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Overview

« Wisconsin wage statute and WKC 13-Al
« Calculating wages

« Temporary total disability (TTD), permanent partial
disability (PPD), and escalation

« Wage investigation

« Part-time employees and self-restriction
- Wage variants

« Available reference resource

@@@ DWD. WISCONSIN.GOV




Where Do Our Wage Rules Come Frome

« Almost all wage “rules” are derived from Wisconsin
statute 102.11.

 Wage Information Supplement (WKC-13A1) is the
required form that asks for the information needed 1o
calculate the wage based on these rules.

« To avoid a surcharge, WKC-13A1 must be filed within 30
days of the first WKC-13. If an “expect by" date is given,
this deadline can be pushed back 90 days.
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WKC-13A1 - General Info

o General Info o Pay Information e Gross Wages o Additions To Cash Wage e Scheduled Hours/Overtime e Part Time o Summary

Date of Birth (MM/DDIYY YY)’
03/10/1982 B

Is the claimant an agricultural employee? O Yes @ Mo

Insurer Contact Name*

CLAIMS ADJUSTER

P e act Email*

a

(800) 555 1234 nsurer Contact Phone  ap juSTER@TESTINSURER1.COM

Next
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WKC-13AT - Pay Information

@ ceneralino @ Fay Information

You musf at least 1 of th
If the Claimant is paid solely by commission, mileage, or some other method, where scheduled hours are not used, skip question 1 and go on to answer any of questions 2 through 6 that may apply.

questions

1. (O HourlyRate () Weekly Rate (O) Monthly Rate S

2. Pay included tips:
$Base Hourly Rate SAverage Tips per Week

3. Paid by Piece Rate. Enter the total hours worked and wages earned in the 52 week period prior to the injury (Excluding overtime hours).
Hours S‘ﬁ:‘ages

4. Wages included differential. If the claimant's hourly wages included differential per hour at the time of day when the injury occurred, enter differential per hour.
Differential per hour

5. Exceptional basis of pay

age Comments

0/200

@»

. Seasonal employee. If the claimant's occupation is seasonal, enter the number of weeks in the season (whole number)

Number of we
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WKC-13A1 — Gross Wages

° General Info 0 Pay Information o Gross Wages o Additions To Cash W

1. Gross Taxable Wages in a 52 Week Period Prior To Week Of Injury. Exclude week of injury and tips. Include annual commission, overtime, and bonuses.

d Hours/Overtime o Part Time

Gross Wages®

$ 50360.00

2.. Number of weeks worked in 52 Week Period Prior To Week Of Injury. Exclude week of injury in the number of weeks.

Weeks*

50

3. Date of Hire.

Date of Hire (MM/DDIYYYY)"
06/15/2020 E
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WKC-13A1 — Additions to Cash Wage

o General Info ° Pay Information o Gross Wages o Additions To Cash Wags e Scheduled Hours/Overtime e Part Time

1. Free Meals: Enter number of meals per week

Meals per week

2. Daily Room: Enter number of days per week

Days per week

3. Other additions to cash wage

Enter description of item Enter weekly value amount

4. Did the claimant continue to receive additions to cash wage during the healing period? O Yes O No

3 £

DWD. WISCONSIN.GOV




WKC-13AT1 - Scheduled Hours Overtime

o General Info o Pay Information o Gross Wages o Additions To Cash Wage o Scheduled Hours/Overtime e Part Time

1. Normal full time hours scheduled by the employer for this type of work:

3. Time and a half pay
If the employer paid time and a half, enter the number of hours worked before time and a half was paid:

Hours worked

.00

4, Double time pay
If the employer paid double time, enter the number of hours worked before double time was paid

Hours worked

5. Was claimant scheduled to work full time in this job each week? @ Yes O No
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WKC-13A1 - Part Time

o General Info o Pay Information o Gross Wages

1. Does the claimant have employment outside of the employer at which the injury occurred?

2, Did the claimant work less than full time for less than 12 menths prior to the injury?

