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Overview

« Wisconsin statutes relating to wage

« WKC-13A overview

* Full-time employees

« Employees that worked less than 6 weeks
« Overtime

« Alternating schedules

« Escalated TTD Rates

« Week-by-week wage requests
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Where Do These Wage Rules Come Fromze

« Almost all wage “rules” are derived from Wisconsin
statute 102.11.

« WKC-13A is the required form that asks for the information
needed to calculate the wage based on these rules.

« To avoid a surcharge, WKC-13A must be filed within 60
days of the first WKC-13. If an “expect by” date is given,
this deadline can be pushed back 20 days.
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SECTION 1. PAY INFORMATION

If The Claimant Is Paid Solely By Commission, Mileage, Or Some Other Method, Where Scheduled Hours
Are Not Used, Skip Question 1 In Section 1 And Go On To Answer Any Of Questions 2 Through & That May Apply.

g ) Hourly Rate ) Weekly Rate (' Monthly Rate
Note: One Of The Following May Also Apply.
2. Pay Included Tips:

Base Hourly Rate:
Average Tips Per Week:
3. Paid By Piece Rate:
Enter The Total Hours Worked And Wages Earned In The 52 Week
Period Prior To The Injury (Excluding Overtime Hours).
Hours:
Wages:
4. Wages Included Differential:
If The Claimant’s Hourly Wages Included Differential Per Hour At The
Time Of Day When The Injury Occurred, Enter Differential Per Hour:
5. Exceptional Basis Of Pay:
A. Exceptional Basis Of Pay For Special Types Of Employment:
B. Basis of Pay/Wage Comments:

6. Seasonal Employee:
If The Claimant’s Occupation Is Seasonal,
Enter Number Of Weeks In The Season (Whole Number):

L ]

[ |
[ ]

|
[ ]
[ ]

I

SECTION 2. GROSS WAGES

1. Gross Taxable Wages In A 52 Week Period Prior To Week Of Injury:
Exclude Week Of Injury And Tips.
Include Annual Commission, Overtime, And Bonuses.

2. Number Of Weeks Worked In 52 Week Period Prior To Week Of Injury:
Exclude Week Of Injury In The Number Of Weeks.
3. Date of Hire (mm/dd/yyyy):

[ ]
[ ]
[ ]

[ T[]
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SECTION 3. ADDITIONS TO CASH WAGE
1. Free Meals: Enter Number Of Meals Per Week.
2. Daily Room: Enter Number Of Days Per Week.

3. Other Additions To Cash Wage:
A. Enter Description Of Item (e.g. Fuel, Electricity, etc.):

D_ il

B. Enter Weekly Value Amount:
4. Did Claimant Continue To Receive Additions To Cash Wage During The Healing Period? O Yes O

=
=]

SECTION 4. SCHEDULED HOURS AND OVERTIME INFORMATION
1. Mormal Full Time Hours Scheduled By The Employer For This Type Of Work:
2. If Employer Scheduled Claimant To Work On A Regular Alternating Weekly Basis,
Enter The Number Of Hours For The Regular Alternating Full Time Schedule:
Alternating Schedule Week One:
Alternating Schedule Week Two:
3: Time And A Half Pay:
If The Employer Paid Time And A Half,
Enter The Number Of Hours Worked Before Time And A Half Was Paid:
4. Double Time Pay:
If The Employer Paid Double Time,
Enter The Number Of Hours Worked Before Double Time Was Paid:
5. Was Claimant Scheduled To Work Full Time In This Job Each Week? ) Yes ® No
If Yes, Part Of Class Information Completed In Section 5 Will NOT Be Saved.
If No, Complete Part Of Class Information In Section 5 Below.

