
04/25/2022

1

Basics of Wage
K E I T H  K I N I O N
W a g e  A n a l y s t  

D W D  D i v i s i o n  o f  W o r k e r ’ s  C o m p e n s a t i o n

• Wisconsin statutes relating to wage

• Calculating wages

• Temporary total disability (TTD) and permanent partial 
disability (PPD)

• Part-time employees

• Temporary partial disability (TPD)

• Exceptional basis of pay

• Add-ons

Overview

• Almost all wage “rules” are derived from Wisconsin 
statute 102.11.

• WKC-13A is the required form that asks for the information 
needed to calculate the wage based on these rules. 

• To avoid a surcharge, WKC-13A must be filed within 60 
days of the first WKC-13. If an “expect by” date is given, 
this deadline can be pushed back 90 days. 

Where Do These Wage Rules Come From?
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Calculating Average Weekly Wage

Average Weekly Wage will be based on the greater of:

Hourly 
Rate

X Hours per 
Week

OR
Gross 
Earnings ÷

Weeks 
Worked

• Hourly Rate entered should be the rate the employee 
was earning at the time of injury.

• Break down any set rates of pay (weekly, monthly, salary) 
to an hourly rate.

• Include shift differential (additional amounts employer 
pays for working nights & weekends) in hourly rate if 
employee was earning it at time of injury.

• Hourly rate must be at least minimum wage.
o$7.25 per hour or $2.33 per hour with tips

Hourly Rate

• Number of hours the employee is regularly scheduled 
each week.

• Full-time workers are assumed to be working 40 hours per 
week.

Hours Per Week
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• Total gross taxable earnings the claimant earned in the 
52-week period immediately prior to the week of injury.

• Do not include earnings from week of injury unless 
claimant was injured on a Friday or Saturday - then it 
can be included.

• Include any bonuses.

Gross Earnings

Do not include in gross earnings:

oAny weeks where the claimant has disability earnings, FMLA, 
Temporary Total Disability (TTD), or Temporary Partial Disability 
(TPD) from a previous claim;

o Tips (added in separately); or

oNon-taxable earnings (reimbursements, per diem, etc.)

Gross Earnings (cont.)

• Total number of weeks worked in the 52 weeks prior to 
the week of injury.

• Weeks start on Sunday, end on Saturday.

• A week should be counted if any part of a week was 
worked (except the week of injury).

• Hours paid in lieu of work, such as vacation, holiday, or 
personal time, should be included as “worked.”

Weeks Worked
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• If an employee has worked less than six (6) weeks, gross 
earnings cannot be used to determine average weekly 
wage (AWW).

• AWW will only be based on the Hourly Rate x Hours per 
Week.

Less Than Six Weeks

• Overtime should be paid at time and a half to employees 
if they have worked more than 40 hours in one week.

• Overtime should only be included in ‘Hours Per Week’ if 
they regularly work that schedule.

• If random amounts of overtime are worked each week, 
overtime would NOT be included in ‘Hours Per Week,’ but 
all overtime earnings would still be included in ‘Gross 
Earnings.’

Overtime

The ‘Hourly Rate x Hours Worked’ equation turns into:

(Hourly Rate x Regular Hours Worked)  

+  

(OT Rate x OT Hours Worked)

Overtime (cont.)
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• If the claimant works an alternating schedule every two 
weeks (with no overtime either week), the hours per week 
entered would be the average of the two weeks.

• If the claimant works an alternating schedule with 
overtime, the regular hours would be averaged 
separately from the overtime hours.

Alternating Schedule

• Temporary Total Disability (TTD) and Permanent Partial 
Disability (PPD) rates will be set at 2/3 of the AWW until it 
gets to the max rate.

• If the claimant is younger than 27 years old, PPD will 
automatically be set to max rate.

TTD and PPD Rates

1/1/21 - 12/31/21 1/1/22 - 4/9/22 4/10/22 - 12/31/22

AWW $1641.00 $1738.50 $1738.50

TTD $1094.00 $1159.00 $1159.00

PPD $362.00 $362.00 $415.00

Maximum TTD and PPD Rates

• After 1/1/23, AWW and TTD to be determined, PPD increase to $430.00
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If there is a renewed period of TTD or TPD two or more years after the 
original period of disability ended, the TTD rate used will be escalated 
in proportion to the current max rate.

Example:

• In 2014, claimant’s TTD rate was $446, or 50% of the 2014 maximum 
TTD rate of $892. 

