

#### Overview

- Wisconsin statutes relating to wage
- Calculating wages
- Temporary total disability (TTD) and permanent partial disability (PPD)
- Part-time employees
- Wage Variants



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO\

2

# Where Do These Wage Rules Come From?

- Almost all wage "rules" are derived from Wisconsin statute 102.11.
- WKC-13A1 is the required form that asks for the information needed to calculate the wage based on these rules.
- To avoid a surcharge, WKC-13A1 must be filed within 60 days of the first WKC-13. If an "expect by" date is given, this deadline can be pushed back 90 days.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

	SECTION 1. PAY INFORMATION If The Claimant is Paid Solely By Commission, Mileage, Or Some Other Method, Where Are Not Used, Skip Question 1 in Section 1 And Go On To Answer Any Of Questions 2 T		
	Note: One Of The Following May Also Apply.     Pay Included Tips:     Base Hourly Rate:     Average Tips Per Week:		
	Paid By Piece Rate:     Enter The Total Hours Worked And Wages Earned in The 52 Week     Period Prior To The Injury (Excluding Overtime Hours).     Hours:     Wages:		
	4. Wages Included Differential: If The Claimant's Hourly Wages Included Differential Per Hour At The Time Of Day When The Injury Occurred, Enter Differential Per Hour: Exceptional Basis of Pay. A. Exceptional Basis of Pay For Special Types Of Employment: B. Basis of Pay/Wage Comments:		
	Seasonal Employee:     If The Claimant's Occupation is Seasonal,     Enter Number Of Weeks in The Season (Whole Number):		
	SECTION 2. GROSS WAGES  1. Gross Tarable Wages in A 52 Week Period Prior To Week Of Injury: Exclude Week Of Injury And Tips.  Exclude Week Of Injury in Mary Tips.  1. Number Of Weeks Wersted is 2 Week Period Prior To Week Of Injury: Exclude Week Of Injury in The Humber Of Weeks.  2. Date of this (mm/dd/yyy):		
<b>CO</b>		DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV	
1			

SECTION 3. ADDITIONS TO CASH WAGE

1. Free Mealt: Enter Number of Meals Per Week.

2. Daily Room: Enter Number of Days Per Week.

3. Other Additions To Cash Wage

A. Enter Description of Item (e.g. Fuel, Electricity, etc.):

8. Enter Week/ Value Amount.

4. Did Claimant Continue To Receive Additions To Cash Wage During The Healing Period? Yes O No 4. Did Claimant Continue To Receive Additions To Cash Wage During The Healing Per SECTION 4. SCHEDULED HOURS AND OVERTIME INFORMATION

1. Normal Full Time Hours Scheduled By The Employer For This Type Of Work:

2. If Employer Scheduled Claimant To Work On A Regular Alternating Weekly Basis, Enter The Humber Of Hours For The Regular Alternating Full Time Schedule Week Two:

3. Time And A Half Pay:

If The Employer Paid Time And A Half,
Enter The Humber Of Hours Worked Before Time And A Half Was Paid:

4. Double Time Pay:

If The Employer Paid Double Time,
Enter The Humber Of Hours Worked Before Double Time Was Paid:

5. Was Claimant Scheduled To Work Full Time In This Job Each Week?

If Yes, Part Of Class Information Completed in Section 5 Will NOT Be Saved.

If No, Complete Part Of Class Information in Section 5 Below. ○ Yes ® No **©** 

5

<u>CO</u>			
SECTION 6. INSURER CONTACT INFORMATION 1. Insurer Contact Phone: 2. Insurer Contact Phone: 3. Insurer Contact Phone: Help Salmin Reset			
SECTION 5. PART TIME EMPLOYEES  1. Does the claimant have employment outside of the employer at which the injury occurr  2. Did the claimant work less than full time for less than 12 months prior to the injury?  3. Claimant's average weekly hours worked in in the 52 weeks prior to the injury:  4. Does the claimant limit themselves to part-time work?	nd? Yes O No Viss O No Viss O No		

Calculating Average Weekly Wage					
Average Weekly Wage	Average Weekly Wage will be based on the greater of:				
Hourly Rate	Χ	Hours per Week			
Gross Earnings	OR ÷	Weeks Worked			
<b>CO</b>		DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV			

