
 Statute/Rule Topic Proposal Source Date 

1. No Current 
Statute or 
Rule 
 

Medical Fee 
Schedule 
 

Do not create or implement a medical fee schedule in the 
worker's compensation system in Wisconsin in the upcoming 
WCAC WC Agreed Upon Bill.  
 

Ed Maher, Vice-
President of 
Operations-
Wisconsin, ATI 
Physical Therapy  

Letter 
11/20/2018 
  

2. 
 
 
 
 
  

102.31 (7) 
        &  
DWD 80.61  
 

Contractor 
Controlled 
Insurance 
Program (Wrap-
up) 
 

Amend s. 102.31 (7), Wis. Stats., and s. DWD 80.61 of the 
Wisconsin Administrative Code to allow a contractor of a 
wrap-up project to sponsor the worker's compensation policy 
for work on that project in the same manner that the owner 
of the project can currently serve in that capacity.  

Lynne Grinsell, 
Assistant Vice 
President- State 
Affairs 
Government & 
Industry Affairs, 
Zurich North 
America 

Letter attached to 
e-mail message 
11/27/18  
 
 

3. 1. 102.14 (2) 
 
 
 
 
2. No Current 
Statute or 
Rule 
 
 
3. No Current 
Statute or 
Rule  
 
 
 
4. No Current 
Statute or 
Rule 

1.Worker's 
Compensation 
Advisory 
Council 
 
2. Medical Costs 
 
 
 
 
3. End Date on 
Permanent Total 
Disability  
 
 
 
4. Restrictions 
on Physician 
Dispensing 

1. The time-honored Agreed Upon Bill process for 
developing worker's compensation legislation via the 
Worker's Compensation Advisory Council (WCAC) should 
remain intact.  
 
2. Worker's compensation medical costs in Wisconsin are 
among the highest in the country and this deserves scrutiny. 
 
 
 
3. Put an end date on compensation payable for permanent 
total disability. 
 
 
 
 
4. There should be continued efforts to address the opioid 
crisis such as heightened restrictions on physician 
dispensing.  

Steve Schneider, 
American 
Insurance 
Association 
 
Mark Johnson, 
National 
Association of 
Mutual Insurance 
Companies 
 
Jeff Junkas, 
Property Casualty 
Insurers 
Association of 
America  
 
Andy Franken, 
Wisconsin 
Insurance Alliance  

Letter 11/30/18  

4. No Current 
Statute or 
Rule 
 

Medical Fee 
Schedule  

The WCAC should require the development of a medical fee 
schedule that approximates the average negotiated price for 
group health coverage in Wisconsin like that included in the 
2017-2018 WCAC WC Agreed Upon Bill.  

Brian Dake, 
Legislative 
Director, 
Wisconsin 
Independent 
Businesses 

Letter 12/3/18  
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5. 1. 102.57  
 
 
 
 
 
 
2. No Current 
Statute or 
Rule  
 
 
 
 
 
 
3. 102.32 
(6m) 

1. 15% 
Increased 
Compensation  
 
 
 
 
2. Write Offs of 
Medical Bills by 
Health Care 
Providers  
 
 
 
 
 
3. Interest Credit  

1.Increase the maximum award for 15% increased 
compensation from $15,000 to at least $25,000. 
Consideration should also be given to increasing the cap 
(currently $15,000) and the percentage of increased benefits 
(currently 15%) when an injury results in death.    
  
 
2. Develop a law that requires an insurance carrier, upon a 
finding of liability for the medical care, to pay the health care 
provider the amount of any bill that has been written off as a 
result of accepting payment from Medicare or Medicaid with 
an attorney fee of 20% to be paid on that amount to the 
successful attorney for producing the additional money for 
the health care provider. 
 
 
3. Eliminate the interest credit contained in s. 102.32 (6m), 
Wis. Stats., that allows insurance carriers to reduce 
payments for permanent partial disability that are paid 
before scheduled time of payment.  
 
 

Attorney John B. 
Edmondson  

Letter 12/3/18  

6. 1. No Current 
Statute or 
Rule  
 
2. No Current 
Statute or 
Rule  
 
3. No Current 
Statute or 
Rule 
 
 
4. No Current  
Statute or 
Rule  
 
 

1.Physician 
Dispensing  
 
 
2. Prescription 
Drug Formulary  
 
 
3. Limit 
Morphine 
Equivalent Dose 
(MED) 
 
4. Drug 
Compounding  

1. The WCAC should address and set parameters around 
physician dispensing of drugs and where an injured 
employee may obtain a prescription. 
 
2. Establish a prescription drug formulary to lower the cost of 
drugs while ensuring the quality of care for injured workers. 
 
 
3. To combat the opioid epidemic adopt rules to limit the 
morphine equivalent dose (MED) in prescribing opioids. 
 
 
 
4. Establish reimbursement limits per script or per 
ingredient, capping the total number of ingredients or the 
total cost per script or require prior authorization.  

