

1

# Overview

- Wisconsin Statutes relating to wage
- WKC-13A overview
- Full-Time Employees
- Employees that worked less than 6 weeks
- Overtime
- Alternating schedules
- Escalated TTD Rates
- Week-by-week wage requests



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

2

#### Where Do These Wage Rules Come From?

- Almost all wage "rules" are derived from Wisconsin Statute 102.11.
- WKC-13A is the required form that asks for the information needed to calculate the wage based on these rules.
- To avoid surcharge, WKC-13A must be filed within 60 days of the first WKC-13. If an "expect by" date is given, this deadline can be pushed back 90 days.

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GC

SECTION 1. PAY INFORMATION  If The Claimant Is Paid Solely By Commission, Mileage, Or Some Other Method, Where Scheduled Hours			
Are Not Used, Skip Question 1 in Section 1 And Go On To Answer Any Of Questions 2 Through 6 That May A	Apply.		
O Hourly Rate    O Weekly Rate    O Monthly Rate     Note: One Of The Following May Also Apply.			
2. Pay included Tips: Base Hourly Rate:			
Average Tips Per Week:			
Paid By Piece Rate:     Enter The Total Hours Worked And Wages Earned In The 52 Week			
Period Prior To The Injury (Excluding Overtime Hours). Hours:			
Wages:			
Wages Included Differential:     If The Claimant's Hourly Wages Included Differential Per Hour At The			
Time Of Day When The Injury Occurred, Enter Differential Per Hour:  5. Exceptional Basis Of Pay:			
A. Exceptional Basis Of Pay For Special Types Of Employment:			
B. Basis of Pay/Wage Comments:			
6. Seasonal Employee:			
If The Claimant's Occupation is Seasonal, Enter Number Of Weeks in The Season (Whole Number):			
SECTION 2. GROSS WAGES			
Gross Taxable Wages In A 52 Week Period Prior To Week Of Injury:     Exclude Week Of Injury And Tips.			
Include Annual Commission, Overtime, And Bonuses.			
Number Of Weeks Worked In 52 Week Period Prior To Week Of Injury:     Exclude Week Of Injury In The Number Of Weeks.			
3. Date of Hire (mm/dd/yyyy):			
4			
4			
SECTION 3. ADDITIONS TO CASH WAGE			
Free Meals: Enter Number Of Meals Per Week.		-	
2. Daily Room: Enter Number Of Days Per Week.			
<ol> <li>Other Additions To Cash Wage:</li> <li>A. Enter Description Of Item (e.g. Fuel, Electricity, etc.):</li> </ol>			
B. Enter Weekly Value Amount:			
Did Claimant Continue To Receive Additions To Cash Wage During The Healing Peri	od? O Yes O No		
SECTION 4. SCHEDULED HOURS AND OVERTIME INFORMATION			
Normal Full Time Hours Scheduled By The Employer For This Type Of Work:     If Employer Scheduled Claimant To Work On A Regular Alternating Weekly Basis,		-	
Enter The Number Of Hours For The Regular Alternating Full Time Schedule:			
Alternating Schedule Week One: Alternating Schedule Week Two:			
3. Time And A Half Pay:			
If The Employer Paid Time And A Half, Enter The Number Of Hours Worked Before Time And A Half Was Paid:			
Double Time Pay:     If The Employer Paid Double Time,			
Enter The Number Of Hours Worked Before Double Time Was Paid:			
<ol> <li>Was Claimant Scheduled To Work Full Time In This Job Each Week?</li> <li>If Yes, Part Of Class Information Completed In Section 5 Will NOT Be Saved.</li> </ol>	○ Yes   No		
If No, Complete Part Of Class Information In Section 5 Below.			
(CA)	SCONSIN.GOV		
000			
5			
<u> </u>			
SECTION 5. PART TIME EMPLOYEES: PART OF CLASS AND SELF RESTRICTION INFORMATION			
Answers To Questions 1 Through 4 Must Be Entered For Part Time Employees			
<ol> <li>Part Time Scheduled Hours. Please Complete Only One Of A, B, C Or D.</li> <li>Number Of Hours The Claimant Was Normally Scheduled To Work Each Week:</li> </ol>			
B. Range Of Hours Scheduled Each Week (Cannot Be More Than A 5 Hour Variance):			
Low Range: High Range:		-	
C. Number Of Hours For The Regular Alternating Part Time Schedule:			
Alternating Schedule Week One: Alternating Schedule Week Two:			
D. Claimant's Scheduled Hours Varied By More Than 5 Hours:	☐ Yes		
<ol><li>Number Of Part Time Employees, Excluding The Claimant, Doing The Same Work As The Claimant And Scheduled For</li></ol>			
The Same Number Of Hours And Same Number Of Days Per Week As The Claimant:			
Number Of Full Time Employees Doing The Same Type Of Work As The Claimant:     Did The Claimant Restrict His/Her Availabilty For Work To Part Time Only?	○ Yes ● No		
	- 163 - 110		
SECTION 6. INSURER CONTACT INFORMATION 1. Insurer Contact Name:			
2. Insurer Contact Phone:			
3. Insurer Contact Email:			
Help Submit Reset			
O(O)O DWD.WI	SCONSIN.GOV		