# Hourly Rate

- Hourly Rate entered should be the rate the employee was earning at the time of injury.
- Break down any set rates of pay (weekly, monthly, salary) to an hourly rate.
- Include shift differential (additional amounts employer pays for working nights and weekends) in hourly rate if employee was earning it at time of injury.
- Hourly rate must be at least minimum wage. • \$7.25 per hour or \$2.33 per hour with tips



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

8

### Hours Per Week

- Number of hours the employee is regularly scheduled each week.
- Full-time workers are assumed to be working 40 hours per week.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

### **Gross Earnings**

- Total gross taxable earnings the claimant earned in the 52-week period immediately prior to the week of injury.
- Do not include earnings from week of injury unless claimant was injured on a Friday or Saturday then it can be included.
- Include any bonuses.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

10

### Gross Earnings (cont.)

<u>Do not include</u> in gross earnings:

- o Any weeks where the claimant has disability earnings, FMLA, Temporary Total Disability (TTD), or Temporary Partial Disability (TPD) from a previous claim;
- $_{\circ}$  Tips (added in separately); or
- o Non-taxable earnings (reimbursements, per diem, etc.)



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO\

11

### Weeks Worked

- Total number of weeks worked in the 52 weeks prior to the week of injury.
- Weeks start on Sunday and end on Saturday.
- A week should be counted if any part of a week was worked (except the week of injury).
- Hours paid in lieu of work, such as vacation, holiday, or personal time, should be included as "worked."



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

### Less Than Six Weeks

- If an employee has worked less than six (6) weeks, gross earnings cannot be used to determine average weekly wage (AWW).
- AWW will only be based on the Hourly Rate x Hours per Week.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

13

#### Overtime

- Overtime should be paid at time and a half to employees if they have worked more than 40 hours in one week.
- Overtime should only be included in 'Hours Per Week' if they regularly work that schedule.
- If random amounts of overtime are worked each week, overtime would NOT be included in 'Hours Per Week,' but all overtime earnings would still be included in 'Gross Earnings.'



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

14

### Overtime (cont.)

The 'Hourly Rate x Hours Worked' equation turns into:

(Hourly Rate x Regular Hours Worked)

+

(OT Rate x OT Hours Worked) (OT Rate = Hourly Rate x 1.5)



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

# Alternating Schedule

- If the claimant works an alternating schedule every two weeks (with no overtime either week), the hours per week entered would be the average of the two weeks.
- If the claimant works an alternating schedule with overtime, the regular hours would be averaged separately from the overtime hours.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

16

### TTD and PPD Rates

- Temporary Total Disability (TTD) and Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) rates will be set at 2/3 of the AWW until it gets to the max rate.
- If the claimant is younger than 27 years old, PPD will automatically be set to max rate.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

17

### Maximum TTD and PPD Rates

Category	Current	After 1/1/2023
Average Weekly Wage	\$1,738.50	TBD
Temporary Total Disability	\$1,159.00	TBD
Permanent Partial Disability	\$415.00	\$430.00

Current historical wage and rate chart: https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/dwd/publications/wc/wkc-9572-p.pdf?v3



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

### Escalation

If there is a renewed period of TTD or TPD two or more years after the original period of disability ended, the TTD rate used will be escalated in proportion to the current max rate.

Example:

	ΠD	Max TTD	Percent
2014	\$446	\$892	50%
2022	\$579.50	\$1159	50%

- In 2014, claimant's TTD rate was  $\underline{\$446}$ , or 50% of the 2014 maximum TTD rate of \$892.
- In 2022, claimant resumed TTD for the same claim. His TTD rate was escalated to 50% of 2022 maximum TTD rate of \$1159, or <u>\$579.50</u>.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

19

### Wage Investigation

- About 30% of WKC-13A1s (roughly 8,000 claims per year) filed will be put into "Wage Investigation."
- Of that 30%, about half will stay the same.
- Don't panic: we will let you know if we need more information.
- Once a claim is in Wage Investigation, only we can take it out of investigation. Submitting more WKC-13A1s will not change that.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

20

# Request for Week-by-Week Wages

INJURY DATE: EMPLOYEE: EMPLOYER: 9999-999999 IF YOU CALL OR WRITE US 01/01/98 PLEASE USE WC CLAIM NO. SIMPLES-SAMPLER, TESTER SAMPLE

We received wage information that indicates the average weekly wage used for computing the TTDIPPD rate(s) may be incorrect. Please submit the following information for verification of the correct average weekly wage:

- A week-by-week listing of gross taxable earnings for the 52-week period starting immediately prior to the week in which the injury occurred. Include earnings for overtime, bonuses, incentive or performance pay, commissions and all other taxal earnings excluding fins.
- If the employee received tips, send a week-by-week list of the tips reported.
- If the employee worked for this employer less than 52 weeks prior to the week of injury, list earnings from the date of hire.