• In 2021, claimant resumed TTD for the same claim. His TTD rate was 
escalated to 50% of 2021 maximum TTD rate of $1094, or $547.

Escalation

TTD Max TTD Percent

2014 $446 $892 50%

2021 $547 $1094 50%

Wage Investigation

• About 30% of WKC-13As (roughly 8,000 claims per year) 
filed will be put into “Wage Investigation.”

• Of that 30%, about half will stay the same.

• Don’t panic: we will let you know if we need more 
information.

• Once a claim is in Wage Investigation, only we can take 
it out of investigation. Submitting more WKC-13As will not 
change that.

Request for Week-by-Week Wages
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• The number of weeks worked entered on the WKC-13A is 
impossible based on Date of Hire and Date of Injury.

• The quarterly gross earnings the employer reported to UI is 
significantly different than what was reported on the 
WKC-13A.

• Something just doesn’t look right:

oGross is very high or low

oWeeks are very high or low

oNo tips reported for a job that typically gets tips

Why Would We Request This?

Start Week End Week Gross Hours 
Worked

3/24/2019 3/30/2019 $516 42

3/17/2019 3/23/2019 $480 40

3/10/2019 3/16/2019

3/3/2019 3/9/2019 $312 26

2/24/2019 3/2/2019 $456 38

2/17/2019 2/23/2019 $474 39.5

2/10/2019 2/16/2019 $480 40

2/3/2019 2/9/2019 $468 39

1/27/2019 2/2/2019

Exercise 1
Date Hired: Monday, 2/2/19

Date Injured: Wednesday, 3/6/19

Age: 22

Earning $12.00/hour at time of injury

Works full time

AWW: __________
TTD: ____________
PPD: ____________

Start Week End Week Gross Hours 
Worked

3/24/2019 3/30/2019 $516 42

3/17/2019 3/23/2019 $480 40

3/10/2019 3/16/2019

3/3/2019 3/9/2019 $312 26

2/24/2019 3/2/2019 $456 38

2/17/2019 2/23/2019 $474 39.5

2/10/2019 2/16/2019 $480 40

2/3/2019 2/9/2019 $468 39

1/27/2019 2/2/2019

Exercise 1
Date Hired: Monday, 2/2/19

Date Injured: Wednesday, 3/6/19

Age: 22

Earning $12.00/hour at time of injury

Works full time

AWW: $480___
TTD: __$320___
PPD: _ $362___ 
(maximum statutory rate for date of injury)
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• Claimant’s age: 30
• Date of Hire: 6/9/16
• Date of Injury: 4/6/20

• Earns $22.00/hour
• Schedule: 45 hours/week
• Overtime paid after 40 hours/week
• Gross: $50,470
• Weeks worked in year before injury: 49

Exercise 2

AWW: __________

TTD: ____________

PPD: ____________

• Claimant’s age: 30
• Date of Hire: 6/9/16
• Date of Injury: 4/6/20

• Earns $22.00/hour
• Schedule: 45 hours/week
• Overtime paid after 40 hours/week
• Gross: $50,470
• Weeks worked in year before injury: 49

Exercise 2

AWW: _$1045__

TTD: __$696.67_

PPD: __$362___

Questions?
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Part-time Employees

• 102.11(1)(a)3: “The average weekly earnings shall be 
arrived at by multiplying the employee's hourly earnings 
by the hours in the normal full-time work week as 
established by the employer.”

• Labor & Industry Review Commission (LIRC): Prior to 
4/10/22, “The general rule is that part-time hours are 
expanded to full-time hours for that employment for 
purposes of determining the statutory average weekly 
wage.”

Everyone Gets Paid Full-time

• Members of a class of regularly scheduled employees

• Employees who self-restrict to part-time work on the labor 
market

• As of 4/10/22: Wage expansion for part-time employees is 
limited to part-time employees who are employed by 
another employer or who have been employed part-time 
less than 12 months before the injury. (Repeal of s. 102.11 
(1)(am) and (f)1 and  creation of s. 102.11(1)(ap))

Except…
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• “A regularly-scheduled class of part-time employees”

• Four requirements to be “part of class”

1. Member of a class of employees doing the same type of work 
at the same location;

2. 10% of workforce doing the same type of work are members of 
this regularly-scheduled class;

3. Must have more than one employee; and

4. Keep a regular schedule - minimum and maximum hours over 
13 weeks do not vary by more than five (5).

Part of Class

• Company has 200 total employees.  

