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1. Once an employer is required to get insurance, how long does he or she have to keep it? 

Quite a while.  Once an employer becomes subject to the Wisconsin Worker�s Compensation Act (Act), he or 

she remains subject to the Act unless the employer withdraws from the provisions of the Act under s. 

102.05(1) of the Act.   

 

Under s. 102.04(1)(b) of the Act, an employer becomes subject to the Act and must carry a worker�s 

compensation insurance policy if: 

 

1) The employer usually employs three or more persons full-time or part-time. This employer needs 

insurance immediately upon employing a third person. 

 

2) The employer has one or two full-time or part-time employees and has paid gross combined wages of 

$500 or more in any calendar quarter for work done in Wisconsin.  This employer must have insurance by 

the 10th day of the first month of the next calendar quarter.  (There are four calendar quarters in a 

calendar year; the 1st quarter is January through March, the 2nd quarter is April through June, the 3rd 

quarter is July through September; and, the 4th quarter is October through December.) 

 

3) The farm (farmer) employs 6 or more employees (at one or more locations) on the same day for 20 days 

(consecutive or non-consecutive) during a calendar year.  A calendar year is January through December.  

This farmer must have insurance within 10 days after the 20th day of employment.  Some relatives of 

the farmer are not counted towards the 6 employees, but will be covered under a policy if one is 

purchased.  (See section 6 for farmer withdrawal information.)  

 

Once an employer is subject to the Act, the employer is required to have a worker�s compensation policy as 

long as he or she has one or more part-time or full-time employees.  Even if a subject employer has only one 

part-time employee making less than $500 per quarter, the employer must maintain the insurance for the 

remainder of that calendar year--and for the next calendar year--(a calendar year is January through 

December) before he or she is eligible to withdraw from being subject to the provisions of the Act. 

 

Once a farmer is subject to the Act, the farmer is required to have a worker�s compensation policy as long as 

he or she has one or more part-time or full-time employees.  Even if a subject farmer has only one part-time 

employee, the farmer must maintain the insurance until he or she has gone a full calendar year without 

employing 6 or more employees on 20 or more days before he or she is eligible to withdraw from being 

subject to the provisions of the Act. 
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2. When and how can an employer withdraw from the provisions of the Act? 

Under s. 102.05(1)1 of the Act, an employer who has not usually employed 3 employees and who has not 

paid wages of at least $500 for employment in Wisconsin in any calendar quarter in a calendar year--(a 

calendar year is January through December) may file a withdrawal notice with the department.  Stapleton 

Cheese Co. vs. Industrial. Comm., 249 Wis. 133 (1947) defines �usually employs three or more persons,� as 

employment of three persons for a single moment.  The withdrawal takes effect 30 days after the date the 

notice is filed or at such later date as is specified in the notice. 
 

Once the employer has gone a full calendar year without employing 3 or more employees or paying 

combined gross wages of $500 or more in any calendar quarter, the employer may drop insurance coverage 

by first filing a notice of withdrawal with the Worker�s Compensation Division, and then waiting 30 days.  If 

the withdrawal is approved by the Department, the employer must notify the insurance carrier of the date 

he or she wants the coverage cancelled.  If, for some reason, the employer wants to drop coverage more 

than 30 days later, the later date should be specified in the notice of withdrawal.  Employers should contact 

the Worker�s Compensation Division for the necessary withdrawal forms. 
 

Example:  On June 8, 2016, Employer Kelly drops from 3 employees to 1 employee.  During 

the rest of 2016 Kelly does not employ 3 or more employees and in the 3rd and 4th quarters 

of 2016 Kelly does not pay combined gross wages of $500 or more.  In 2017, Kelly does not 

employ 3 or more employees and does not pay gross combined wages of $500 or more in 

any of the 4 calendar quarters of the 2017 calendar year.  What is the earliest date Kelly can 

drop the insurance coverage? 
 

Analysis:  2016 is irrelevant.  What matters is that during 2017 Kelly did not employ 3 or 

more employees or pay combined gross wages of $500 or more in any calendar quarter 

during the 2017 calendar year.  The earliest Kelly is eligible to file a notice of withdrawal is 

January 1, 2018.  January 1st is a holiday and state offices are closed.  The earliest the notice 

can be received by the Worker�s Compensation Division is January 2, 2018.  The earliest the 

insurance coverage can be cancelled is 30 days later, or February 1, 2018. 

                                                      

1 102.05, Wis. Stats., Election by employer, withdrawal.  