IRiniini
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SECTION 5. PART TIME EMPLOYEES: PART OF CLASS AND SELF RESTRICTION INFORMATION
Answers To Questions 1 Through 4 Must Be Entered For Part Time Employees
1. Part Time Scheduled Hours. Please Complete Only One Of A, B, C Or D.
A.  Number Of Hours The Claimant Was Normally Scheduled To Work Each Week:
B. Range Of Hours Scheduled Each Week (Cannot Be More Than A 5 Hour Variance):
Low Range:
High Range:
C. Number Of Hours For The Regular Alternating Part Time Schedule:
Alternating Schedule Week One:
Alternating Schedule Week Two:
D. Claimant's Scheduled Hours Varied By More Than 5 Hours: ] Yes
2. Mumber Of Part Time Employees, Excluding The Claimant,
Doing The Same Work As The Claimant And Scheduled For
The Same Number Of Hours And Same Number Of Days Per Week As The Claimant:
: Number Of Full Time Employees Doing The Same Type Of Work As The Claimant:

L

il

Did The Claimant Restrict His/Her Availabilty For Work To Part Time Only? ) Yes ® No

SECTION 6. INSURER CONTACT INFORMATION

1. Insurer Contact Name: |

2. Insurer Contact Phone: | | ’
3. Insurer Contact Email: |

‘ Help | ‘ Submit ‘ | Reset ‘
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Wage Investigation

« About 30% of WKC-13As (roughly 8,000 claims per year)
filed will be put info “Wage Investigation.”

« Of that 30%, about half will stay the same.

 Don’t panic: we will let you know if we need more
information.

« Once a claim s in Wage Investigation, only we can take
it out of investigation. Submitting more WKC-13As will not
change that.
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Calculating Average Weekly Wage

Average Weekly Wage will be based on the greater of:

Hourly X Hours per
Rate Week

OR
Gross _ Weeks
Earnings B Worked
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Hourly Rate

* Hourly Rate entered should be the rate the employee
was earning at the time of injury.

« Break down any set rates of pay (weekly, monthly, salary)
to an hourly rate.

 Include shift differential (additional amounts employer
pays for working nights & weekends) in hourly rate if
employee was earning it at time of injury.

* Hourly rate must be at least minimum wage.
0 $7.25 per hour or $2.33 per hour with tips
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Hours Per Week

 Number of hours the employee is regularly scheduled
each week.

* Full-fime workers are assumed to be working 40 hours per
week.
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Gross Earnings

« Total gross taxable earnings the claimant earned in the
52-week period immediately prior to the week of injury.

« Do not include earnings from week of injury unless
claimant was injured on a Friday or Saturday - then it
can be included.

* |Include any bonuses.
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Gross Earnings (cont.)

Do not include in gross earnings:

o Any weeks where the claimant has disability earnings, FMLA,
Temporary Total Disability (TTD), or Temporary Partial Disability
(TPD) from a previous claim;

o Tips (added in separately);

o Non-taxable earnings (reimbursements, per diem, etc.)
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Weeks Worked

« Total number of weeks worked in the 52 weeks prior to
the week of injury.

« Weeks start on Sunday, end on Saturday.

A week should be counted if any part of a week was
worked (except the week of injury).

* Hours paid in lieu of work, such as vacation, holiday, or
personal fime should be included as “worked.”
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Less Than Six Weeks

* |If an employee has worked less than six (6) weeks, gross
earnings cannot be used to defermine average weekly
wage (AWW).

« AWW will only be based on the Hourly Rate x Hours per
Week.
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Overtime

« Overtime should be paid at time and a half fo employees
If they have worked more than 40 hours in one week.

« Overtime should only be included in ‘Hours Per Week’ if
they regularly work that schedule.

* |f random amounts of overtime are worked each week,
overtime would NOT be included in ‘Hours Per Week,' but
all overtime earnings would still be included in *Gross
Earnings’.
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Overtime (cont.)

The ‘Hourly Rate x Hours Worked’ equation turns into:

(Hourly Rate x Regular Hours Worked)

+

(OT Rate x OT Hours Worked)
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Alternating Schedule

 |If the claimant works an alternating schedule every two
weeks (with no overtime either week), the hours per week
entered would be the average of the two weeks.

 If the claimant works an alternating schedule with
overtime, the regular hours would be averaged separate
from the overtime hours.
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TTD & PPD Rates

« TTD & Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) rates will be set at
2/3 of the AWW until it gets to the max rate.

