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Overview

« Wisconsin wage statute and WKC 13-Al
« Calculating wages

» Temporary total disability (TTD), permanent partial
disability (PPD), and escalation

* Wage investigation
« Part-time employees and self-restriction

* Wage variants
» Available reference resource
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Where Do Our Wage Rules Come From¥

*  Almost all wage “rules” are derived from Wisconsin
statute 102.11.

+ Wage Information Supplement (WKC-13A1) is the
required form that asks for the information needed to
calculate the wage based on these rules.

« To avoid a surcharge, WKC-13A1 must be filed within 30
days of the first WKC-13. If an “expect by” date is given,
this deadline can be pushed back 90 days.
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WKC-13A1 - General Info
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WKC-13A1 - Pay Information
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WKC-13AT1 — Gross Wages
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WKC-13A1 — Additions to Cash Wage
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WKC-13A1 - Scheduled Hours Overtime
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WKC-13A1 - Part Time
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Calculating Average Weekly Wage

Average Weekly Wage will be based on the greater of:

Hourly Rate X Hours per Week

Gross Earmnings + Weeks Worked
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Hourly Rate

Hourly Rate entered should be the rate the employee
was earning at the time of injury.

Break down any set rates of pay (weekly, monthly,
salary) to an hourly rate.

Include shift differential (additional amounts employer
pays for working nights and weekends) in hourly rate if
employee was earning it at fime of injury.

Hourly rate must be at least minimum wage.

«  $7.25 per hour or $2.33 per hour with tips.
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Hours Per Week

Number of hours the employee is regularly scheduled
each week.

Full-time workers are assumed to be working 40 hours per
week.

For employees working more or less than 40 hours per
week, expect a request for hours worked in the 13 weeks
prior fo the injury.
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Gross Earnings

« Total gross taxable earnings the claimant earned in the
52-week period immediately prior to the week of injury.

* Do notinclude earnings from week of injury unless
claimant was injured on a Friday or Saturday - then
include those earnings.

* Include any bonuses.
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Gross Earnings (cont.)

Do not include in gross earnings:

* Any weeks where the claimant has disability earnings,
FMLA, Temporary Total Disability (TTD), or Temporary
Partial Disability (TPD) from a previous claim;

« Tips (added in separately); or
» Non-taxable earnings (reimbursements, per diem, etc.).
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Weeks Worked

» Total number of weeks worked in the 52 weeks prior fo
the week of injury.

+ Weeks start on Sunday and end on Saturday.

« A week should be counted if any part of a week was
worked (except the week of injury).

« Hours paid in lieu of work, such as vacation, holiday, or
personal time, should be included as “worked.”
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Less Than Six Weeks

« If an employee has worked less than six (6) weeks, gross
earnings cannot be used to determine average weekly
wage (AWW).

« AWW will only be based on the Hourly Rate x Hours per
Week.
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Overtime

« Overtime (OT) should be paid at time and a half to
employees if they have worked more than 40 hours in
one week.

* Overtime should only be included in ‘Hours Per Week' if
employee regularly works that schedule.

« Ifrandom amounts of overtime are worked each week,
overtime would not be included in ‘Hours Per Week," but
all overtime earnings would sfill be included in ‘Gross
Earnings.’
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Overtime (cont.)
The ‘Hourly Rate x Hours Worked' equation turns into:

(Hourly Rate x Regular Hours Worked)

(OT Rate x OT Hours Worked)

(OT Rate = Hourly Rate x 1.5)
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Alternating Schedule

« If the claimant works an alternating schedule every two
weeks (with no overtime either week,) the hours per
week entered would be the average of the two weeks.

» If the claimant works an alternating schedule with

overtime, the regular hours would be averaged
separately from the overtime hours.
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TTD and PPD Rates

« Temporary Total Disability (TTD) and Permanent Partial
Disability (PPD) rates will be set at 2/3 of the AWW until it
gets to the max rate.

« If the claimant is younger than 27 years old, PPD will
automatically be set to max rate.
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Maximum TTD and PPD Rates - 2025

Average Weekly Wage $1,989.00
Temporary Total Disability $1,326.00
Permanent Partial Disability $446.00

Current historical wage and rate chart:
https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/dwd/publications/wc/wkc-9572-p.pdfev3

@@@ DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

21




Escalation

If there is a renewed period of TTD or TPD two or more years
after the original period of disability ended, the TTD rate used
will be escalated in proportion to the current max rate.

Example: TID Max TTD | Percent
2017 $446 $961 46.4%
2023 | $578.61 $1247 46.4%

« In 2017, claimant's TTD rate was $446, or 46.4% of the 2017 maximum
TID rate of $961.

* In 2023, claimant resumed TTD for the same claim. His TTD rate was
escalated to 46.4% of 2023 maximum TTD rate of $1247, or $578.61.
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Wage Investigation

*  About 30% of WKC-13AT1s (roughly 8,000 claims per year)
filed will be put into "Wage Investigation.”

«  Of that 30%, about half will stay the same.