If you do not reply to this request for wage information within 30 days we may assess a surcharge of \$100 in accordance with s.102.35(1), Wis. Stats.

If you have questions or need help please contact us by calling (608) 266-1340 and then ask for a wage analyst.

Thank you for your assistance in assuring correct compensation payment



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

### Why Would We Request This?

- The number of weeks worked entered on the WKC-13A1 is impossible based on Date of Hire and Date of Injury.
- The quarterly gross earnings the employer reported to UI is significantly different than what was reported on the WKC-13A1.
- Something just doesn't look right:
  - o Gross is very high or low
  - $_{\mbox{\scriptsize o}}$  Weeks are very high or low
  - o No tips reported for a job that typically gets tips



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

22

#### Exercise 1

rked
40
42
40
26
38
9.5
40
39
-

Date Hired: Monday, 2/2/19
Date Injured: Wednesday, 3/6/19
Age: 22

Earning \$12.00/hour at time of injury Works full time

AWW: \_ TTD: \_\_\_

PPD:

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

23

**©** 

# Exercise 1

Start Week	End Week	Gross	Hours Worked
3/24/2019	3/30/2019	\$516	42
3/17/2019	3/23/2019	\$480	40
3/10/2019	3/16/2019		
3/3/2019	3/9/2019	\$312	26
2/24/2019	3/2/2019	\$456	38
2/17/2019	2/23/2019	\$474	39.5
2/10/2019	2/16/2019	\$480	40
2/3/2019	2/9/2019	\$468	39
1/27/2019	2/2/2019		

Date Hired: Monday, 2/2/19
Date Injured: Wednesday, 3/6/19
Age: 22

Earning \$12.00/hour at time of injury Works full time

AWW: <u>\$480</u> TTD: <u>\$320</u> PPD: <u>\$362</u>

(maximum statutory rate for date of injury)

**©** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

### Exercise 2

Claimant's age: 30Date of Hire: 6/9/16

AWW: \_\_\_\_\_

• Date of Injury: 4/6/20

TTD: \_\_\_\_\_

• Earns \$22.00/hour • Schedule: 45 hours/week

Schedule: 45 hours/week
Overtime paid after 40 hours/week

PPD: \_\_\_\_\_

• Gross: \$50,470

• Weeks worked in year before injury: 49

**CO9** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

25

### Exercise 2

Claimant's age: 30Date of Hire: 6/9/16

AWW: <u>\$1045</u>

• Date of Injury: 4/6/20

TTD: <u>\$696.67</u>

• Earns \$22.00/hour

hadula: 45 haurs (wook

• Schedule: 45 hours/week

Overtime paid after 40 hours/week
 PPD: \$362

• Gross: \$50,470

• Weeks worked in year before injury: 49



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

26





### Everyone Gets Paid Full-time...

- 102.11(1)(a)3: "The average weekly earnings shall be arrived at by multiplying the employee's hourly earnings by the hours in the normal full-time work week as established by the employer."
- Labor & Industry Review Commission (LIRC): Prior to 4/10/22, "The general rule is that part-time hours are expanded to full-time hours for that employment for purposes of determining the statutory average weekly wage."



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO\

29

### ...Except

- Employees who self-restrict to part-time work on the labor market
- As of 4/10/22: Wage expansion for part-time employees is limited to part-time employees who are employed by another employer or who have been employed part-time less than 12 months before the injury. (Repeal of s. 102.11 (1)(am) and (f)1 and creation of s. 102.11(1)(ap))



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

### Self-restriction

- Way to reduce expanded hours to average actual earnings or to regularly scheduled hours
- · Voluntary for employee to fill out
- · Preference for part time work on employment application
- Only applies to temporary disability benefits ( $\underline{\textbf{not}}$  PPD)



31

### Self-restriction (cont.)

- Employees who restrict themselves to part-time work on the **labor market** are eligible to have restricted claims
- · Must voluntarily restrict to part-time work at the time of injury
- Must be signed by employee (or legal guardian)
- · Restricted rate is paid at 100% of regular schedule or average actual earnings, whichever is higher
- · Can only be applied by a wage analyst



32

TEST INSURER 2 C/O TEST INSURER 2 123 JENNIFER ST MADISON WI 53703

WC CLAIM NO:

IF YOU CALL OR WRITE US PLEASE USE WC CLAIM NO.