• For this company to have a class of regularly-scheduled 
part-time employees: 

oAt least 20 (10%) of their employees would need to be doing the 
same job, and 

oAll work the same number of scheduled hours each week. 

Example

Send a list (or punch detail) of the number of hours the claimant worked during each of the 13 weeks prior to the week 
of injury. Hours paid in lieu of work, such as vacation, holiday, or personal time, should be included. Do not send 
earnings in lieu of hours. 

For full time employees, attach the weekly list of hours or the punch detail to this letter and return. 

For part time employees, if you are conceding an expansion to full time, you may either: 

Check here       and return this letter or,

Use the email reply feature on the Insurer’s Pending Report system to inform us that you are conceding an 
expansion to full time. https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/wc/insurance/pending-rpts.htm

If the employee is part time and you are not conceding an expansion to full time, attach the weekly list of hours or the 
punch detail to this letter and return. 

The list of hours or punch detail cannot be sent via the pending report but can be sent to the Fax Imaging Server at 
608-260-2503. 

If we do not receive a reply within 30 days, we will assume that the part time employee did not work a regular schedule 
as defined by s. 102.11(1)(am) 2 Wis. Stats. 

Department of Workforce Development 
Worker’s Compensation Division 
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Exercise 3: Is This a Regular Schedule?

• Week 1 – 25 hours
• Week 2 – 25 hours
• Week 3 – 20 hours
• Week 4 – 25 hours
• Week 5 – 25 hours
• Week 6 – 26 hours
• Week 7 – 25 hours
• Week 8 – 25 hours

Exercise 3: Is This a Regular Schedule?

• Week 1 – 25 hours
• Week 2 – 25 hours
• Week 3 – 20 hours
• Week 4 – 25 hours
• Week 5 – 25 hours
• Week 6 – 26 hours
• Week 7 – 25 hours
• Week 8 – 25 hours

• Minimum: 20

• Maximum: 26

• NOT a regular 
schedule, so not 
a part of class.

Exercise 4: Is This a Regular Schedule?

• Week 1 – 19 hours

• Week 2 – 20 hours

• Week 3 – 21 hours

• Week 4 – 22 hours

• Week 5 – 23 hours

• Week 6 – 24 hours

• Week 7 – 25 hours
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Exercise 4: Is This a Regular Schedule?

• Week 1 – 19 hours

• Week 2 – 20 hours

• Week 3 – 21 hours

• Week 4 – 22 hours

• Week 5 – 23 hours

• Week 6 – 24 hours

• Week 7 – 25 hours

• Minimum: 19

• Maximum: 25

• NOT a regular 
schedule, so not 
a part of class.

Exercise 5: Is This a Regular Schedule?

This is a biweekly schedule!

• Period 1 – 70 hours

• Period 2 – 66 hours

• Period 3 – 72 hours

• Period 4 – 64 hours

• Period 5 – 72 hours

• Period 6 – 68 hours

Exercise 5: Is This a Regular Schedule?

This is a biweekly schedule!

• Period 1 – 70 hours

• Period 2 – 66 hours

• Period 3 – 72 hours

• Period 4 – 64 hours

• Period 5 – 72 hours

• Period 6 – 68 hours

• Minimum: 64

• Maximum: 72

• For biweekly pay periods, 
we look for a variance of 
more than 10 hours.

• This is a regular schedule. 
Pending other requirements, 
may be a part of class.
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Expansion (prior to 4/10/22)

• Part of class

oExpanded to 24 hours or regularly scheduled hours

oWhichever is greater

• If not a part of class, hours are expanded to full-time 
(presumed 40 hours for most workers)

• Gross earnings always apply if average actual earnings 
are higher than hourly rate x scheduled hours

Self-restriction

• Way to reduce expanded hours to average actual 
earnings or to regularly scheduled hours

• Voluntary for employee to fill out

• Restrictions and exceptions on when it can be applied

• Only applies to temporary disability benefits (not PPD)

• Employees who restrict themselves to part-time work on 
the labor market are eligible to have restricted claims

• Must voluntarily restrict to part-time work at the time of 
injury

• Must be signed by employee (or legal guardian)

• Restricted rate is paid at 100% of regular schedule or 
average actual earnings, whichever is higher

• Can only be applied by a wage analyst

Self-restriction (cont.)
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TEST INSURER 2 
C/O TEST INSURER 2 
123 JENNIFER ST 
MADISON WI 53703

WC CLAIM NO: 9999-999999 IF YOU CALL OR WRITE US 
INJURY DATE: 01/01/98 PLEASE USE WC CLAIM NO. 
EMPLOYEE: SIMPLES-SAMPLER, TESTER SAMPLE 
EMPLOYER: SAMPLE EMPLOYER 
INSURER NO: 

You advised us that you are paying worker’s compensation benefits at 100% of the employee's actual wage. This is 
correct if at the time of the injury the employee restricted his or her availability to part-time work and was not 
employed elsewhere. 