2021 Max Rates
AWW: $1,641
1TD: $1,094
PPD: $362

o [f the claimant is younger than 27 years old, PPD will
automatically be set fo max rate.
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Escalation

If there is a renewed period of TTD or TPD two years after the date of
injury, the TD rate used will be escalated in proportion to the current
Mmax rate.

TID Max TTD Percent
Example: 2014 $300 $892 33.63%
2021 $367.91 $1094 33.63%

* In 2014, claimant’s TTID rate was $300, or 33.63% of the 2014 maximum
TTD rate of $892.

e In 2021, claimant resumed TID for the same claim. His TTD rate was
escalated to 33.63% of 2021 maximum TTD rate of $1094, or $367.91.
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Request for Week-by-Week Wages

WC CLAIM NO: Seon-oboooD JE YOU CALL OR WRITE LIS
INJURY DATE: 011188 PLEASE USE WC CLAMM NO.
EMPLOYEE: SIMPLES-SAMPLER, TESTER SAMPLE

EMPLOYER: SAMPLE EMPLOYER

INSURER MNO:

We recened wage informmnation that mdicates the averages weskly wage used for computing the
TTOVPPD ratef{s) may be incomect. Please submit the following informabion for venfcaton of he
comect average weekly wape:

s A wesk-by-wesk Isting of gross tazable eamings for the S2-week perod starbng
mmmediately prior to the week inowhich the injury occumed. Incheds eamings for
oaerbme, bonuses, ncantive or perfioimance pay, commissons and all other taxable
eamngs excluding fps.

= [f the employees received tips, send a wesk-Dy-wesk st of e tios reported.

« [If thie ernployes worked for this employer kess than 52 weeks prior to the week of
mgury, list eamings from the date of hire.

If you So not repdy to this request for wage information within 30 days we may assess a surcharge
of 5100 = accordance with s 102.35{1), Wis. Stats.

If you have guestions or nesd help please contact us by calling (20E8) 208-1220 and then ask for 3
wage analyst.

Thank you for your assistance in assuning comect COMpensation payments.|
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Why Would We Request Thise

 The number of weeks worked entered on the WKC-13A is
Impossible based on Date of Hire and Date of Injury.

« The quarterly gross earnings the employer reported to Ul is
significantly different than what was reported on the
WKC-13A.

« Something just doesn’t look right:

o Gross is very high or low
o Weeks are very high or low
o No tips reported for a job that typically gets fips
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Exercise |

Start Week | End Week | Gross V\II-Ioorz: d
3/24/2019 | 3/30/2019 | $516 42
3/17/2019 | 3/23/2019 | $480 40
3/10/2019 | 3/16/2019

3/3/2019 | 3/9/2019 | $312 26
2/24/2019 | 3/2/2019 | $456 38
2/17/2019 | 2/23/2019 | $474 39.5
2/10/2019 | 2/16/2019 | $480 40

2/3/2019 | 2/9/2019 | $468 39
1/27/2019 | 2/2/2019

Date Hired: Monday, 2/2/19

Date Injured: Wednesday, 3/6/19
Age: 22

Earning $12.00/hour at time of injury

Works full time

AWW:
TTD:
PPD:
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Exercise |

Start Week | End Week | Gross V\II-IoorE: d
3/24/2019 | 3/30/2019 | $516 42
3/17/2019 | 3/23/2019 | $480 40
3/10/2019 | 3/16/2019

3/3/2019 | 3/9/2019 | $312 26
2/24/2019 | 3/2/2019 | $456 38
2/17/2019 | 2/23/2019 | $474 39.5
2/10/2019 | 2/16/2019 | $480 40

2/3/2019 | 2/9/2019 | $468 39
1/27/2019 | 2/2/2019

Date Hired: Monday, 2/2/19

Date Injured: Wednesday, 3/6/19
Age: 22

Earning $12.00/hour at time of injury

Works full time

AWW: $480
TTD: _ S320
PPD: _ S362

(maximum statutory rate for date of injury)
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Exercise 2

« Claimant’s age: 30
- Date of Hire: 6/9/16 AWW:
« Date of Injury: 4/6/20

TTD:

« Earns $22.00/hour

« Schedule: 45 hours/week

« Overtime paid after 40 hours/week
« Gross: $50,470

* Weeks worked in year before injury: 49

PPD:

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV




Exercise 2

« Claimant’s age: 30

. Date of Hire: 6/9/16 AWW: S$1045
« Date of Injury: 4/6/20

TTD: __S696.67

« Earns $22.00/hour

» Schedule: 45 hours/week

« Overtime paid after 40 hours/week
« Gross: $50,470

* Weeks worked in year before injury: 49

PPD: _ $362
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Questions?
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Everyone Gets Paid Full-time

« 102.11(1)(a)3: “The average weekly earnings shall be
arrived at by mulfiplying the employee's hourly earnings
by the hours in the normal full-time work week as
established by the employer.”

« Labor & Industry Review Commission (LIRC): “The general
rule is that part-fime hours are expanded to full-time hours
for that employment for purposes of determining the
statutory average weekly wage.”
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Except...

« Members of a class of regularly scheduled employees

 Employees who self-restrict to part-time work on the labor
market
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Part of Class

« “Aregularly-scheduled class of part-time employees”

« Four requirements to be “part of class”:

1. Member of a class of employees doing the same type of work
at the same location;

2. 10% of workforce doing the same type of work are members of
this regularly-scheduled class;

Must have more than one employee; and

Keep a regular schedule - minimum and maximum hours over
13 weeks do not vary by more than five (5)
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Example

« Company has 200 total employees.

« For this company to have a class of regularly-scheduled
part-time employees:

o At least 20 of their employees would need to be doing the same
job, and

o All work the same number of scheduled hours each week.
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Send a list (or punch detail) of the number of hours the claimant worked during each of the 13 weeks prior to the week of
injury. Hours paid in lieu of work, such as vacation, holiday, or personal time, should be included. Do not send earnings in lieu
of hours.

For full time employees, attach the weekly list of hours or the punch detail to this letter and return.

For part time employees, if you are conceding an expansion to full time, you may either:

Check here Dand return this letter or,

Use the email reply feature on the Insurer’s Pending Report system to inform us that you are conceding an
expansion to full time. https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/wc/insurance/pending-rpts.htm

If the employee is part time and you are not conceding an expansion to full time, attach the weekly list of hours or the punch
detail to this letter and return.

The list of hours or punch detail cannot be sent via the pending report but can be sent to the Fax Imaging Server at 608-260-
2503.

If we do not receive a reply within 30 days, we will assume that the part time employee did not work a regular schedule as
defined by s. 102.11(1)(am) 2 Wis. Stats.

Department of Workforce Development
Worker’s Compensation Division
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s This a Regular Schedule®?

Week 1 - 25 hours
Week 2 — 25 hours
Week 3 — 20 hours
Week 4 — 25 hours
Week &5 — 25 hours
Week 6 — 26 hours
Week 7 — 25 hours
Week 8 — 25 hours
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s This a Regular Schedule®?

Week 1 - 25 hours
Week 2 — 25 hours
Week 3 — 20 hours
Week 4 — 25 hours
Week &5 — 25 hours
Week 6 — 26 hours
Week 7 — 25 hours
Week 8 — 25 hours

« Minimum: 20
« Maximum: 26

« NOT a regular
schedule, so not
a part of class.
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s This a Regular Schedule®?

Week 1 - 19 hours
Week 2 — 20 hours
Week 3 - 21 hours
Week 4 — 22 hours
Week 5 — 23 hours
Week 6 — 24 hours
Week 7 — 25 hours
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s This a Regular Schedule®?

Week 1 - 19 hours
Week 2 — 20 hours
Week 3 - 21 hours
Week 4 — 22 hours
Week 5 — 23 hours
Week 6 — 24 hours
Week 7 — 25 hours

* Minimum: 19
« Maximum: 25

 NOT aregular
schedule, so not
a part of class.
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s This a Regular Schedule®?

This is a biweekly schedulel

* Period 1 -70 hours
* Period 2 - 66 hours
* Period 3-72 hours
* Period 4 — 64 hours
* Period 5-72 hours
* Period 6 — 68 hours
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s This a Regular Schedule®?