# Wage Investigation

- About 30% of WKC-13As (roughly 8,000 claims/year) filed will be put into "Wage Investigation."
- Of that 30%, about half will stay the same.
- Don't panic, we will let you know if we need more information.
- Once a claim is in Wage Investigation, only we can take it out of investigation. Submitting more WKC-13As will not change that.

**©** 

DWD WISCONSIN GOV

7

# Calculating Average Weekly Wage

Average Weekly Wage will be based on the greater of:

Hourly Rate

Χ

Hours Per Week

OR

Gross Earnings



Weeks Worked

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

8

# Hourly Rate

- Hourly Rate entered should be the rate the employee was earning at the time of injury.
- Break down any set rates of pay (weekly, monthly, salary) to an hourly rate.
- Include shift differential (additional amounts employer pays for working nights & weekends) in hourly rate if employee was earning it at time of injury.
- Hourly rate must be at least minimum wage.
  - \$7.25 per hour or \$2.33 per hour with tips

 $\odot$ 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

# Hours Per Week

- Number of hours the employee is regularly scheduled each week.
- Full-time workers are assumed to be working 40 hours per week.

**©** 

OWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

10

# **Gross Earnings**

- Total gross taxable earnings the claimant earned in the 52-week period immediately prior to the week of injury.
- Do not include earnings from week of injury unless claimant was injured on a Friday or Saturday - then it can be included.
- Include any bonuses.

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

11

# Gross Earnings (cont.)

<u>Do not include</u> in gross earnings:

- Any weeks where the claimant has disability earnings, FMLA, or TTD/TPD from a previous claim;
- Tips (added in separately);
- Non-taxable earnings (reimbursements, per diem, etc.)

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

### Weeks Worked

- Total number of weeks worked in the 52 weeks prior to the week of injury.
- Weeks start on Sunday, end on Saturday.
- A week should be counted if any part of a week was worked (except the week of injury).
- Hours paid in lieu of work, such as vacation, holiday, or personal time should be included as "worked."

**©©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

13

### Less Than 6 Weeks

- If an employee has worked less than 6 weeks, gross earnings cannot be used to determine AWW.
- AWW will only be based on the Hourly Rate x Hours per Week.

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

14

### Overtime

- Overtime should be paid at time and a half to employees if they have worked more than 40 hours in one week.
- Overtime should only be included in 'Hours Per Week' if they regularly work that schedule.
- If random amounts of overtime are worked each week, overtime would NOT be included in 'Hours Per Week,' but all overtime earnings would still be included in 'Gross Earnings'.
- $\bullet$  The 'Hourly Rate x Hours Worked' equation turns into:

(Hourly Rate x Regular Hours Worked)

+ (OT Rate x OT Hours Worked)

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GC

# Alternating Schedule

- If the claimant works an alternating schedule every two weeks (with no overtime either week), the hours per week entered would be the average of the two weeks.
- If the claimant works an alternating schedule with overtime, the regular hours would be averaged separate from the overtime hours.

V 🔘	1
$\lambda$	

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

16

### TTD & PPD Rates

• TTD & PPD rates will be set at 2/3 of the AWW until it gets to the max rate.

2020 Max Rates AWW: \$1,576 TTD: \$1,051

PPD: \$362
• If the claimant is younger than 27 years old, PPD will automatically be set to max rate.

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

17

### Escalation

 If there is a renewed period of TTD or TPD two years after the date of injury, the TD rate used will be escalated in proportion to the current max rate.

