Legislative Proposals from the Public and Legislators for WCAC Consideration in 2025-2026 7.17.25

	Statute/Rule	Торіс	Proposal	Source	Date
1.	102.17 (1) (d)	Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRN) & Physician Assistants (PA)	Authorize advanced practice registered nurses and physician assistants to give opinions on cause and extent of disability.	Phil McQuillen, Claims Manager, Sentry Insurance	e-mail message 6/5/24
2.	102.44 (1m)	Supplemental Benefits	 Change the law to ensure that Supplemental Benefits are increased on a regular periodic basis and to regularly include additional employees into the Supplemental Benefit program. Appoint an economist to study the value of the savings resulting from decreased worker's compensation insurance premiums over the last nine (9) years. 	Brad Harrell Bob Hurley John Eiden Tim Moore	Letter 6/24/24
3.	102.44 (1m)	Supplemental Benefits	Provide cost of living adjustments (COLA) each year for employees receiving compensation for permanent total disability (PTD)	Robert Hurley	e-mail message 12/4/24

4.	102.17 (1) (d)	Doctor of Audiology (Au.D.)	Authorize Doctors of Audiology to sign WKC-16-B forms for worker's compensation hearing loss cases.	Dr. Veronica Heide Au.D., President, Wisconsin Academy of Audiology & Dr. Meredy Hase, Au.D., Board Member, Wisconsin Academy of Audiology	Letter 11/15/24 & Public Hearing 12/10/24
5.	102.44 (1) (ag) & 102.59 (1)	Supplemental Benefits	Change the law to authorize employees receiving compensation for permanent total disability (PTD) from the Second Injury Fund under s. 102.59 (1), Wis. Stats., to also receive supplemental benefits under s. 102.44 (1) (ag), Wis. Stats.	Barbara Wasmund & Attorney John D. Neal Stafford, Neal and Soule, Madison, WI	Letter 12/4/24
6.	102.175 (3)	Pre-Existing Conditions	Create protection for employers and worker's compensation insurance carriers from claims by employees with pre- existing conditions. Establish a legal process for hiring disclosures from employees to protect employers.	Stefan Benson	e-mail message 12/5/2024

7.	1. 102.13 (1)	1.Independent Medical Exams (IME)	 *All IME examinations must be performed by doctors licensed in Wisconsin. * All doctors who perform IME examinations must practice at least 50% of their time in Wisconsin. *Prohibit file review IME evaluations or limit benefit denials. *Prohibit IME examinations for first 90 days following the injury date. *Prohibit IME examinations more than 90 days after an injured employee is released from care. *Authorize an employee's friend, family member or attorney to be present during IME examinations. *Limit charges for IME examinations and file reviews to \$1,500. *Do not allow retroactive directives after IME examinations. *Benefit denials should only be allowed from the IME examination date going forward. *When the examining doctor's opinion denies benefit eligibility there should be a way for the employee to contest the opinion such as the State appointing a doctor under s. 102.13 (3), Wis. Stats. * When two (2) or more doctors have the same opinion, the preponderance of evidence controls over another doctor with a different opinion. 	Dr. Kelly Von- Schilling Worth, Spine and Joint Institute	Public Hearing 12/10/24 & e-mail messages 1/4/25 & 1/8/25
	2. 102.44 (4m) & DWD 80.32	2. Minimum Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) Ratings	2. The updates to the minimum permanent partial disability (PPD) ratings developed by the Health Care Provider Advisory Committee (HCPAC) should be approved by the WCAC.		
	3. 102.42 (2)	3. Choice of Treating Practitioner	 3.*Injured employees must be allowed to have the choice to select their own treating practitioner. Authorize letters of protection to be issued to providers. * Employees cannot be fired for preserving their right to see their own doctor. If this occurs the DWD or State appoints legal counsel for the employee, notice is issued to the employer, an investigation is conducted, employers are fined \$10,000 for violations, and attorney fees will be paid by the employer. 		

7.	3. 102.42 (2)	3. Choice of Treating Practitioner	*Employees cannot be fired for preserving their rights to file a worker's compensation claim. If this occurs the DWD or State appoints legal counsel for the employee, notice is issued to the employer, an investigation is conducted, a bad faith claim is filed, employers are fined \$10,000, and attorney fees are paid by the employer. *Nurse case managers should not be allowed to self-direct treatment for injured employees. If this occurs sanctions for fines to be imposed such as \$500 per violation. *Nurse case managers should not be allowed to visit injured employees at their homes, especially when visits are unannounced. *Claims adjusters cannot be permitted to direct treatment for injured employees. If this occurs based on evidence from voice mail messages, text or written statements from injured employees following an investigation, sanctions may be imposed under bad faith for a \$5,000 penalty.	Dr. Kelly Von- Schilling Worth, Spine and Joint Institute	Public Hearing 12/10/24 & e-mail messages 1/4/25 & 1/8/25
	4. 102.16 (2m) & DWD 81	4. Worker's Compensation Treatment Guidelines	4. Establish worker's compensation treatment guidelines for lower extremities that the Health Care Provider Advisory Committee (HCPAC) has been working on to develop.		
	5. 102.18 (1) (bp) & DWD 80.70	5. Bad Faith	5. Create a process for injured employees to dispute unreasonable denials of treatment and to have treatment resumed.		