This is a biweekly schedulel

« Period 1 =70 hours
 Period 2 - 66 hours

e Minimum: 64
¢ Maximum: 72
» For biweekly pay periods,

» Period 3-72 hours we look for a variance of

. Period 4 — 64 hoUrs more than 10 hours.

. Period 5 — 72 hours » Thisis a regular schedule.
Pending ofther requirements,

* Period 6 — 68 hours may be a part of class.
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Expansion

« Part of class
o Expanded to 24 hours or regularly scheduled hours

o Whichever is greater

* |f not a part of class, hours are expanded to full-time
(presumed 40 hours for most workers)

« Gross earnings always apply if average actual earnings
are higher than hourly rate x scheduled hours
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Self-restriction

 Way fto reduce expanded hours to average actudl
earnings or to regularly scheduled hours

« Voluntary for employee to fill out
« Restrictions and exceptions on when it can be applied

« Only applies to temporary disability benefits (not PPD)
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Self-restriction (cont.)

 Employees who restrict themselves to part-time work on
the labor market are eligible to have restricted claims

* Must voluntarily restrict to part-time work at the time of
injury
* Must be signed by employee (or legal guardian)

» Restricted rate is paid at 100% of regular schedule or
average actual earnings, whichever is higher

« Can only be applied by a wage analyst
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TEST INSURER 2
C/O TEST INSURER 2
123 JENNIFER ST
MADISON WI 53703

WC CLAIM NO: 9999-999999 IF YOU CALL OR WRITE US
INJURY DATE: 01/01/98 PLEASE USE WC CLAIM NO.
EMPLOYEE: SIMPLES-SAMPLER, TESTER SAMPLE

EMPLOYER: SAMPLE EMPLOYER

INSURER NO:

You advised us that you are paying worker's compensation benefits at 100% of the employee's actual wage. This is correct if at
the time of the injury the employee restricted his or her availability to part-time work and was not employed elsewhere.

However, you did not include the required self-restriction statement from the employee. Please send us a self-restriction
statement immediately.

If we do not receive a reply within 30 days, we will assume that the employee did not self-restrict, and we will increase the
weekly rate to either two-thirds of the wages for 24 hours of work (if the employee was part of a class at the time of injury) or
two-thirds of the wages for full-time work (usually 40 hours).
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EMPLOYEE NAME:
EMPLOYEE S.S. #™:
DATE OF INJURY:

This form is needed to properly compute the wage for your Worker's Compensation benefits.
Please answer the following questions, sign, date and return to your insurance carrier or self-insured

employer.

1. At the time of your injury. did you limit your availability in the labor market to part-time work or
to work only with the employer where you were injured ?
[(Jyes [INo

If yes, explain your limitation:

2! At the time of your injury, were you also employed by another employer or self-employed?
[[Jyes [INo

If Yes, please provide us with the name and address of your other employer below:
Employer Name:

Employer Address:

Signed Phone Number: ( )
Area Code

Dated
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Self-restriction Eligibility

« Cannot have two jobs
« If no regular schedule, must have worked at least six (6) full weeks

« TID rate cannot exceed what it would be if hours were expanded
to full fime

o Recent part-time workers, or those who keep high number of hours, may not
be eligible

o If you receive an error that an employee cannot restrict, this is usually why

« Self-restriction does not affect the PPD rate. PPD will be calculated
based on a non-restricted AWW
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Self-restriction Eligibility (cont.)
Scenario: Employee as Part of Class

« Employee keeps a regular schedule of

« AWW: $240 18 hours per week
« TTD: $160 « Earns $10.00 per hour
« PPD: $160 « Employee is part of a class, so earnings
- Earned $9,360 are expanded to $240 per week
in 52 weeks « Cannot self-restrict: 100% of $180 (18
hours x $10.00/hour) is more than 2/3 of
$240 ($160)
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Self-restriction Eligibility (cont.)

Scenario: Employee Not Part of Class

« AWW: $400 « Employee keeps a regular schedule
(prestp’rion) of 18 hours per week
« TTD: $180  Earns $10.00 per hour
« PPD: $266.67 « Employee is NOT part of a class, so
. Earned $9,340 earnings expansion to full time
in 52 weeks « Can self-restrict
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Self-restriction Eligibility (cont.)