(1)  An employer who has had no employee at any time within a continuous period of 2 years shall be deemed to have effected withdrawal, which 

shall be effective on the last day of such period.  An employer who has not usually employed 3 employees and who has not paid wages of at least 

$500 for employment in this state in every calendar quarter in a calendar year may file a withdrawal notice with the department, which 

withdrawal shall take effect 30 days after the date of such filing or at such later date as is specified in the notice.  If an employer who is subject to 

this chapter only because the employer elected to become subject to this chapter under sub.  (2) cancels or terminates his or her contract for the 

insurance of compensation under this chapter, that employer is deemed to have effected withdrawal, which shall be effective on the day after the 

contract is canceled or terminated. 

 

(2) Any employer who shall enter into a contract for the insurance of compensation, or against liability therefor, shall be deemed thereby to have 

elected to accept the provisions of this chapter, and such election shall include farm laborers, domestic servants and employees not in the course 

of a trade, business, profession or occupation of the employer if such intent is shown by the terms of the policy.  Such election shall remain in 

force until withdrawn in the manner provided in sub. (1). 

 

(3) Any person engaged in farming who has become subject to this chapter may withdraw by filing with the department a notice of withdrawal, if 

the person has not employed 6 or more employees as defined by s. 102.07 (5) on 20 or more days during the current or previous calendar year.  

Such withdrawal shall be effective 30 days after the date of receipt by the department, or at such later date as is specified in the notice.  Such 

person may again become subject to this chapter as provided by s. 102.04 (1) (c) and (e). 
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3. Can a corporation withdraw from the provisions of Act? 

No, corporations can not withdraw from the provision of the Worker�s Compensation Act. 

 

Closely held corporations (a corporation with not more than 10 stockholders) may file a �Corporate Officer 

Option Notice� if they have no more than two corporate officers and no other employees. 

 

If a corporation has more than ten shareholders, more than two corporate officers, or has any other 

employees, the corporation needs to carry worker�s compensation insurance. 

 

A corporate officer is considered an employee and is covered by the Act.  All worker�s compensation policies 

covering corporations include corporate officers.  However, in a closely held corporation, 1 or 2 officers may 

exclude themselves from coverage.  If the corporation has other employees or officers, an insurance policy is 

required and the exclusion for officers must be made by an endorsement on the corporation�s worker�s 

compensation policy.  The name of each excluded officer must be specified on the policy.  The exclusion will 

remain in effect for the policy period.  An officer who elects to exclude himself or herself is still an employee 

of the corporation.  An excluded officer is still counted as an employee and his or her wages are included for 

the purposes of determining whether the corporation has three or more employees or has paid gross 

combined wages of $500 or more in a calendar quarter under s. 102.04(1)(b) of the Act. 

 

If a closely held corporation has 1 or 2 corporate officers and has no other employees or officers, a worker�s 

compensation policy is not required if each officer elects not to be subject to the Act by filing the Notice of 

Corporate Officer Option with the Worker�s Compensation Division.  A corporation with more than 2 

corporate officers or any other employee or employees is not eligible to file a Notice of Corporate Officer 

Option and must maintain a worker�s compensation insurance policy. 

 

4. What if a subject employer lays off all or his or her employees and has no employees, is the employer 

still subject to the Act? 

Yes, once an employer becomes subject to the Act, the employer remains subject unless he or she withdraws 

from the provision of the Act. 

 

If a subject employer lays off all of his or her employees and has no employees, a worker�s compensation 

policy is not required.  However, the employer remains subject to the Act.  If, at a later date the employer 

hires an employee, he or she must have a worker�s compensation policy in effect on the first day the 

employee works. 

 

Under s. 102.05 of the Act, an employer who has had no employee at any time within a continuous period of 

2 years is be deemed to have effected withdrawal effective on the last day of the continuous 2 year period.  

The employer does not have to file notice of withdrawal with the Worker�s Compensation Division.  
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5. What if an employer becomes subject to the Act voluntarily by obtaining a worker�s compensation 

policy even though he or she was not required by the Act to have a policy? 

Under s. 102.05(1) of the Act, if an employer that becomes subject to Act only because he or she elected to 

become subject by obtaining a worker�s compensation policy, cancels or terminates the policy, that 

employer is deemed to have effected withdrawal.  The withdrawal shall be effective on the day after the 

contract is canceled or terminated.  The employer does not have to file notice of withdrawal with the 

Worker�s Compensation Division.  

 

6. Once a farmer is required to get insurance, how long does he or she have to keep it? 

Quite a while.  Once a farmer is required to obtain insurance, even if he or she permanently drops below 6 

employees, the farmer must maintain the insurance for the remainder of that calendar year--and for the next 

calendar year--before he or she is eligible to withdraw. 