3. Claimant's average weekly hours worked in in the 32 weeks prior to the injury.

4. Does the claimant limit themselves to part-time work?

3 3

@ aaditions To Cash wage

o Scheduled Hours/Qvertime e Part Time
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Calculating Average Weekly Wage

Average Weekly Wage will be based on the greater of:

Hourly Rate X Hours per Week

Gross Earnings = Weeks Worked
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Hourly Rate

 Hourly Rate entered should be the rate the employee
was earning at the time of injury.

* Break down any seft rates of pay (weekly, monthly,
salary) to an hourly rate.

* Include shift differential (additional amounts employer
pays for working nights and weekends) in hourly rate if
employee was earning it at fime of injury.

« Hourly rate must be at least minimum wage.
$7.25 per hour or $2.33 per hour with tips.
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Hours Per Week

 Number of hours the employee is regularly scheduled
each week.

* Full-time workers are assumed to be working 40 hours per
week.

* For employees working more or less than 40 hours per
week, expect a request for hours worked in the 13 weeks
prior to the injury.
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Gross Earnings

« Total gross taxable earnings the claimant earned in the
52-week period immediately prior fo the week of injury.

« Do not include earnings from week of injury unless
claimant was injured on a Friday or Saturday — then
INnclude those earnings.

* |Include any bonuses.
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Gross Earnings (cont.)

Do not include in gross earnings:

*  Any weeks where the claimant has disability earnings,
FMLA, Temporary Total Disability (TTD), or Temporary
Partial Disability (TPD) from a previous claim;

« Tips (added in separately); or
« Non-taxable earnings (reimbursements, per diem, etc.).
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Weeks Worked

« Total number of weeks worked in the 52 weeks prior to
the week of injury.

 Weeks start on Sunday and end on Saturday.

A week should be counted if any part of a week was
worked (except the week of injury).

* Hours paid in lieu of work, such as vacation, holiday, or
personal fime, should be included as “worked.”
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Less Than Six Weeks

« If an employee has worked less than six (6) weeks, gross
earnings cannot be used to determine average weekly
wage (AWW).,

« AWW will only be based on the Hourly Rate x Hours per
Week.
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Overtime

« Overtime (OT) should be paid at time and a half to
employees if they have worked more than 40 hours in
one week.

« Overtime should only be included in ‘Hours Per Week’ if
employee regularly works that schedule.

 |If random amounts of overtime are worked each week,
overtime would not be included in ‘Hours Per Week,' but
all overtime earnings would still be included in ‘Gross
Earnings.’
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Overtime (cont.)
The ‘Hourly Rate x Hours Worked' equation turns into:

(Hourly Rate x Regular Hours Worked)

(OT Rate x OT Hours Worked)

(OT Rate = Hourly Rate x 1.5)
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Alternating Schedule

« |If the claimant works an alternating schedule every two
weeks (with no overtime either week,) the hours per
week entered would be the average of the two weeks.

« If the claimant works an alternating schedule with
overtime, the regular hours would be averaged
separately from the overtime hours.
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TTD and PPD Rates

« Temporary Total Disability (TTD) and Permanent Partial

Disability (PPD) rates will be set at 2/3 of the AWW until it
gets to the max rate.

* |If the claimant is younger than 27 years old, PPD wiill
automatically be set fo max rate.
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Maximum TTD and PPD Rates - 2025

Average Weekly Wage $1,989.00
Temporary Total Disability $1,326.00
Permanent Partial Disability $446.00

Current historical wage and rate chart:
hitps://dwd.wisconsin.gov/dwd/publications/wc/wkc-2572-p.pdfgv3
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Escalation

If there is a renewed period of TTD or TPD two or more years
after the original period of disability ended, the TID rate used
will be escalated in proportion to the current max rate.