8.	102.17 (9)	PTSD Coverage for EMS Personnel	EMS personnel should have the same worker's compensation coverage for PTSD that law enforcement and full-time firefighters received in 2021 Wis. Act 29.	Chanse Kaczmarski, Fitch- Rona EMS, Board of Directors, Wisconsin EMS	Public Hearing 12/10/24
9.	102.17 (9)	PTSD Coverage for EMS Personnel & Part-Time and Volunteer Firefighters	EMS personnel, part-time firefighters, and volunteer fire fighters should receive the same worker's compensation coverage for PTSD that full-time fire fighters were provided in 2021 Wis. Act 29.	Lt. Devan Anders, Deer-Grove EMS	Public Hearing 12/10/24
10.	102.17 (9)	PTSD Coverage for Volunteer EMT Personnel & Firefighters	Volunteer EMT personnel and volunteer fire fighters should receive the same worker's compensation coverage for PTSD as full-time fire fighters were provided in 2021 Wis. Act 29.	Ron Hampton, Chief, Cassville Volunteer Fire Department, and Board of Directors, Wisconsin State Fire Fighters Association	Public Hearing 12/10/24
11.	102.17 (9)	PTSD Coverage for EMS Personnel	All EMS personnel should receive the same worker's compensation coverage for PTSD as full-time fire fighters were provided in 2021 Wis. Act 29.	Alan De Young, Executive Director, Wisconsin Emergency Medical Services Association (WEMSA)	Public Hearing 12/10/24 e-mail message 12/11/24 & Letter 1/10/25
12.	No Current Statute or Rule	Medical Fee Schedule	Adopt a medical fee schedule to control health care costs within the worker's compensation system.	Willard T. Walker, CEO, Walker Forge, Inc.	e-mail message 12/18/24

13.	No Current Statute or Rule	Medical Fee Schedule	Decrease worker's compensation costs by lowering healthcare expenditures. A medical fee schedule could limit what providers can charge to treat injured workers.	Douglas Fearing, CEO, Fearing Audio Video Security	e-mail message 12/18/24
14.	No Current Statute or Rule	Medical Costs	Mitigate the high costs for health care and worker's compensation.	Rob Peaslee, CEO, Manitowoc Grey Iron Foundry	e-mail message 12/19/24
15.	102.17 (9)	PTSD Coverage for EMS Personnel & Other Public Safety Employees	Provide worker's compensation coverage for PTSD to emergency medical service practitioners and fire fighters regardless of their level of employment or volunteer status, dispatchers, corrections officers, medical examiners, and coroners as provided in 2021 SB-681 and 2024 SB-992.	Senator Andre Jacque, Wisconsin State Senate, District 1	Letter 1/3/25
16.	102.17 (9)	PTSD Coverage for EMS & All Firefighters	Extend worker's compensation coverage for PTSD to all emergency medical service (EMS) practitioners and firefighters, including volunteers.	Nicole Gullickson, NRP, CCEMT-P, EMS Director, Northwestern Municipal EMS, Inc.	Letter 1/6/25
17.	No Current Statute or Rule	Medical Costs	Control high costs from medical providers.	Bur Zeratsky, President, National Rivet	e-mail message 1/7/25
18.	No Current Statute or Rule	Medical Fee Schedule	Include a medical fee schedule in the Wisconsin Worker's Compensation system.	George Forish, VP, Precision Pattern Co.	e-mail message 1/7/25