Scenario: Employee Not Part of Class; Irregular Schedule

« AWW: $650 » No regular schedule

« TTD: $433.33 « Earned $26,000 in 52 weeks

* PPD: $362 - Cannot restrict since $26,000
« $16.25 per hour divided by 52 is $500 and is

higher than TID rate
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Self-restriction Eligibility (cont.)

Cannot accepft self-restriction forms that:
« Reference the injury as areason
o “Doctor said | couldn’t work full fime”

« Reference not being able to find full time work
o "Employer only had part-time work available”
« Aren’t signed by the employee (or legal guardian)

« Are coercive or misleading
o Must give an option to select yes or no
o Cannot imply stoppage of benefits if not filled out
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Calculating Wage: Temporary Partial Disabllity

Wage loss for Temporary Partial
Disabllity (TPD) is calculated
differently from wage loss for

Temporary Total Disabillity (TTD).
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Calculating Wage: Temporary Partial Disabllity

« TPD - for a temporary period of fime, the injured worker is
earning less than before the injury

o Temporary because injured worker has not reached end of
healing

« Doctor has issued temporary restrictions that employer
can accommodate, but injured worker is either:

o Working fewer hours, and/or

o Working a job that pays less than their pre-injury job.

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV




Calculating Wage: Temporary Partial Disabllity

« When AWW is based on expanded hours, the TPD wage is
used to calculate actual wage loss

« Use actual average weekly wages or regular schedule x
hourly rate at fime of injury, whichever is higher

« TTD rate remains two-thirds of expanded AWW

« Only part-time claims with expanded hours have a TPD
wage different from AWW
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TPD Based on Actual Earnings

Warehouse worker — more than 27 years old

$12.00 per hour — part time worker

Variable schedule

$3,000 earned in 10 weeks

Regular full-time employees work 40 hours
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TPD Based on Actual Earnings

« AWW: $480
« TTD rate: $320
 PPD rate: $320

« TPD wage is based on earnings of $3,000 earned over 10
weeks

« TPD wage: $300
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TPD with Regular Schedule

 Warehouse worker — more than 27 years old
« $12.00 per hour

« Regular schedule of 30 hours per week

* No other part-time workers

« $3,000 earned in 10 weeks

« Regular full-time employees work 40 hours
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TPD with Regular Schedule

« AWW: $480
« TTD rate: $320
 PPD rate: $320

« TPD wage is based on $12.00 per hour x regular schedule
of 30 hours

« TPD wage: $360
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Questions?
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Stand up and move around!

(return in 5 minutes, please)
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Exceptional Basis of Pay

« These are specific careers that may have particular rules
that calculate their average weekly wage (AWW)
differently from other jobs.

« On the WKC-13A, select the "Exceptional Basis of Pay”
scenario from the drop-down box in Section 1, Number 5.
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All the “Exceptional” Scenarios

Coach - Only

Newspaper Carrier - PT

School Bus Driver - PT

Commission Only — FT

Other

School Crossing Guard - PT

Commission Only — PT

Paid By The Mile - FT

Sheltered Employee - PT

Flight Attendant - PT

Paid by The Mile - PT

Sole Proprietor
(Business Owners)

K-12 Cafeteria Worker —

oT Prisoner Taxicab Driver
K-12Teacher and Pro & Semi-Pro Athlete Trucker - Owned Truck
Coach

K-12 Teacher Only

Pulp Cutter

Volunteer Fire Fighter/ EMT
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Assuming Part of Class

« Some of these Exceptional Employment options assume

an employee is a Part of Class regardless of the number
of other employees working there.

* |f they do not keep a schedule, though, they will lose their
Part of Class status.
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Commission-Only & Paid by the Mile

« These workers have no set rate of pay — they are paid on
commission or by the mile.

« If they are full time, AWW is based on their gross/weeks
worked. Hourly rate x hours would not be considered.

« If they have worked fewer than six (6) weeks (i.e., cannot
use gross), send similar wages of a like employee

 If they are part-time, hourly rate is calculated by dividing
gross earnings by hours worked.
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Teachers/School Workers

« Remember, the number of weeks entered on the WKC-
13A is the weeks worked. Teachers typically work 38
weeks.

