Information & Assistance

You may find the following on our website:

https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/uinh

e WT-4 form.

e File specifications for
electronic reporting.

e Answers to frequently asked
questions.

Call Toll Free
(888) 300-4473

Staff are available to answer questions
Monday through Friday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Email
newhire@dwd.wisconsin.gov

(We cannot accept new hire reports
via email because email is not
considered a secure method)

The Wisconsin Employers' Overview
of the Child Support Program
contains information on wage withholding

To obtain a copy visit
https://dcf.wi.gov/files/publications/pdf/868.pdf

or call (608) 266-9909

Wisconsin New Hire Reporting
P.O. Box 14431
Madison, WI 53708

Call Toll Free
(888) 300-4473

Fax
(800) 277-8075

Website
https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/uinh

Email
newhire@dwd.wisconsin.gov
(We cannot accept new hire reports

via email because email is not
considered a secure method)
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NEW HIRE REPORTING

New Hire is a national program required by both
state and federal laws designed to quickly locate

parents with child support obligations.

New Hire information will also be used in the
administration of Social Security and public
assistance programs, and to detect and prevent
fraud within Unemployment Insurance and
potential other programs.

Accurate and timely reporting by employers is
essential for the continued success of the
program.

A Simple, Effective Process

e Employers submit information on every newly
hired or rehired employee to the
Department of Workforce Development.

¢ New Hire data is stored in the State
Directory and matched against state child
support cases.

¢ [f a match is found, a wage withholding
notice is sent to the employer for collection of
child support.

All states’ New Hire, quarterly wage and
Unemployment Insurance benefit data are
transmitted to the National Directory for
interstate matching and child support
enforcement.

Compliance

All employers with a FEIN (Federal Employer
Identification Number) must participate in New
Hire reporting.

An employee is any individual who is
considered an employee for federal income tax
withholding purposes.

A newly hired employee is:

¢ Any individual reporting to work with an
employer for the first time.

¢ Any individual rehired, recalled, or
returning to work after an unpaid interval of
more than 60 days. The hire date for this
type of employee is the return to work date.

New Hire reports are regularly compared against
wage files to identify reporting compliance.

Employers who have never reported to New Hire
should submit all current employees immediately
to ensure compliance.

Wisconsin law (s. 103.05 and Ch. DWD 142,
Wis. Adm. Code) requires employers to report
each employee hired 1998 or later. This is in
compliance with U.S. Code Title 42.

Reports Must Contain

Employee name.

Employee address.

Employee social security number.
Employee date of birth.

Employer name.

Employer payroll address.
Employer FEIN.

Date of hire.

Reporting Methods

Secure Internet Site
https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/uinh

e Enter individual new hire reports online.

e Transfer an entire file of new hire reports.
Paper

e WT-4.

e W-4 (be sure to include date of hire).

Other
e SSH File Transfer Protocol (SFTP) -
This method is recommended if you
upload many files, upload very large files,
or wish to automate file transfers.
e Diskette, CD-R, or Magnetic Tape.

Within 20 days after the date the employee starts
work. Incomplete reports are discarded.

Options for Multistate Employers

Federal legislation allows employers with
employees in more than one state the option to
choose a single state for all New Hire reporting.

More information is available on our web site at
https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/uinh or by calling
toll free (888) 300-4473.

e Internet reporting is very convenient and
eliminates mailing costs. Visit our web site at
https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/uinh.

Follow the links to New Hire to register for a
user password and start reporting online.

® The employer address on New Hire reports
will be used by Child Support Enforcement
agencies to send wage withholding notices.
Please consistently provide the best
employer address for this use on your New
Hire reports.

e Please do not include a cover sheet with
faxed reports.

e Duplicate reporting increases program
costs. Please do not submit an individual
report more than once within the last 60
days. When reporting re-hires, the
individual should be returning to work after
60 days of being laid off, furloughed,
separated, granted a leave without pay, or
terminated from employment.
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