Eligible Training Provider List (ETPL) Help

What is the Eligible Training Program List (ETPL)?

The ETPL is a list of training programs that WIOA participants must use to select training that can be funded by WIOA. TAA participants are encouraged to use the ETPL when selecting TAA-funded training. The WIOA and TAA programs are available through Wisconsin's job centers. WIOA and TAA participants must get approval from their career planner to receive training funds. Training institutions on this list only receive WIOA or TAA funding if and when participants enroll in their training program. Funding assistance is also subject to local Workforce Development Board policies.

What is the ETPL application process?

The ETPL application process is described in the ETPL Application Process & User Guide. Training institutions submit applications through the ETPL Provider Portal.

How can I add training programs for my institution?

The process to add programs for an institution through the ETPL Provider Portal is described in the ETPL Application Process & User Guide.

What are the ETPL Provider Portal user roles?

There are two types of ETPL Provider Portal users: Approvers and Editors.

Approvers are institution staff designated by the Officer to manage information on the institution's ETPL Provider Portal pages. Approvers may add, edit and remove the institution's site, contact and program information.

Approvers also manage ETPL Provider Portal access for other individuals who register with their institution. Approvers deny or approve registration requests and may remove registered users.

Editors are institution staff who manage information on the institution's ETPL Provider Portal pages. Editors may add, edit and remove the institution's site, contact and program information.

What are Wisconsin's ETPL eligibility criteria and information requirements?

Wisconsin's current ETPL eligibility criteria and information requirements are listed in the ETPL Eligibility Criteria Guide. All training institutions and programs, other than Registered Apprenticeships, are subject to the eligibility criteria and information requirements in the Guide.

Note: DWD is in the process of reviewing its ETPL eligibility criteria and is working on updating its policies and review procedures. Among the changes, DWD will update its policies to ensure that all training institutions on Wisconsin's ETPL comply with all Wisconsin State licensing requirements. These updates are set to be in effect by early 2022. To prepare for these updates, DWD encourages participating institutions to take steps to ensure that they are in full compliance with State licensing requirements.

As DWD does not regulate those licensure programs, DWD cannot provide guidance on the criteria or applicability. If you are uncertain whether licensing is required for your program, please contact the State agency that administers the licensure program. Some examples of links to State agencies that administer the licensure of training programs include:

Department of Safety and Professional Services

Department of Health Services

Department of Transportation

What are the requirements for employer and trade association letter(s) of support used for program eligibility?

The employer and trade association letter(s) of support that are used for Alternate institution program eligibility must be uploaded through the 'Uploads' tab on that program's ETPL Provider Portal page. Letters of support do not need to be updated annually; however, the letters are made available on the published ETPL website.

Each letter must:

  1. identify the name and address of the trade association or employer;
  2. include a statement from the trade association or employer supporting the training program;
  3. clearly identify the name of the training program being supported;
  4. identify the position title of the individual signing the letter; and
  5. contain a date that includes the year.

Trade association and/or employer letters of support are not allowed from local WDBs and their service providers, nor from the employer(s) and/or trade association(s) administering the training program.

An example letter of support is located in the Resources Box on this page.

How do I submit the Individual-Level Student Information Files?

The Individual-Level Student Information File template, instructions for submitting the template, and information about how performance information is published are located on the ETPL Performance Help Page.

What is continued eligibility?

Continued eligibility is the annual renewal process for ETPL eligibility. Each year, the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development (DWD) performs continued eligibility between July 1 and August 31. The continued eligibility process is described in the Continued Eligibility Guide.

Are newly established programs eligible for the ETPL?

Yes. DWD allows newly established programs to apply to the ETPL at any time. DWD considers programs to be newly established when less than three full Program Years have passed since the program's establishment date. Newly established programs follow the regular process described in the ETPL Application Process & User Guide.

How can registered apprenticeships join the ETPL?

Registered apprenticeships are automatically eligible for Wisconsin's ETPL, so long as they are not federally debarred, suspended or otherwise excluded from or ineligible for participation in federal programs or activities. To join the list, a registered apprenticeship sponsor must email or submit an Institution Application through the ETPL Provider Portal that identifies the program as a registered apprenticeship.

What if my institution or program is denied ETPL eligibility?

DWD denies and terminates ETPL eligibility for the reasons set forth in its ETPL Eligibility Denials and Terminations policy. DWD encourages institution staff to review DWD's eligibility criteria if DWD determines their institution or program ineligible for the ETPL.

If institution's Officer believes the institution or program(s) were found ineligible in error, the Officer may appeal DWD's decision to deny eligibility. Please see DWD's ETPL Appeals policy for more information.

What local workforce development area (WDA) policies apply to funding programs on the ETPL?

Each local WDA may establish policy that sets limitations on the financial assistance it will provide to support WIOA program participants who enroll in training programs listed on the ETPL.

The below table provides links to forms listing each WDA's limitations and shows the Wisconsin counties where that WDA's limitations apply.

WDA Name Counties within the WDA
Southeast Kenosha, Racine, Walworth
Milwaukee County Milwaukee
WOW Washington, Ozaukee, Waukesha
Fox Valley Calumet, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Waupaca, Waushara, Winnebago
Bay Area Brown, Door, Florence, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Outagamie, Shawano, Sheboygan
North Central Adams, Forest, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Oneida, Portage, Vilas, Wood
Northwest Ashland, Bayfield, Burnett, Douglas, Iron, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, Taylor, Washburn
West Central Barron, Chippewa, Clark, Dunn, Eau Claire, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, St. Croix
Western Buffalo, Crawford, Jackson, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Trempealeau, Vernon
South Central Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Jefferson, Marquette, Sauk
Southwest Grant, Green, Iowa, Lafayette, Richland, and Rock
Department of Workforce Development Logo and link to the DWD Homepage
american Job Center Banner