However, you did not include the required self-restriction statement from the employee. Please send us a self-
restriction statement immediately.

If we do not receive a reply within 30 days, we will assume that the employee did not self-restrict, and we will increase 
the weekly rate to either two-thirds of the wages for 24 hours of work (if the employee was part of a class at the time of 
injury) or two-thirds of the wages for full-time work (usually 40 hours). 

Self-restriction Eligibility

• Cannot have two jobs

• If no regular schedule, must have worked at least six (6) full weeks

• TTD rate cannot exceed what it would be if hours were expanded 
to full time

o Recent part-time workers, or those who keep high number of hours, may not 
be eligible

o If you receive an error that an employee cannot restrict, this is usually why

• Self-restriction does not affect the PPD rate. PPD will be calculated 
based on a non-restricted AWW.
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Self-restriction Eligibility (cont.)

• AWW: $240
• TTD: $160
• PPD: $160
• Earned $9,360 

in 52 weeks

• Employee keeps a regular schedule of 
18 hours per week

• Earns $10.00 per hour

• Employee is part of a class, so earnings 
are expanded to $240 per week

• Cannot self-restrict: 100% of $180 (18 
hours x $10.00/hour) is more than 2/3 of 
$240 ($160)

Example 1: Employee as Part of Class

Self-restriction Eligibility (cont.)

• AWW: $400 
(presumption)

• TTD: $180
• PPD: $266.67
• Earned $9,360 

in 52 weeks

• Employee keeps a regular schedule 
of 18 hours per week

• Earns $10.00 per hour

• Employee is NOT part of a class, so 
earnings expansion to full time

• Can self-restrict 

Example 2: Employee Not Part of Class

Self-restriction Eligibility (cont.)

• AWW: $650
• TTD: $433.33
• PPD: $362
• $16.25 per hour

• No regular schedule

• Earned $26,000 in 52 weeks 

• Cannot restrict since $26,000 
divided by 52 is $500 and is 
higher than TTD rate

Example 3: Employee Not Part of Class; Irregular Schedule
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Cannot accept self-restriction forms that:
• Reference the injury as a reason

o“Doctor said I couldn’t work full time”

• Reference not being able to find full time work
o“Employer only had part-time work available”

• Aren’t signed by the employee (or legal guardian)

• Are coercive or misleading
oMust give an option to select yes or no

oCannot imply stoppage of benefits if not filled out

Self-restriction Eligibility (cont.)

Wage loss for Temporary Partial 
Disability (TPD) is calculated differently

from wage loss for Temporary Total 
Disability (TTD).

Calculating Wage: Temporary Partial Disability

• TPD – for a temporary period of time, the injured worker is 
earning less than before the injury

o Temporary because injured worker has not reached end of 
healing

• Doctor has issued temporary restrictions that employer 
can accommodate, but injured worker is either:

oWorking fewer hours, and/or

oWorking a job that pays less than their pre-injury job.

Calculating Wage: Temporary Partial Disability
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• When AWW is based on expanded hours, the TPD wage is 
used to calculate actual wage loss 

• Use actual average weekly wages or regular schedule x 
hourly rate at time of injury, whichever is higher

• TTD rate remains two-thirds of expanded AWW

• Only part-time claims with expanded hours will have a 
TPD wage that is different from AWW

Calculating Wage: Temporary Partial Disability

TPD Based on Actual Earnings

• Warehouse worker – more than 27 years old

• $12.00 per hour – part time worker

• Variable schedule

• $3,000 earned in 10 weeks

• Regular full-time employees work 40 hours

TPD Based on Actual Earnings

• AWW: $480

• TTD rate: $320

• PPD rate: $320

• TPD wage is based on earnings of $3,000 earned over 10 
weeks

• TPD wage: $300
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• Warehouse worker – more than 27 years old

• $12.00 per hour

• Regular schedule of 30 hours per week

• No other part-time workers

• $3,000 earned in 10 weeks

• Regular full-time employees work 40 hours

TPD with Regular Schedule

TPD with Regular Schedule

• AWW: $480

• TTD rate: $320

• PPD rate: $320

• TPD wage is based on $12.00 per hour x regular schedule 
of 30 hours

• TPD wage: $360

Questions?