#### Example:

	TTD	Max TTD	Percent
2014	\$300.00	\$892.00	33.63%
2020	\$353.48	\$1051.00	33.63%

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

Request for Week-by-Week Wages	
WC CLAIM NO: 9999-9999999 IF YOU CALL OR WRITE US INJURY DATE: 01101/98 PLEASE USE WC CLAIM NO. EMPLOYER: SIMPLES-SAMPLER, TESTER SAMPLE EMPLOYER: SAMPLE EMPLOYER	
INSURER NO:  We received wage information that indicates the average weekly wage used for computing the	
TTD(PPD rate(s) may be incorrect. Please submit the following information for verification of the correct average weekly wage:  • A week-by-week listing of gross taxable earnings for the 52-week period starting	-
immediately prior to the week in which the injury occurred. Include earnings for overtime, bonusses, incentive or performance pay, commissions and all other taxable earnings excluding tips.	
<ul> <li>If the employee received tips, send a week-by-week list of the tips reported.</li> <li>If the employee worked for this employer less than 52 weeks prior to the week of injury. Ist earnings from the date of hire.</li> </ul>	
If you not reply to this request for wage information within 30 days we may assess a surcharge of \$100 in accordance with s.102.35(1), Wis. Stats.	-
If you have questions or need help please contact us by calling (608) 266-1340 and then ask for a wage analyst.	
Thank you for your assistance in assuring correct compensation payments;  DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV	
-	<u> </u>
9	
NAVIG. NAVIG. CLICK Discours of Tigins	
Why Would We Request This?	
The number of weeks worked entered on	
the WKC-13A is impossible according to	
the Date of Hire and Date of Injury.  The quarterly gross earnings the employer	
reported to UI is significantly different than	
what was reported on the WKC-13A.  • Something just doesn't look right:	
Gross is very high or low	
Weeks are very high or low	
No tips reported for a job that typically gets tips	-
DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV	
0	
Questions?	
Q 3 3 3 1 1 1 1 3 .	

21

**©©** 



22

# Everyone Gets Paid Full-time

- 102.11(1)(a)3: "The average weekly earnings shall be arrived at by multiplying the employee's hourly earnings by the hours in the normal full-time workweek as established by the employer."
- LIRC: "The general rule is that part-time hours are expanded to full-time hours for that employment for purposes of determining the statutory average weekly wage."



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

23

# Except...

- Members of a class of regularly scheduled employees
- Employees who self-restrict to part-time work on the labor market

**©©** 

DWD WISCONSIN GO

#### Part of Class

- "A regularly-scheduled class of part-time employees"
- 4 requirements to be "part of class"
  - 1. Member of a class of employees doing the same type of work at the same location;
  - 2. 10% of workforce doing the same type of work are members of this regularly-scheduled class;
  - 3. Must have more than one employee; and
  - Keep a regular schedule minimum and maximum hours over 13 weeks do not vary by more than 5



DWD WISCONSIN GOV

25

# Example

- Company has 200 total employees.
- For this company to have a class of regularlyscheduled part-time employees:
  - At least 20 of their employees would need to be doing the same job, and
  - o All work the same number of scheduled hours each week.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

26

Send a list (or punch detail) of the number of hours the claimant worked during each of the 13 weeks prior to the week of injury. Hours paid in lieu of work, such as vacation, holiday, or personal time, should be included. Do not send earnings in lieu of hours.

For full time employees, attach the weekly list of hours or the punch detail to this letter and

For part time employees, if you are conceding an expansion to full time you may either:

Check here Dand return this letter or,

Use the e-mail reply feature on the Insurer's Pending Report system to inform us that you are conceding an expansion to full time.  $\frac{1}{2} \int_{-\infty}^{\infty} \frac{1}{2} \left( \frac{1}{2} \int_{-\infty}^{\infty} \frac{1$ 

http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/wc/insurance/pending\_rpts.htm

If the employee is part time and you are  $\it{not}$  conceding an expansion to full time, attach the weekly list of hours or the punch detail to this letter and return.

The list of hours or punch detail cannot be sent via the pending report, but can be sent to the Fax Imaging Server at (608) 260-2503.

If we do not receive a reply within 30 days we will assume that the part time employee did not work a regular schedule as defined by s. 102.11(1)(am) 2 Wis. Stats.