* Don’t panic: we will let you know if we need more
information.

* Once aclaimis in Wage Investigation, only we can take
it out of investigation. Submitting more WKC-13ATs will
not change that.

@@@ DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

23

Request for Week-by-Week Wages

WCCLAMNO: 9999009900 IF YOU CALL OR WRITE US
INJURY DATE 0101798 PLEASE USE WC CLAMNO.
EMPLOYEE: SIMPLES-SAMPLER, TESTER SAMPLE

LOYER SAMPLE EMPLOYER
INSURER NO:
We recaived wag i wage used for
TN incorrect information for verification of the

‘corract average weekly wage:
. A the 52-ueek
10 the week in which for
overtime, bonuses, icentive o performance pay, commissions and all othe taxable
earnings excicing tps

I the employee received lips, send a week-by:week st of he tips reported.

+ Hihe employee worked for this employer less than 52 weeks prior to the week of
injury, st sarnings from the date of hire.

I you do not regly 1o this request for wage information within 30 days we may 855655 a surcharge
of $100 in accorance wih 5.102.35(1), Wis. Stals.

orneed 2661340 and then ask for &

wage anatys!
Thank you lor your assistance in assuring correct compensalion payments.
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Why Would We Request This?

« Number of weeks worked entered on WKC-13A1 is
impossible based on Date of Hire and Date of Injury.

* Quarterly gross earnings employer reported to Ul is
significantly different than reported on WKC-13A1.
+ Something just doesn't look right:
« Gross is very high or low,
«  Weeks are very high or low,
« No tips reported for ajob that typically gets tips,
« Eamings fluctuate across quarters in Ul database.
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Questions?
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Part-Time Employees

STEVEN McKINNEY

Wage lyst
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Everyone Gefts Paid Full-time...

* 102.11(1)(a)3: “The average weekly earnings shall be
arrived at by multiplying the employee's hourly earnings
by the hours in the normal full-time work week as
established by the employer.”

» Full-time employees are those who are regularly
scheduled to work more than 35 hours per week.

« For employees who work less than full ime, the above
statute expands their wages to full time.
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Everyone Gets Paid Full-time...

« As of 4/10/22: For part-time employees, wage expansion
to a 40-hour work week is limited to part-time employees
who:

* Are employed by another employer, or

* Have been employed part-time less than 12 months before the
injury, unless they have submitted a signed and dated self-
restriction form. (Repeal of s. 102.11 (1)(am) and (f)1 and
creation of 5. 102.11(1)(ap))
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...Except Self-Restricting PT Employees

Employees are self-restricted to part-time employment
when:
* There is documentation from the employer confirming
the job is only for part-time work, or
* The employee states on the employment application
that they only want to work part-time, or
« Before the injury, the employee has voluntarily
completed a self-restriction form. (WKC-12698-¢)
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Self-restriction

* Employees who restrict themselves to part-time work on
the labor market are eligible to have restricted claims.

« Self-restriction form must be signed and dated by
employee (or legal guardian.)

« Can only be applied by a wage analyst after all
requirements have been met.
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Why Would an Employee Self-Restrict?

« TID for part-time employees who self-restrict will be paid
at 100% of actual AWW - not .6667%!

« Self-restricting fo a part-time schedule is a way to reduce
expanded hours to the higher of;
* Hourly rate for average hours worked, or
« Actual weekly gross earnings.

« Self-restriction does not affect the PPD rate. PPD will be
calculated based on a non-restricted AWW.
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Limitations on Self-restriction

» Employee cannot have more than one job.
« TID rate cannot be more than it would be if hours were
expanded to full fime.
* Newly-hired part-time workers, or those who work
more than 27 hours per week may not be eligible.

« If you receive an error that an employee cannot
restrict, this is usually why.
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Limitations on Self-restriction (cont.)

Cannot accept self-restriction forms that:

« Reference the injury as a reason.
« "Doctor said | couldn't work full time."

+ Reference not being able to find full fime work.
- “Employer only had part-time work available.”
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Limitations on Self-restriction (cont.)

Cannot accept self-restriction forms that:

« Aren't signed and dated by employee or employee’s
legal guardian.

* Are coercive or misleading.
+  Must give an option to select yes or no.
+ Cannot imply stoppage of benefits if not filled out.
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TEST INSURER 2
C/O TEST INSURER 2
123 JENNIFER ST
MADISON WI 53703

WC CLAIM NO: 9999-999999 IF YOU CALL OR WRITE US
INJURY DATE: 01/01/22 PLEASE USE WC CLAIM NO.
EMPLOYEE: SIMPLES-SAMPLER, TESTER SAMPLE

EMPLOYER: SAMPLE EMPLOYER

INSURER NO:

You advised us that you are paying worker’s compensation benefits at 100% of the employee's actual wage.
This is correct if at the time of the injury the employee restricted his or her availability to part-time work and
was not employed elsewhere.

However, you did not include the required self-restriction statement from the employee. Please send us a
self-restriction statement immediately.

