Outdated or Unsupported Browser Detected
DWD's website uses the latest technology. This makes our site faster and easier to use across all devices. Unfortunatley, your browser is out of date and is not supported. An update is not required, but it is strongly recommended to improve your browsing experience. To update Internet Explorer to Microsoft Edge visit their website.

7.3 Eligible Institutions and Program Types | 7.3.2 Eligible Program Types

7.3.2 Eligible Program Types

Effective date: September 2, 2019

Revised date: January 20, 2020

Revised date: March 16, 2022

For a training program to be eligible for the Eligible Training Programs List (ETPL), the eligible institution must directly provide1 the program of training services and it must do so through one or more courses/classes or through a structured regimen.2 Programs may be delivered in-person, online, or through a blended approach of in-person and online.3 Successful completion of the program must lead to one or more of the following outcomes:

Note: Training programs may include non-credentialed training or single courses that fall within a career pathway.5

DWD-DET considers the following types of programs to be ineligible for Wisconsin's ETPL:

  • those that are avocational or recreational in nature and not leading to a vocational objective;6
  • those that are parochial or denominational in character and/or have a sectarian objective;
  • those that are conducted by employers exclusively for their employees;7
  • those that are considered on-the-job-training, customized training, incumbent worker training, internships, work experience, or transitional jobs as defined by WIOA;8
  • those that are primarily focused on offering career services as addressed in 20 CFR § 678.430;
  • those that are designed or tailored for one specific person that are not available for others to take;
  • those that constitute the related-instruction component of a youth apprenticeship program;
  • those that are offered free of charge.9

DWD-DET may require institutions to provide documentation demonstrating compliance with this section.

Recognized Postsecondary Credential

Effective date: September 2, 2019

A recognized postsecondary credential is:

  • an industry-recognized certificate or certification
  • a Certificate of Completion of a Registered Apprenticeship
  • a license recognized by the state or federal government
  • an associate or bachelor's degree.

WIOA Sec. 3(52)

Note: DOL has indicated a hesitation to define "industry recognized credential" because it is "an evolving term and defining it in the regulation may limit future innovation around industry-relevant training." 81 FR 56172