	· · · · · ·	a		a	
19.	1. No Current	1. Opioid	1. Limit physician dispensed opioids at the lowest effective	Tiffany	Letter
	Statute or	Prescribing	dose to a seven (7) day supply per claim. Opioids dispensed	Grzybowski,	1/9/25
	Rule	Guidelines	beyond this limit should be deemed unnecessary treatment	Analyst, Advocacy	
			under s. 102.16 (2m), Wis. Stats.	and Compliance,	
				Healthe Systems	
	2. No Current	2. Opioid	2. Encourage adherence to the Wisconsin Medical Board		
	Statute or	Prescribing	Guidelines for prescribing opioids.		
	Rule	Guidelines			
	3. No Current	3. Education on	3. Educate injured workers about alternative therapies for		
	Statute or	Alternative	chronic pain to supplement or replace opioids.		
	Rule	Therapies			
	4. No Current	4. Discontinuing	4. Provide guidance on discontinuing opioid medications		
	Statute or	Opioid	after an IME recommendation that opioids are no longer		
	Rule	Medications	necessary.		
	5. No Current	5. Physician	5. Limit physician dispensed medications to a seven (7) day		
	Statute or	Dispensing	supply during the initial visit and within the first 10 days		
	Rule	Disperioling	following a work-related injury; Require prior authorization		
	i (dio		for physician dispensed medications in outpatient settings.		
			for physician dispensed medications in outpatient settings.		
	6. No Current	6. Limit Charges	6. Set reimbursement at AWP of original manufacturer's		
	Statute or	for Repackaged	NDC, or if unavailable, payment based on lowest priced		
	Rule	Drugs	therapeutic equivalent drug. Use language in 2014 AB-711.		
	Traic	Diugs			
	7. No Current	7. Compounded	7. Require preauthorization for compounded drugs and co-		
	Statute or	medications &	packaged kits; Limit reimbursement to rates established		
	Rule	Co-Packaged	based on the original National Drug Code (NDC). Use		
	TRUC	Drug Kits	language in 2014 AB-711.		
	8. No Current	8. Average	8. Amend s. 102.425 to include Medi-Span as another		
	Statute or	Wholesale price	average wholesale price (AWP) pricing source.		
	Rule	(AWP) Source	average wholesale price (Aver) pricing source.		
	ILUIG				
	9. No Current	9. Durable	9. Prohibit auto-shipping of Durable Medical Equipment		
	Statute or	Medical	(DME) related supplies and include the following language in		
	Rule	Equipment	a new section of ch. 102, "The auto-shipping of monthly		
	ITUIE	Lquipment	DME supplies is prohibited. An affirmative request from the		
			injured worker or prescribing provider is required."		
			injured worker of prescribing provider is required.		

20.	102.17 (9)	PTSD Coverage for Volunteer Firefighters, Emergency Medical Personnel & First Responders	Extend worker's compensation coverage for PTSD to volunteer fire fighters, emergency medical personnel, and first responders as was provided to full-time fire fighters.	Chris Klahn, President, Wisconsin State Firefighters Association	e-mail message 1/9/25
21.	1. 102.44 (4m) 2. No Current Statute or Rule 3.102.44 (4M) 4. 102.16 & DWD 80.03 5. No Current Statute or Rule	 Minimum Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) Ratings End Date on Permanent Total Disability (PTD) Payments Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) Ratings Compromise Settlements Utilization of Treatment Review Standard 	 Amend s. 102.44 (4m) (a) as follows, "At least once every 8 years t The department shall review and revise those permanent partial disability ratings at the direction of the Worker's Compensation Advisory Council as necessary to reflect the advances in the science of medicine." Set a limitation on the maximum number of weeks of eligibility or set a presumptive age of retirement (such as ending eligibility at "old age" Social Security) for ending compensation payments for PTD. Use the American Medical Association (AMA) guidelines for permanent disability which are periodically updated, managed on a much broader scale and used by 40 states. The parties that agree to a full and final compromise settlement should not be restricted by an unwritten threshold that a dispute exceeding 100 weeks is necessary to achieve approval of a full and final compromise settlement. The WCAC should act to establish language to codify a threshold in the statutes. Adopt appropriate utilization of treatment standards to address outliers in the medical provider community. An example of utilization of review standards is Illinois 820 ILCS 305/8.7 that provides a workable solution. 	Andrew Franken, President, Wisconsin Insurance Alliance	Letter 1/10/25

22.	No Current Statute or Rule	Medical Fee Schedule	A worker's compensation medical fee schedule should be adopted in Wisconsin.	Julie Schatz, Risk Management Consultant, Roberts & Crow, Inc.	e-mail message 1/9/25
23.	No Current Statute or Rule	Medical Fee Schedule	Establish a worker's compensation medical fee schedule.	Renae Langel, Vice President HR & Risk Management, Midwest Carriers	e-mail message 1/10/25
24.	No Current Statute or Rule	Medical Fee Schedule	Implement a worker's compensation medical fee schedule.	Rachael Lockwood, BSN, RN, Health Services & Benefits Manager, Waupaca Foundry, Inc.	e-mail message 1/10/25
25.	DWD 80.32 (2)	Minimum Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) Ratings	Amend s. DWD 80.32 (2) of the Wisconsin Administrative Code to remove the language from this subsection that allows for compensation for permanent partial disability (PPD) equivalent to amputation at the midpoint between the two (2) nearest joints where there is a functional prosthesis for upper or lower extremities.	Attorney William Sachse	e-mail message 2/6/25
26.	102.44 (1m)	Supplemental Benefits	Provide a cost of living increase every year to injured employees receiving permanent total disability (PTD).	Jimmie Rosko	e-mail message 2/18/25
27.	102.44 (1m)	Supplemental Benefits	Increase the supplemental benefit rate for employees who are receiving compensation for permanent and total disability (PTD).	Jimmy Novy	e-mail messages 4/14/25 & 5/27/25