Example: TTD Max TTD | Percent
2017 $446 $961 46.4%
2023 $578.61 $1247 46.4%

« In 2017, claimant’s TTD rate was S446, or 46.4% of the 2017 maximum
TTD rate of $961.

e« |In 2023, claimant resumed TTD for the same claim. His TTD rate was
escalated to 46.4% of 2023 maximum TTD rate of $1247, or $578.61.
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Wage Investigation

« About 30% of WKC-13ATs (roughly 8,000 claims per year)
filed will be put info “Wage Investigation.”

« Of that 30%, about half will stay the same.

 Don't panic: we will let you know if we need more
information.

 Once aclaimis in Wage Investigation, only we can take
it out of investigation. Submitting more WKC-13ATs will
not change that.
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Request for Week-by-Week Wages

WC CLAIM NO: 9999-999999 IF YOU CALL OR WRITE US
INJURY DATE: 01/01/98 PLEASE USE WC CLAIM NO.
EMPLOYEE: SIMPLES-SAMPLER, TESTER SAMPLE

EMPLOYER: SAMPLE EMPLOYER

INSURER NO:

We received wage information that indicates the average weekly wage used for computing the
TTD/PPD rate(s) may be incorrect. Please submit the following information for verification of the
correct average weekly wage:

* A week-by-week listing of gross taxable earnings for the 52-week period starting
immediately prior to the week in which the injury occurred. Include earnings for
overtime, bonuses, incentive or performance pay, commissions and all other taxable
earnings excluding tips.

* If the employee received tips, send a week-by-week list of the tips reported.

* [f the employee worked for this employer less than 52 weeks prior to the week of
injury, list earnings from the date of hire.

If you do not reply to this request for wage information within 30 days we may assess a surcharge
of $100 in accordance with s.102.35(1), Wis. Stats.

If you have questions or need help please contact us by calling (608) 266-1340 and then ask for a
wage analyst.

Thank you for your assistance in assuring correct compensation payments.
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Why Would We Request Thise

« Number of weeks worked entered on WKC-13A1 is
Impossible based on Date of Hire and Date of Injury.

* Quarterly gross earnings employer reported to Ul is
significantly different than reported on WKC-13A1.
« Something just doesn’t look right:
Gross is very high or low,
Weeks are very high or low,
No tips reported for a job that typically gets tips,
Earnings fluctuate across quarters in Ul database.
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Questions?
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Part-Time Employees

STEVEN McKINNEY
Wage Analyst



Everyone Gets Paid Full-time...

« 102.11(1)(0)3: “The average weekly earnings shall be
arrived at by multiplying the employee's hourly earnings
by the hours in the normal full-time work week as

established by the employer.”

« Full-time employees are those who are regularly
scheduled to work more than 35 hours per week.

« For employees who work less than full fime, the above
statute expands their wages to full time.
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Everyone Gets Paid Full-time...

 As of4/10/22: For part-time employees, wage expansion
to a 40-hour work week is limited to part-time employees
who:

« Are employed by another employer, or

« Have been employed part-time less than 12 months before the
injury, unless they have submitted a signed and dated self-
restriction form. (Repeal of s. 102.11 (1)(am) and (f)1 and
creation of s. 102.11(1)(ap))
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...Excepft Self-Restricting PT Employees

Employees are self-restricted to part-time employment
when:

« There is documentation from the employer confirming
the job is only for part-time work, or

 The employee states on the employment application
that they only want to work part-time, or

« Before the injury, the employee has voluntarily
completed a self-restriction form. (WKC-12698-e)
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Self-restriction

« Employees who restrict themselves to part-time work on
the labor market are eligible to have restricted claimes.

« Self-restriction form must be signed and dated by
employee (or legal guardian.)

« Can only be applied by a wage analyst after all
requirements have been met.
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Why Would an Employee Self-Restrict?

« TID for part-time employees who self-restrict will be paid
at 100% of actual AWW - not .6667%)!

« Self-restricting to a part-fime schedule is a way to reduce
expanded hours to the higher of;
* Hourly rate for average hours worked, or
« Actual weekly gross earnings.