Department of Workforce Development Worker's Compensation Division



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

# Is this a regular schedule?

- Week 1 25 hours
- Week 2 25 hours
- Week 3 20 hours
- Week 4 25 hours
- Week 5 25 hours
- Week 6 26 hours
- Week 7 25 hours
- Week 8 25 hours
- Minimum 20
- Maximum 26
- NOT a regular schedule, so not a part of class

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

28

# Is this a regular schedule?

- Week 1 19 hours
- Week 2 20 hours
- Week 3 21 hours
- Week 4 22 hours
- Week 5 23 hours
- Week 6 24 hours
- Week 7 25 hours
- Minimum 19
- Maximum 25
- NOT a regular schedule, so not a part of class

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

29

# Is this a regular schedule?

- Period 1 70 hours
- Period 2 66 hours
- Period 3 72 hours
- Period 4 64 hours
- Period 5 72 hours
- Period 6 68 hours
- Minimum 64
- Maximum 72
- For biweekly pay periods, we look for a variance of 10 hours
- This is a regular schedule. Pending other requirements, may be a part of class

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

# Expansion

- · Part of class
  - Expanded to 24 hours OR regularly scheduled hours
  - Whichever is greater
- If not a part of class, hours are expanded to full-time (presumed 40 for most workers)
- Gross earnings always apply if average actual earnings are higher than hourly rate x scheduled hours



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

31

### Self-restriction

- Way to reduce expanded hours to average actual earnings or to regularly scheduled hours
- Voluntary for employee to fill out
- Restrictions and exceptions on when it can be applied
- Only applies to temporary disability benefits (NOT PPD)

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

32

### Self-restriction

- Employees who restrict themselves to parttime work on the <u>labor market</u> are eligible to have restricted claims
- Must voluntarily restrict to part-time work at the time of injury
- Must be signed by employee (or legal guardian)
- Restricted rate is paid at 100% of regular schedule or average actual earnings, whichever is higher
- Can only be applied by a wage analyst

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

TEST INSURER 2 C/O TEST INSURER 2 123 JENNIFER ST MADISON WI 53703 WC CLAIM NO: 9999-999999 IF YOU CALL OR WRITE US INJURY DATE: EMPLOYEE: 01/01/98 PLEASE US SIMPLES-SAMPLER, TESTER SAMPLE PLEASE USE WC CLAIM NO. EMPLOYER: INSURER NO: SAMPLE EMPLOYER You advised us that you are paying worker's compensation benefits at 100% of the employee's actual wage. This is correct if at the time of the injury the employee restricted his or her availability to part-time work and was not However, you did not include the required self-restriction statement from the employee. Please send us a self-restriction statement immediately. If we do not receive a reply within 30 days, we will assume that the employee did not self-restrict and we will increase the weekly rate to either two-thirds of the wages for 24 hours of work (if the employee was part of a class at the time of injury) or two-thirds of the wages for full-time work (usually 40 hours).  $\odot$ 34

35

# Self-restriction Eligibility

- · Cannot have two jobs
- If no regular schedule, must have worked at least 6 full weeks
- Cannot raise TTD rate
  - Recent part-time workers, or those who keep high number of hours, may not be eligible
  - If you receive an error that employee cannot restrict, this is usually why
- Self-restriction does not affect the PPD rate.
   PPD will be calculated based on a non-restricted AWW



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

# Eligibility (cont.)

- AWW: \$522.94
- TTD: \$348.63
- PPD: \$348.63
- Earned \$27,192.88 in 52 weeks
- Employee keeps a regular schedule of 20 hours per week
- \$20.00 per hour
- Cannot restrict, as actual earnings per week are higher than TTD rate

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

37

# Eligibility (cont.)

- AWW: \$650.00
- TTD: \$433.33
- PPD: \$362.00
- \$16.25 per hour
- No regular schedule
- Earned \$26,000.00 in 52 weeks
- Cannot restrict since \$26,000.00 divided by 52 is \$500.00 and is higher than TTD rate

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

38

# Eligibility (cont.)

Cannot accept self-restriction forms that:

- Reference the injury as a reason
  - "Doctor said I couldn't work full time"
- $\bullet$  Reference not being able to find full-time work
- "Employer only had part-time work available"
- Aren't signed by the employee (or legal guardian)
- Are coercive or misleading
  - Must give an option to select yes or no
  - Cannot imply stoppage of benefits if not filled out