« Paychecks do not reflect the
number of weeks worked.
Teachers can opt to have their
contract paid out throughout
the school year (38 weeks) or
the whole year (52 weeks).
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Teachers/School Workers

« Depending on how much of the contract has been
worked, the gross earnings of tfeachers who have worked
less than a year may not match the earnings shown on
their paychecks.

See example on next slide.
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Teacher Example

TEACHER A TEACHER B

« Confract: $38,000 for 38 weeks « Confract: $38,000 for 38 weeks
of work of work

« Paychecks issued over 38 weeks ¢ Paychecks issued over 52 weeks
($1000/week for 38 weeks) ($730.77/week for 52 weeks)

* Injured halftway through school ¢ Injured halfway through school
year, fulfilling 50% of contract year, fulfiling 50% of contract

« Paychecks show gross of « Paychecks show gross of
$19,000 $13,884
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Business Owners

« AWW based on Net Profit reported on their taxes for the
tax year prior to year of injury.

« Typically reported on either Schedule C or Schedule K-1.
We will ask you to provide a copy of this.

« Minimum wage (AWW: $290) is the lowest we will set their
AWW,

 |f owners refuse to furnish the proper tfax documents,
wage will be set to minimum wage.
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Volunteer/Paid On-Call Firefighters and
Emergency Rescue Workers

« AWW set to the maximum rate for the year of injury, or we
will accept full-time wages from the nearest full-time/
career fire department.

« When submitting WKC-13A, note which fire department
you contacted to obtain the full-time wages.

« Refer to handout for more detailed information on why
we handle volunteer rescue worker wages this way.
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Questions?

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV



WISCONSIN

Add Ons

KEITH KINION
DANIELLE CORONA

SCOTT BRIDGES
Wage Analysts, Division of Worker's Compensation




Overview

Piecework

Seasonal Employment

Tips

Room and Board

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV




Piecework

* Any job performed without an hourly rate

« Workers are paid by their production

* Frequently seen in manufacturing and consfruction
« Can also occur with jobs like dog groomers

* Any job where someone is paid for a task instead of for
time worked
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Pliecework (cont.)

* Piecework pay is converted to an hourly rate based on
total earnings and hours worked

« Determine the hourly rate by dividing the total regular
earnings within the prior 5§2-week period by the number of
hours worked

« Part-time workers: Keep track of hours actually worked;
otherwise, AWW cannot be calculated
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Seasonal Employment

« Seasonal work is not someone working part-time around
the holidays, or most summer jolbs when not in school.

« Seasonal employment is work which:

o Can only be done at certain times of the year, and

o Does not cover a period of more than 14 weeks.
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Seasonal Employment (cont.)

« Seasonal employment is usually connected with the
canning industry, but is also used for harvesting
(cranberries, ice, Christmas trees, apples, etc.)
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Seasonal Employment (cont.)

* |n seasonal work, the number of hours worked per week
can vary wildly, so Division policy is to use 44 hours as an
approximation.

* A 44-hour week is used as a reasonable average. Hourly
rate x 44 sets the AWW. Gross earnings are not
considered at all.
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Additional fo Cash Wage - Tips

 Tips are calculated in addition to hourly rate.

* Tips must be reported by either employee or employer
and must be taxed to be considered in the AWW.

« When reporting gross earnings on the WKC-13A, do not
include tips.
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Tips (cont.)
« Calculate actual fips per week and actual hours worked
per week to determine tipped hourly rate.

o Only count hours where tips were possible if multiple positions
were worked.

» Tipped hourly rate is added to base rate earned at the
time of injury.