Julian Roberts, 
President, 
American 
Association of 
Payers, 
Administrators and 
Networks   

Letter 12/3/18  
            



7 1.No Current 
Statute or 
Rule  
 
 
2. No Current 
Statute or 
Rule  
 
 
 
3. 102.425 
(3) (a) 1 
 
 
4. No Current 
Statute or 
Rule  
 
 
5.No Current 
Statute or 
Rule  
 
 
 
6. No Current 
Statute or 
Rule  
 
7. No Current 
Statute or 
Rule  

1.Limit Opioids 
for Short Term 
Use  
 
 
2. Limit 
Morphine 
Equivalent Dose 
(MED) & Supply 
Limitation  
 
3. Average 
Wholesale Price 
(AWP) Source  
 
4. Limit Charges 
for Repackaged 
Drugs  
 
 
5. 
Reimbursement 
for Convenience 
Packs & Kits 
 
 
6. Physician 
Dispensing 
Limitation  
 
7. 
Preauthorization 
for Physician 
Dispensed & 
Compounded 
Medications 

1.Limit opioids for short-term use only in the acute phase 
following severe injury or surgery, at the lowest effective 
dose of an immediate release opioid for shortest duration 
possible with treatment to be evaluated weekly. 
 
2. Establish a 50 morphine equivalent dose (MED) threshold 
for treatment of acute and chronic pain and establish a 
supply limitation of seven (7) days.  
   
 
 
3. Designate Medi-Span as the average wholesale price 
(AWP) drug pricing source. 
 
 
4. Create s. 102.425 (3) (am), Wis. Stats., covering charges 
for repackaged drugs using the same language that was 
contained in 2014 AB-71 (2013-2014 WCAC WC Agreed 
Upon Bill). 
 
5. Set reimbursement for convenience packs and kits based 
on the fee schedule rate applicable to the individual products 
contained in these. Supplies, including but not limited to, 
gloves, bandages and syringes are considered integral to 
the package and should not be separately reimbursable.  
 
6. Limit physician dispensed medications to a one (1) time 
seven (7) day supply at the initial visit within the first 10 days 
of an injury.  
 
7. Preauthorization should be required for all physician 
dispensed and compounded medications.  

Tracy Euler, 
Manager, 
Advocacy and 
Compliance, 
Healthesystems, 
LLC 

Letter 12/3/18 



8. 1. 
102.49(5) (c) 
          & 
    102.58 
 
 
 
 
 
 
2.  
102.49(5) (c) 
         & 
  102.32 (6m)  
 
 
 
3. 
102.49(5) (c) 
         & 
  102.32 (6m)  
 
 
 
4. No Current 
Statute or 
Rule  

1. Payment to 
WISBF  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
2. Interest Credit 
for Advance 
Payment to 
WISBF 
 
 
 
3. Lump Sum 
Payment to 
WISBF 
 
 
 
 
4. Health Care 
Provider Billing 
Statements  

1. In situations where an employee violates an employer's 
alcohol or drug use policy and this is casual to an 
employee's death, no death benefits are payable to the 
employee's dependent and the law should be amended to 
make it clear that no payment of the death benefit is to be 
made to the state treasurer (Work Injury Supplemental 
Benefit Fund) when the employee has no dependent(s).  
 
 
 
2. Authorize an interest credit to be applied for the 
prepayment of funds to the WISBF. 
 
 
 
 
 
3. Worker's compensation insurance carriers should be 
given the option to make one (1) lump sum payment of the 
entire amount due to the WISBF and be eligible for an 
interest credit for present value considerations.  
 
 
 
4. Require health care providers to provide billing 
statements to law firms. The following language is 
suggested:  
"All medical providers (including but not limited to hospitals, 
clinics, outpatient facilities, etc.) are required to provide the 
insurance company and by request their representatives, 
including nurse case managers, law firms, etc., a copy of the 
complete billing statement on either the HCFA or UB40 form 
without charge and within 30 days of the request. Any 
provider who refused to submit billing on either the HCFA or 
UB40 are barred from collection under Chapter 102."  

Mr. Andrew J. 
Franken, 
President, 
Wisconsin 
Insurance Alliance   

Letter 3/7/19 



9. 102.315 (2)  
 

WC Insurance 
Coverage for 
Employee 
Leasing 
Companies & 
PEOs 
 

Amend the law to allow small and mid-sized businesses that 
partner with an employee leasing company/ Professional 
Employer Organization (PEO) to maintain worker's 
compensation insurance coverage either through the 
employee leasing company/ PEO or for the client company 
to elect to assume the responsibility of providing the 
worker's compensation insurance coverage for leased 
employees in an arrangement with the employee leasing 
company/PEO. 

Mr. Justin Worrell, 
TriNet, Senior 
Regulatory Policy 
Manager 
 
 

WCAC Meeting 
3/12/19 
 
 

 