If we do not receive a reply within 30 days, we will assume that the employee did not self-restrict, and we will
increase the weekly rate to either two-thirds of the wages for 24 hours of work (if the employee was part of a
class at the time of injury) or two-thirds of the wages for full-time work (usually 40 hours).

C@@ DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV
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Statement of
Self-Restriction -

Part 1
(WKC-12698)

O60)

STATEMENT OF SELF-RESTRICTION
TO PART-TIME WORK

EMPLOYEE NAME

EMPLOYEE S #"

DATE OF INJURY

your Worker's C benefits
d toyour

orselfinsured

sign, da
employer

1. Athetime of your injury, did you limit your availability in the labor market to part time work or
o work only with the employer where you were injured

Oves ON

1 ¥es, explain your limtation

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV
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Oyes @No

Empioyer Name:

Employer Address:

Signed.

Statement of Self-Restriction — Part 2

2. Atthe time of your injury, were you aiso empioyed by another employer of self-empioyed?

I Yes, please provide us with the name and address of your ofher employer below

[O6.0)

Phone Number. ) .
Avea Gode

Questions?
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Wage Variants

KEITH KINION
Wage Analyst
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Exceptional Basis of Pay

« Specific careers may have particular rules that calculate
their average weekly wage (AWW) differently from other

jobs.

+ On the WKC-13A1, select the "Exceptional Basis of Pay”
option from the drop-down box in Section 1, Number 5.

CE®
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All the “Exceptional” Categories

Coach - Only

Newspaper Carrier - PT

School Bus Driver - PT

Commission Only - FT

Other

School Crossing Guard - PT

Commission Only — PT

Paid By The Mile - FT

Sheltered Employee - PT

Flight Attendant — PT

Paid by The Mile - PT

Sole Proprietor
(Business Owner)

K-12 Cafeteria Worker - PT

Prisoner

Taxicab Driver

K-12 Teacher and Coach

Pro & Semi-Pro Athlete

Trucker - Owned Truck

K-12 Teacher Only

Pulp Cutter

Volunteer Fire Fighter/ EMT

CE®
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Teachers/School Workers

* The typical school year lasts 38 weeks. The number of
weeks entered on the WKC-13A1 is the weeks worked.

» Teachers can opt to have their
contract paid during the school
year (38 weeks) or throughout the
whole year (52 weeks), so
paychecks might not reflect total
earnings for the weeks worked.

aanguunN

« AWW is based on annual salary and
percentage of confract fulfilled.
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Business Owners

« AWW based on Net Profit reported on business owners’
taxes for the tax year prior to year of injury.

« Typically reported on either Schedule C or Schedule K-1.
We will ask you to provide a copy of this.

* Minimum wage (AWW: $290) is the lowest we will set
business owners” AWW.

« If owners refuse to furnish the proper tax documents,
wage will be set to minimum wage.

@@@ DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

44

Commission-Only or Paid by the Mile

» These workers have no set rate of pay - they are paid on
commission or by the mile.

« If they work full ime, AWW is based on their gross/weeks
worked. Hourly rate x hours would not be considered.

« If they have worked fewer than six (6) weeks (i.e., cannot
use gross), send similar wages of a like employee.

« |If they work part-time, hourly rate is calculated by
dividing gross earnings by hours worked.
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Volunteer/Paid On-Call Firefighters

*« AWW sef to the maximum rate for the year of injury, or
we will accept full-time wages from the nearest full-time/
career fire department.

* When submitting WKC-13A1, note which fire department
you contacted to obtain the full-time wages.

« Refer to Calculating Wage binder for more detailed
information on why we handle volunteer rescue worker
wages this way.
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Other Exceptional Categories

« Piecework

» Seasonal Employment
* Tips
* Room and Board

» Refer to PocketTravelGuide.pdf
https://dpm.wi.gov/Documents/BCER/Compensation/PocketTravelGuide.pdf2vi)
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Available Reference Resource

STEVEN KINNEY
Wage Analys
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2022 Change to Wage Calculation

* Gov. Evers signed AB-911, the WC Agreed-Upon Bill on
April 9, 2022, making it effective April 10, 2022.

« Part of AB-211 made a change fo the wage calculation
for part-time employees who were injured after April 10,
2022.

* Wage calculation for part-time employees was covered
earlier in this presentation.
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Updates: Calculating Wage Binder

« Resources on training page of DWC website include
updated Calculating Wage.
* Now includes:

« Clarification of how to figure wage for part-time and self-
restricting employees;

* More detailed explanation of calculating TPD benefits, with
examples;

« Deletion of references to part of class.
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Training Sessions and Workshops Page

Resources

* Calculating Wage (Updated January 2025)
Case Study for Delays
COVID-19 and WC

Other Wisconsin Worker's
Compensation Resources (Updated April

2025)
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Questions?

KEITH KINION (A-N)
(608) 266-3264
keithc kinion@dwd.wisconsin.gov

STEVEN McKINNEY (O-Z)
(608) 261-4406
steven.mckinney@dwd.wisconsin.gov
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