visa

Employers can make UI tax payments online using a credit or debit card. This includes quarterly and delinquent tax payments. Discover, Mastercard and Visa credit cards are accepted.

A service fee (currently 1%) will be charged for each credit or debit card payment transaction. For your security, UI does not record or store credit or debit card numbers.

There is a new look and feel coming soon to the card payment website. While employers are encouraged to continue logging onto Online Services to pay quarterly taxes, soon ANYONE may log on to the new UI Payment Portal and use a bank account, credit card or debit card to pay a UI employer Account.

Please visit for more information.

Worker Misclassification

Proper worker classification is crucial for the UI program to operate properly and fairly for all employers and workers.

DWD works to ensure that all employers properly classify their workers through educational outreach to employers and workers, combined with a robust program of worksite investigations and compliance audits. DWD's efforts to combat worker misclassification have saved the UI Trust Fund $3.0 million since May 2013. During that time there have been approximately 3,750 worker classification investigations which resulted in 762 audits that have been conducted or scheduled. The audits resulted in 9,700 misclassified workers identified and over $3.4 million in UI tax, interest and penalties assessed.

Some of DWD's efforts include producing videos to educate employers on how to properly classify workers in Wisconsin for UI tax purposes. Additionally, DWD recently received grant funding for the creation of public service announcements, in both English and Spanish, aimed at educating employers and workers on worker misclassification. For further information, including a link to the videos, on how to properly classify workers in Wisconsin, please visit

Labor Law Training: Friday Fundamentals

DWD presents the 2022-2023 series of interactive, educational web conferences open to the public that provide basic information about the following topics: Fair Employment, Wage and Hour, Worker's Compensation, Vocational Rehabilitation, Unemployment Insurance and Employment and Training laws.

Courses are designed to be most helpful if you are new to your job or to the State of Wisconsin. The $36.00 registration fee for each session includes reference materials in advance of each session. A certificate of attendance is also available for continuing education credits. Visit

Employer Handbook

The UI Handbook for Employers is intended to assist employers in meeting their obligations under the Wisconsin UI law, Chapter 108, Wisconsin Statutes. To keep up-to-date on all UI program laws and policies, please view or print this handbook at

Wage information and other confidential unemployment insurance information may be requested and used for other governmental purposes, including verification of an individual’s eligibility for other government programs. For complete information on the rules regarding disclosure, refer to Wisconsin's Administrative Code Chapter DWD 149.

Publication UCT-17289-P (Rev. 10/2022)