« Self-restriction does not affect the PPD rate. PPD will be
calculated based on a non-restricted AWW.
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Limitations on Self-restriction

 Employee cannot have more than one job.

« TTD rate cannot be more than it would be if hours were
expanded to full fime.
 Newly-hired part-time workers, or those who work
more than 27 hours per week may not be eligible.
* |f you receive an error that an employee cannot
restrict, this is usually why.
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Limitations on Self-restriction (cont.)

Cannot accept self-restriction forms that:
« Reference the injury as a reason.
“Doctor said | couldn’t work full fime.”

« Reference not being able to find full time work.
“Employer only had part-time work available.”
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Limitations on Self-restriction (cont.)

Cannot accept self-restriction forms that:

« Aren’t signed and dated by employee or employee’s
legal guardian.

* Are coercive or misleading.
* Must give an option to select yes or no.
« Cannot imply stoppage of benetfits if not filled out.
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TEST INSURER 2
C/O TEST INSURER 2
123 JENNIFER ST
MADISON WI 53703

WC CLAIM NO: 9999-999999 IF YOU CALL OR WRITE US
INJURY DATE: 01/01/22 PLEASE USE WC CLAIM NO.
EMPLOYEE: SIMPLES-SAMPLER, TESTER SAMPLE

EMPLOYER: SAMPLE EMPLOYER

INSURER NO:

You advised us that you are paying worker's compensation benefits at 100% of the employee's actual wage.
This is correct if at the time of the injury the employee restricted his or her availability to part-time work and
was not employed elsewhere.

However, you did not include the required self-restriction statement from the employee. Please send us a
self-restriction statement immediately.

If we do not receive a reply within 30 days, we will assume that the employee did not self-restrict, and we will
increase the weekly rate to either two-thirds of the wages for 24 hours of work (if the employee was part of a
class at the time of injury) or two-thirds of the wages for full-time work (usually 40 hours).
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Department of Workforce Development
Worker's Compensation Division
201 E. Washington Ave., Rm. C100

P.0. Box 7901
STATEMENT OF SELF-RESTRICTION Tetapnone: (608) 2661340
TO PART-TIME WORK Imaging Fax Server: (608) 260-2503

Fax: (608) 267-0394
hitps://dwd . .wisconsin.govi/wc

S .I.O .I.e m e n.l. O.I: e-mail: DWDDWC @d wd.wisconsin.gov

L] L]
|f R -I- -I- *Provision ofyour Social Security Number (SSN) is voluntary. Failure to provide it may resultin an information processing delay.

e - es rI C I O n - TheDepartment o fWorkforce Development (DWD) administersthe Worker's C ompensation Act, Chapter 102 Wis. Stats. The purpose ofthisformisto
assist withthe procurement o finformation related to orrequired by Chapter 102. Completion o fthis form is voluntaryand failureto complete said form
may resultin adelay inthe administration o fChapter102. DWD may use the personallyidentifiable informaton (Pll) it o btains from you on this form for

P O r‘I‘ ] purposes other than those for which itis being collected.

(WKC-12698)

EMPLOY EE NAME:
EMPLOYEE S.5. #*
DATE OF INJURY:

This form is needed to properly compute the wage for your Worker's Compensation benefits.
Please answerthe following questions, sign, date and return to your insurance carrier or self-insured

employer.

1L At the time of yourinjury, did you limit your availability in the labor market to part-time work or
to work only with the employer where you were injured?
OYes ONo

If Yes, explain your limitation:
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Statement of Self-Restriction — Part 2

2. At the time of your injury, were you also employed by another employer or self-employed?
[lYes [JNo

If Yes, please provide us with the name and address of your other employer below:

Employer Name:

Employer Address:

Signed Dated

Phone Number: ( ) -
Area Code
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Questions?
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Wage Variants

KEITH KINION
Wage Analyst



Exceptional Basis of Pay

« Specific careers may have particular rules that calculate
their average weekly wage (AWW) differently from other
jobs.