55

56

57



04/25/2022

20

STRETCH BREAK TIME!
Stand up and move around!

(return in 5 minutes, please)

Exceptional Basis of Pay

Exceptional Basis of Pay

• These are specific careers that may have particular rules 
that calculate their average weekly wage (AWW) 
differently from other jobs.

• On the WKC-13A, select the “Exceptional Basis of Pay” 
option from the drop-down box in Section 1, Number 5. 
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Coach – Only Newspaper Carrier - PT School Bus Driver - PT

Commission Only – FT Other School Crossing Guard - PT

Commission Only – PT Paid By The Mile - FT Sheltered Employee - PT

Flight Attendant - PT Paid by The Mile - PT
Sole Proprietor

(Business Owners)

K-12 Cafeteria Worker –
PT

Prisoner Taxicab Driver

K-12 Teacher and 
Coach

Pro & Semi-Pro Athlete Trucker - Owned Truck

K-12 Teacher Only Pulp Cutter Volunteer Fire Fighter/ EMT

All the “Exceptional” Categories

• Some of these Exceptional Employment options assume 
an employee is a Part of Class regardless of the number 
of other employees working there. 

• If they do not keep a schedule, though, they will lose their 
Part of Class status.

Assuming Part of Class

• These workers have no set rate of pay – they are paid on 
commission or by the mile. 

• If they are full time, AWW is based on their gross/weeks 
worked. Hourly rate x hours would not be considered.

• If they have worked fewer than six (6) weeks (i.e., cannot 
use gross), send similar wages of a like employee

• If they are part-time, hourly rate is calculated by dividing 
gross earnings by hours worked. 

Commission-Only and Paid by the Mile
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• Remember, the number of weeks entered on the WKC-
13A is the weeks worked. Teachers typically work 38 
weeks.

• Paychecks do not reflect the 
number of weeks worked. 
Teachers can opt to have their 
contract paid out throughout 
the school year (38 weeks) or 
the whole year (52 weeks).

Teachers/School Workers

• Depending on how much of the contract has been 
worked, the gross earnings of teachers who have worked 
less than a year may not match the earnings shown on 
their paychecks.

See example on next slide.

Teachers/School Workers

TEACHER A

• Contract: $38,000 for 38 weeks 
of work

• Paychecks issued over 38 weeks 
($1000/week for 38 weeks)

• Injured halfway through school 
year, fulfilling 50% of contract

• Paychecks show gross of 
$19,000

Teacher Example

TEACHER B

• Contract: $38,000 for 38 weeks 
of work

• Paychecks issued over 52 weeks 
($730.77/week for 52 weeks)

• Injured halfway through school 
year, fulfilling 50% of contract

• Paychecks show gross of 
$13,884
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• AWW based on Net Profit reported on their taxes for the 
tax year prior to year of injury.

• Typically reported on either Schedule C or Schedule K-1. 
We will ask you to provide a copy of this. 

• Minimum wage (AWW: $290) is the lowest we will set their 
AWW.

• If owners refuse to furnish the proper tax documents, 
wage will be set to minimum wage.

Business Owners

• AWW set to the maximum rate for the year of injury, or we 
will accept full-time wages from the nearest full-time/ 
career fire department.

• When submitting WKC-13A, note which fire department 
you contacted to obtain the full-time wages.

• Refer to Calculating Wage binder for more detailed 
information on why we handle volunteer rescue worker 
wages this way.

Volunteer/Paid On-Call Firefighters and 
Emergency Rescue Workers

Questions?
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Add Ons

• Piecework

• Seasonal Employment

• Tips

• Room and Board

Overview

• Any job performed without an hourly rate

• Workers are paid by their production 

• Frequently seen in manufacturing and construction

• Can also occur with jobs like dog groomers

• Any job where someone is paid for a task instead of for 
time worked

Piecework
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• Piecework pay is converted to an hourly rate based on 
total earnings and hours worked

• Determine the hourly rate by dividing the total regular 
earnings within the prior 52-week period by the number of 
hours worked

• Part-time workers: Keep track of hours actually worked; 
otherwise, AWW cannot be calculated

Piecework (cont.)

• Seasonal work is not someone working part-time around 
the holidays, or most summer jobs when not in school.

• Seasonal employment is work which: 

oCan only be done at certain times of the year, and 

oDoes not cover a period of more than 14 weeks. 