9999-999999 01/01/98 SIMPLES-SAMPLER, TESTER SAMPLE SAMPLE EMPLOYER INJURY DATE: EMPLOYEE: EMPLOYER: INSURER NO:

You advised us that you are paying worker's compensation benefits at 100% of the employee's actual wage. This is correct if at the time of the injury the employee restricted his or her availability to part-time work and was not employed elsewhere.

However, you did not include the required self-restriction statement from the employee. Please send us a self-restriction statement immediately.

If we do not receive a reply within 30 days, we will assume that the employee did not self-restrict, and we will increase the weekly rate to either two-thirds of the wages for 24 hours of work (if the employee was part of a class at the time of injury) or two-thirds of the wages for full-time work (usually 440 hours).



	EMPLOYEE NAME:	
	EMPLOYEE S.S. #*:	
	DATE OF INJURY:	
	This form is needed to properly compute the wage for your Worker's Compe Please answer the following questions, sign, date and return to your insuran employer.	
	At the time of your injury, did you limit your availability in the labor mate to work only with the employer where you were injured?  Yes No.	arket to part-time work or
	If yes, explain your limitation:	
	At the time of your injury, were you also employed by another employ     No	ver or self-employed?
	If Yes, please provide us with the name and address of your other en	mployer below:
	Employer Name:	
	Employer Address:	
	SignedPhone Number: () Area Code	<u> </u>
	Dated	
<b>©</b> ② <b>③</b>		DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

# Self-restriction Eligibility

- Cannot have two jobs
- If no regular schedule, must have worked at least six (6) full weeks
- TTD rate cannot exceed what it would be if hours were expanded to full time.
  - $\circ$  Recent part-time workers, or those who keep high number of hours, may not be eligible
  - $_{\circ}$  If you receive an error that an employee cannot restrict, this is usually why
- Self-restriction does not affect the PPD rate. PPD will be calculated based on a non-restricted AWW.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

35

# Self-restriction Eligibility (cont.)

#### Example 1

- AWW: \$180
- TTD: \$180
- PPD: \$400
- Earned \$9,360 in 52 weeks
- Earns \$10.00 per hour
- Averages 18 hours per week
- Can self-restrict: 100% of \$180 (18 hours x \$10.00/hour) is less than 2/3 of \$400



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

# Self-restriction Eligibility (cont.)

### Example 2

- AWW: \$660
- TTD: \$536
- PPD: \$415
- \$20 per hour
- Earned \$34,320 in 52 weeks
- Averages 33 hours per week
- Cannot restrict since \$34,320 divided by 52 is \$660, which is higher than TTD rate



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

37

# Self-restriction Eligibility (cont.)

Cannot accept self-restriction forms that:

- Reference the injury as a reason
   "Doctor said I couldn't work full time"
- Reference not being able to find full time work o "Employer only had part-time work available"
- Aren't signed by the employee (or legal guardian)
- Are coercive or misleading

   Must give an option to select yes or no
   Cannot imply stoppage of benefits if not filled out



OWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

38





# Exceptional Basis of Pay

- These are specific careers that may have particular rules that calculate their average weekly wage (AWW) differently from other jobs.
- On the WKC-13A1, select the "Exceptional Basis of Pay" option from the drop-down box in Section 1, Number 5.

**©@** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

41

# All the "Exceptional" Categories

Coach - Only	Newspaper Carrier - PT	School Bus Driver - PT
Commission Only – FT	Other	School Crossing Guard - PT
Commission Only – PT	Paid By The Mile - FT	Sheltered Employee - PT
Flight Attendant - PT	Paid by The Mile - PT	Sole Proprietor (Business Owners)
K-12 Cafeteria Worker – PT	Prisoner	Taxicab Driver
K-12 Teacher and Coach	Pro & Semi-Pro Athlete	Trucker - Owned Truck
K-12 Teacher Only	Pulp Cutter	Volunteer Fire Fighter/ EMT

**TO** 

DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

# Overview • Seasonal Employment Room and Board https://dpm.wi.gov/Documents/BCER/Compensation/PocketTravelGuide\_2\_2022.pdf

**©©** 

Piecework

43