« On the WKC-13A1, select the “Exceptional Basis of Pay”
opftion from the drop-down box in Section 1, Number 5.

DWD. WISCONSIN.GOV




All the "Excepftional” Categories

Coach - Only Newspaper Carrier - PT School Bus Driver - PT
Commission Only — FT Ofther School Crossing Guard - PT
Commission Only — PT Paid By The Mile - FT Sheltered Employee - PT

Sole Proprietor

Flight Attendant — PT Paid by The Mile - PT (Business Owner]

K-12 Cafeteria Worker — PT | Prisoner Taxicab Driver

K-12 Teacher and Coach | Pro & Semi-Pro Athlete Trucker - Owned Truck
K-12 Teacher Only Pulp Cuftter Volunteer Fire Fighter/ EMT

DWD. WISCONSIN.GOV




Teachers/School Workers

« The typical school year lasts 38 weeks. The number of
weeks entered on the WKC-13A1 is the weeks worked.

« Teachers can opt to have their
contract paid during the school .,',.,‘.‘, DD!_

year (38 weeks) or throughout the
whole year (52 weeks), so
paychecks might not reflect total
earnings for the weeks worked.

« AWW is based on annual salary and
percentage of contract fulfilled.
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Business Owners

« AWW based on Net Profit reported on business owners’
taxes for the tax year prior to year of injury.

« Typically reported on either Schedule C or Schedule K-1.
We will ask you to provide a copy of this.

« Minimum wage (AWW: $290) is the lowest we will set
business owners’ AWW.

* |f owners refuse to furnish the proper tfax documents,
wage will be set to minimum wage.
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Commission-Only or Paid by the Mile

« These workers have no set rate of pay — they are paid on
commission or by the mile.

« If they work full time, AWW is based on their gross/weeks
worked. Hourly rate x hours would not be considered.

* |If they have worked fewer than six (6) weeks (i.e., cannot
use gross), send similar wages of a like employee.

« |If they work part-time, hourly rate is calculated by
dividing gross earnings by hours worked.
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Volunteer/Paid On-Call Firefighters

« AWW set to the maximum rate for the year of injury, or
we will accept full-time wages from the nearest full-time/
career fire department.

« When submitting WKC-13AT, note which fire department
you contacted to obtain the full-fime wages.

- Refer to Calculating Wage binder for more detailed
information on why we handle volunteer rescue worker
wages this way.
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Other Exceptional Categories

« Piecework

« Seasonal Employment
* TipsS

« Room and Board

« Refer to PocketTravelGuide.pdf
(https://dpm.wi.gov/Documents/BCER/Compensation/PocketTravelGuide.pdfgvi)
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Availlable Reference Resource

STEVEN McKINNEY
Wage Analyst



2022 Change 1o Wage Calculation

« Gov. Evers signed AB-211, the WC Agreed-Upon Bill on
April 9, 2022, making it effective April 10, 2022.

« Part of AB-211 made a change to the wage calculation

for part-time employees who were injured after April 10,
2022.

 Wage calculation for part-time employees was covered
earlier in this presentation.

DWD. WISCONSIN.GOV



Updates: Calculating Wage Binder

« Resources on fraining page of DWC website include
updated Calculating Wage.

« Now includes:

« Clarification of how to figure wage for part-time and self-
restricting employees;

More detailed explanation of calculating TPD benefits, with
examples;

« Deletion of references to part of class.
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Training Sessions and Workshops Page

Resources

* Calculating Wage (Updated January 2025)

* Case Study for Delays

* COVID-19 and WC

* QOther Wisconsin Worker's
Compensation Resources (Updated April

2025)
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Questions”?

KEITH KINION (A-N)
(608) 266-3264
keithc kinlon@dwd.wisconsin.gov

STEVEN McKINNEY (O-2)
(608) 261-4406
steven.mckinney@dwd.wisconsin.gov.
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