Seasonal Employment

• Seasonal employment is usually connected with the 
canning industry, but is also used for harvesting 
(cranberries, ice, Christmas trees, apples, etc.)

Seasonal Employment (cont.)
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• In seasonal work, the number of hours worked per week 
can vary wildly, so Division policy is to use 44 hours as an 
approximation.

• A 44-hour week is used as a reasonable average. Hourly 
rate x 44 sets the AWW. Gross earnings are not 
considered at all.

Seasonal Employment (cont.)

• Tips are calculated in addition to hourly rate. 

• Tips must be reported by either employee or employer 
and must be taxed to be considered in the AWW.

• When reporting gross earnings on the WKC-13A, do not 
include tips.

Additional to Cash Wage - Tips

• Calculate actual tips per week and actual hours worked 
per week to determine tipped hourly rate.

oOnly count hours where tips were possible if multiple positions 
were worked.

• Tipped hourly rate is added to base rate earned at the 
time of injury.

• For cab drivers with no tips reported, Division policy is to 
add 15% in lieu of tips.

Tips (cont.)
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Week
Start 

Week
End 

Week Hours Gross Tips

1 3/17/19 3/23/19 12.3 $28.66 $122.61
2 3/10/19 3/16/19 7.5 $17.48 $50.26
3 3/3/19 3/9/19 15 $34.95 $122.99
4 2/24/19 3/2/19 22 $51.26 $177.57
5 2/17/19 2/23/19 19 $44.27 $144.21
6 2/10/19 2/16/19 20 $46.60 $118.34
7 2/3/19 2/9/19 19.5 $45.44 $109.22
8 1/27/19 2/2/19 17 $39.61 $134.36
9 1/20/19 1/26/19 22 $51.26 $170.41
10 1/13/19 1/19/19 5.7 $13.28 $77.23
10 160 $372.81 $1227.20

Exercise 6 – Part-time Tips

• 27-year-old server
• Has a separate full-time job
• Date of Hire: 1/14/19
• Date of Injury:  3/25/19

Tipped hourly rate: ______________

Total hourly rate: ________________

TPD Wage:  _____________________

AWW: __________________________

TTD: ____________________________

PPD:  ___________________________

Week Start 
Week

End 
Week

Hours Gross Tips

1 3/17/19 3/23/19 12.3 $28.66 $122.61
2 3/10/19 3/16/19 7.5 $17.48 $50.26
3 3/3/19 3/9/19 15 $34.95 $122.99
4 2/24/19 3/2/19 22 $51.26 $177.57
5 2/17/19 2/23/19 19 $44.27 $144.21
6 2/10/19 2/16/19 20 $46.60 $118.34
7 2/3/19 2/9/19 19.5 $45.44 $109.22
8 1/27/19 2/2/19 17 $39.61 $134.36
9 1/20/19 1/26/19 22 $51.26 $170.41
10 1/13/19 1/19/19 5.7 $13.28 $77.23
10 160 $372.81 $1227.20

Exercise 6 – Part-time Tips

• 27-year-old server
• Has a separate full-time job
• Date of Hire: 1/14/19
• Date of Injury:  3/25/19

Tipped hourly rate: __$2.33_____

Total hourly rate: ___$10.00_____

TPD Wage:  ________$160_______

AWW: _____________$400______

TTD: _______________$266.67___

PPD:  ______________$266.67___

• Non-cash wages are not included in calculating the 
AWW if the benefits are continued.

• If the benefits are not continued, then their equivalent 
value is effectively added to the gross earnings. 

• For varying payments such as utilities or phone plans, 
count the actual amount paid over the previous 52-week 
period.

Addition to Cash Wage – Non-cash Payments
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• Employer to determine value. Check if housing is shared; 
value of housing is total cost of rent or mortgage 
payments divided by number of people in the household.

• See if utilities, telephone, etc. are included in the contract 
for hire. If so:

oDivide payment (total cost or monthly rate) by number of weeks. 
Included in Section 3 of WKC-13A.

Addition to Cash Wage – House or Apartment

• Room and board is set by DWD 272.03 for minimum 
wage.

• As with other non-cash benefits, does not need to be 
included in AWW if the benefits are continued.

• Discounted meals are not counted.

Additional Items of Value - Room and Board 
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Questions?
KEITH KINION
(608) 405-4126

keithc.kinion@dwd.wisconsin.gov

STEVE McKINNEY
(608) 261-4406

steven.mckinney@dwd.wisconsin.gov
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