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

# Determining (TPD) Wage

- When AWW is based on expanded hours, the TPD wage is used to calculate actual wage loss
- Use actual average weekly wages OR regular schedule x hourly rate at time of injury, whichever is higher
- TTD rate remains 2/3 of expanded AWW
- Only part-time claims with expanded hours have a TPD wage different from AWW

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

40

# TPD Based on Actual Earnings

- 51 year old warehouse worker
- \$12.00 per hour
- Variable schedule
- \$3,000.00 earned in 10 weeks
- Regular full-time employees work 40 hours

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

41

# TPD Based on Actual Earnings

AWW: \$480.00TTD rate: \$320.00PPD rate: \$320.00

• TPD wage is based on earnings of \$3,000.00 earned over 10 weeks

• TPD wage: \$300.00

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

TPD with Regular Schedule	
• 51 year old warehouse worker	
• \$12.00 per hour	
• Regular schedule of 30 hours per week	-
<ul><li>No other part-time workers</li><li>\$3,000.00 earned in 10 weeks</li></ul>	
Regular full-time employees work 40	
hours	
000	
DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV	<u> </u>
TPD with Regular Schedule  • AWW: \$480.00  • TTD rate: \$320.00  • PPD rate: \$320.00	
<ul> <li>TPD wage is based on \$12.00 per hour x regular schedule of 30 hours</li> </ul>	
• TPD wage: \$360.00	
OOD DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV	
44	

Questions?

**©** 

45

# Stretch Break Time!

Stand up and move around a little!

Return in 5 minutes, please

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

46



47

# Exceptional Basis of Pay

- These are specific careers that may have particular rules that calculate their AWW differently from other jobs.
- On the WKC-13A, select the "Exceptional Basis of Pay" scenario from the drop down box on Section 1, Number 5.

**©** 

DWD WISCONSIN GO

# All of the "Exceptional" Scenarios

Coach - Only	Newspaper Carrier - PT	School Bus Driver - PT
Commission Only - FT	Other	School Crossing Guard - PT
Commission Only - PT	Paid By The Mile - FT	Sheltered Employee - PT
Flight Attendant - PT	Paid by The Mile - PT	Sole Proprietor (Business Owners)
K-12 Cafeteria Worker - PT	Prisoner	Taxi Cab Driver
K-12 Teacher and Coach	Pro & Semi-Pro Athlete	Trucker - Owned Truck
K-12 Teacher Only	Pulp Cutter	Volunteer Fire Fighter/ EMT

**CO** 

OWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

49

# Assuming Part of Class

- Some of these Exceptional Employment options assume an employee is a Part of Class regardless of the number of other employees working there.
- If they do not keep a schedule, though, they will lose their Part of Class status.

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

50

# Commission-Only & Paid by the Mile

- These workers have no set rate of pay they are paid on commission or by the mile.
- If they are full time, AWW is based on their gross/weeks worked. Hourly rate x hours would not be considered.
- If they have worked less than 6 weeks (i.e. cannot use gross), send similar wages of a like employee
- If they are part-time, hourly rate is calculated by dividing gross earnings by hours worked.

**©** 

DWD WISCONSIN GO

### Teachers/School Workers

- Remember, the number of weeks entered on the WKC-13A is the weeks worked. Teachers typically work 38 weeks.
- Paychecks do not reflect the number of weeks worked. Teachers can opt to have their contract paid out throughout the school year (38 weeks) or the whole year (52 weeks).
- Depending on how much of the contract has been worked, the gross earnings of teachers who have worked less than a year may not match the earnings shown on their paychecks

See example on next slide.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

52

# Teacher Example

#### TEACHER A

- Contract: \$38,000 for 38 weeks of work
- Paychecks issued over 38 weeks (\$1000/week for 38 weeks)
- Injured halfway through school year, fulfilling 50% of contract
- Paychecks show gross of \$19,000

#### TEACHER B

- Contract: \$38,000 for 38 weeks of work
- Paychecks issued over 52 weeks (\$730.77/week for 52 weeks)
- Injured halfway through school year, fulfilling 50% of contract
- Paychecks show gross of \$13,884



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

53

#### **Business Owners**

- AWW based on Net Profit reported on their taxes for the tax year prior to year of injury.
- Typically reported on either Schedule C or Schedule K-1. We will ask you to provide a copy of this.
- Minimum wage (AWW: \$290) is the lowest we will set their AWW.
- If owners refuse to furnish the proper tax documents, wage will be set to minimum wage.