« For cab drivers with no tips reported, Division policy is to
add 15% in lieu of tips.
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Exercise — Part-time Tips

Start

End

Week Week Week Hours | Gross Tips
| 3/17/19 | 3/23/19 | 12.3 $28.66| $122.61
2 3/10/19 | 3/16/19 | 7.5 $17.48 $50.26
3 3/3/19 | 3/9/19 15 $34.95| $122.99
4 2/24/19 | 3/2/19 22 $51.26| $177.57
S 2/17/19 | 2/23/19 19 $44.27| $144.21
6 2/10/19 | 2/16/19 | 20 $46.60| $118.34
/ 2/3/19 | 2/9/19 | 19.5 $45.44| $109.22
8 1/27/19 | 2/2/19 17 $39.61| $134.36
9 1/20/19 | 1/26/19 | 22 $51.26| $170.41
10 [ 1/13/19 | 1/19/19 | &.7 $13.28 $77.23
10 160 | $372.81|51227.20

« 2/-year-old server

* Has a separate full-time job
« Date of Hire: 1/14/19

« Date of Injury: 3/25/19

Tipped hourly rate:

Total hourly rate:
TPD Wage:
AWW:

TTD:

PPD:
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Exercise — Part-time Tips

Week v?[t:er:( V\Eg:k Hours | Gross Tips

| 3/17/19 | 3/23/19 | 12.3 $28.66| $122.61
2 3/10/19 | 3/16/19 | 7.5 $17.48 $50.26
3 3/3/19 | 3/9/19 15 $34.95| $122.99
4 2/24/19 | 3/2/19 22 $51.26| $177.57
S 2/17/19 | 2/23/19 19 $44.27| $144.21
6 2/10/19 | 2/16/19 20 $46.60| $118.34
/ 2/3/19 | 2/9/19 19.5 $45.44| $109.22
8 1/27/19 | 2/2/19 17 $39.61| $134.36
9 1/20/19 | 1/26/19 22 $51.26| $170.41
10 | 1/13/19| 1/19/19 | &.7 $13.28 $77.23
10 160 | $372.81(51227.20

27-year-old server

Has a separate full-time job
Date of Hire: 1/14/19

Date of Injury: 3/25/19

Tipped hourly rate: __$2.33
Total hourly rate: ___$10.00
TPD Wage: $160
AWW: $400
TID: $266.67
PPD: $266.67

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV




Addition to Cash Wage — Non-cash Payments

« Non-cash wages are not included in calculating the
AWW if the benefits are continued.

» |f the benefits are not continued, then their equivalent
value is effectively added to the gross earnings.

« For varying payments such as utilities or phone plans,
count the actual amount paid over the previous 52-week
period.
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Addition to Cash Wage — House or Aparfiment

 Employer to determine value. Check it housing is shared;
value of housing is total cost of rent or mortgage
payments divided by number of people in the household.

« See if Utilities, telephone, etc. are included in the contract
for hire. If so:

o Divide payment (total cost or monthly rate) by number of weeks.
Included in Section 3 of WKC-13A.
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Additional Items of Value - Room and Board

« Room and board is set by DWD 272.03 for minimum
wage.

* As with other non-cash benefits, does not need to be
iIncluded in AWW if the benefits are continued.

 Discounted meals are not counted.
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Wisconsin Maximum Allowances for Board and Lodging

Effective July 24, 2009

Non-Agricultural Employment

Non-Opportunity Employees Opportunity Employees
Meals $87.00 Per Week $70.80 Per Week
$4.15 Per Meal $3.35 Per Meal
$58.00 Per Week $47.20 Per Week
Lodging $8.30 Per Day $6.75 Per Day
Agricultural Employment
All Employees
$87.00 Per Week
Meals $4.15 Per Meal
$58.00 Per Week
Lodging $8.30 Per Day
Camp Counselor Employment
Weekly Salary for All Employees [Adults and Minors]
Board & Lodging Board Only No Board or Lodging
Salary Rates $210.00 $265.00 $350.00
When board or lodging provided by an employer is ac pted and r ived by an employee, the

employer is permitted to deduct up to the above amounts from the worker’'s paycheck. The amounts
deducted are used to determine if the employee is receiving the required minimum wage rates.
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Questions?

KEITH KINION
(608) 405-4126
keithc.kinion@dwd.wisconsin.gov

DANIELLE CORONA
(608) 405-4128
danielle.corona@dwd.wisconsin.gov

SCOTT BRIDGES
(608) 405-4610
scoftt.bridges@dwd.wisconsin.gov
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