 

Under s. 102.05(3)2 of the Act, once the farmer has gone a full calendar year without employing 6 or more 

employees on 20 days, the farmer may drop insurance coverage by first filing a notice of withdrawal with the 

Worker�s Compensation Division, and then waiting 30 days.  If the withdrawal is approved by the 

Department, the farmer must notify the insurance carrier of the date he or she wants the coverage cancelled.  

If, for some reason, the farmer wants to drop coverage more than 30 days later, the later date should be 

specified in the notice of withdrawal.  Farmers should contact the Worker�s Compensation Division for the 

necessary withdrawal forms. 

 

Example:   On July 8, 2016, Farmer Pat drops from 25 employees to 5 employees.  During 

the rest of 2016 there are 23 dates on which Pat has 6 or more employees.  In 2017, there 

are only 19 days on which Pat has 6 or more employees.  What is the earliest date Pat can 

drop the insurance coverage? 

 

Analysis:   The 23 days in 2016 after July 8th are irrelevant.  What matters is that during 

2017 Pat did not have 6 employees on 20 days.  The earliest Pat is eligible to file a notice of 

withdrawal is January 1, 2018.  January 1st is a holiday and state offices are closed.  The 

earliest the notice can be received by the Worker�s Compensation Division is January 2, 

2018.  The earliest the insurance coverage can be cancelled is 30 days later, or February 1, 

2018. 
 

7. How can I get more information about coverage under the Act? 

Contact the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development - Worker�s Compensation Division, Bureau of 

Insurance Programs in-person at GEF-1 State Office Building, Room C100, 201 E. Washington Avenue, Madison 

by mail at P.O. Box 7901, Madison, WI 53707-7901 or by phone at (608) 266-3046.  The Division also offers 

information online at: http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/wc 

 

DWD is an equal opportunity employer and service provider.  If you have a disability and need assistance with 

this information, please dial 7-1-1 for Wisconsin Relay Service.  Please contact the Worker's Compensation 

Division at (608) 266-1340 to request information in an alternate format, including translated to another 

language.

                                                      

2 102.05 (3), Wis. Stats.,  Any person engaged in farming who has become subject to this chapter may withdraw by filing with the department a 

notice of withdrawal, if the person has not employed 6 or more employees as defined by s. 102.07 (5) on 20 or more days during the current or 

previous calendar year.  Such withdrawal shall be effective 30 days after the date of receipt by the department, or at such later date as is specified 

in the notice.  Such person may again become subject to this chapter as provided by s. 102.04 (1) (c) and (e). 
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8. What are some of the key statutes regarding employer liability to carry worker�s compensation insurance 

under the Wisconsin Worker�s Compensation Act? 
 
Chapter 102  Worker�s Compensation   
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.03 Conditions of liability. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.03(2) Exclusive remedy, prevents an injured employee from suing an employer 

who has the required insurance in force at the time a work related injury 

occurs. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.04 Definition of employer, when an employer becomes subject to the Act. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.04(1)(c) Definition of when a farmer becomes subject to the Act. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.04(3) Definition of farming. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.05 Election by employer, withdrawal. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.05(3) Election by farmer, withdrawal. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.07 Definition of an employee. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.07(5) Definition of a farm employee. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.07(8)(b) Definition of an independent contractor. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.075 Election by sole proprietor, partner or member of limited liability 

company. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.076 Election by corporate officer, corporate officer option under the Act. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.28(2) Required insurance, subject employers must be insured by an insurance 

company authorized to write worker�s compensation in Wisconsin. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.28(3) Provision of Alternative Benefits, allows an exemption from the duty to 

insure religious sect members that qualify and are certified for an 

exemption. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.28(4) Closure Order, orders an employer to cease operations until the employer 

complies with s. 102.28(2)(a) by obtaining a worker�s compensation 

insurance policy. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.28(5) Employer�s liability. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.31 Worker's compensation insurance; policy regulations.  
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.80 Uninsured employers fund. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.81 Compensation for injured employee of uninsured employer. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.82(1)(2)(a) and (2)(ag) Uninsured employer payments, reimbursement of the UEF for payments 

made under s. 102.81 and penalty assessed an uninsured employer for a 

lapse of worker�s compensation insurance coverage. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.83 Collection of uninsured employer payments. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.835 Levy for delinquent payments. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 102.85 Uninsured employers; penalties, penalties and forfeitures for uninsured 

employers who fail to comply with the Act. 
 

DWD 80.62 (Administrative Code) Uninsured employers fund. 
 

DWD 80.65 (Administrative Code) Notice of cancellation or termination. 
 

 

 

Chapter 626 Rate regulation in worker's compensation insurance 
 

Wisconsin Statute 626.03 Scope of application. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 626.32 Development of rates by bureau. 
 

Wisconsin Statute 626.35 Worker's compensation insurance contracts. 