**©** 

DWD WISCONSIN GO

# Volunteer/Paid On-Call Firefighters and Emergency Rescue Workers

- AWW set to the maximum rate for the year of injury or we will accept full-time wages from the nearest full-time/career fire department.
- When submitting WKC-13A, note which fire department you contacted to obtain the full-time wages.
- Refer to handout for more detailed information on why we handle volunteer rescue worker wages this way.

	•
V	۹
1.0	9
1	ı

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

55

Questions?

**©** 

WD.WISCONSIN.GOV

56



### Overview

- Piecework
- Seasonal Employment
- Tips
- · Room and Board

**©©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

58

### Piecework

#### Piecework:

- Any job performed without an hourly rate:
- Workers are paid by their production;
- Frequently seen in manufacturing and construction;
- Can also occur with jobs like dog groomers;
- Any job where someone is paid for a task instead of for time worked

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

59

# Piecework (cont.)

- Piecework pay is turned into an hourly rate based on total earnings and hours worked
- Determine the hourly rate by dividing the total regular earnings within the prior 52week period by the number of hours worked
- Part-time workers: keep track of hours actually worked; otherwise, AWW cannot be calculated

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

# Seasonal Employment

- Seasonal work is not someone working parttime around the holidays, or most summer jobs when not in school.
- Seasonal employment is work which can only be done at certain times of the year and does not cover a period of more than 14 weeks.
- Seasonal employment is usually connected with the canning industry, but is also used for harvesting (cranberries, ice, Christmas trees, apples, etc.)

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

61

# Seasonal Employment (cont.)

- In seasonal work, the number of hours worked per week can vary wildly, so Department policy is to use 44 hours as an approximation.
- A 44-hour week is used as a reasonable average. Hourly rate x 44 sets the AWW. Gross earnings are not considered at all.

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

62

# Additional to Cash Wage - Tips

- Tips are calculated in addition to hourly rate.
- Tips must be reported by either employee or employer and must be taxed to be considered in the AWW.
- When reporting gross earnings on the WKC-13A, do not include tips.

**©** 

DWD WISCONSIN GO

# Tips (cont.)

- Calculate actual tips per week and actual hours worked per week to determine tipped hourly rate.
  - Only count hours where tips were possible if multiple positions were worked
- Tipped hourly rate is added to base rate earned at the time of injury.
- For cab drivers with no tips reported, Department policy is to add 15% in lieu of tips.

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

64

#### Addition to Cash Wage - Non-cash Payments

- Non-cash wages are not included in calculating the AWW if the benefits are continued.
- If the benefits are not continued, then their equivalent value is effectively added to the gross earnings.
- For varying payments such as utilities or phone plans, count the actual amount paid over the previous 52-week period.

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

65

#### Addition to Cash Wage - House or Apartment

- Employer to determine value. Check if housing is shared; value of housing is total cost of rent or mortgage payments divided by number of people in the household.
- See if utilities, telephone, etc. are included in the contract for hire. If so:
  - Divide payment (total cost or monthly rate) by number of weeks. Included in section 3 of WKC-13A.

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GC

#### Additional Items of Value - Room and Board

- Room and Board is set by DWD 272.03 for minimum wage.
- As with other non-cash benefits, does not need to be included in AWW if the benefits are continued.
- Discounted meals are not counted.

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

67

	Non-Agricultur	al Employment	
	ion-Opportunity Employ	ees Oppor	unity Employees
Meals	\$87.00 Per Week \$4.15 Per Meal		.80 Per Week .35 Per Meal
Lodging	\$58.00 Per Week \$8.30 Per Day		.20 Per Week 1.75 Per Day
-	Meals	\$87.00 Per We \$4.15 Per Me	al
	2012		
-	19700000 20000000000000000000000000000000	\$58.00 Per We	
	Lodging	\$8.30 Per Da	
Week	Camp Counsel  ily Salary for All Emp  Board & Lodging	186.5	

68

# **Questions?**

#### **KEITH KINION**

(608) 266-3264

Keithc.Kinion@dwd.wisconsin.gov

#### DANIELLE CORONA

(608) 261-9451

danielle.corona@dwd.wisconsin.gov

#### **QUENTIN PENN-JOINER**

quentine.pennjoiner@dwd.wisconsin.gov

**CO** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GO