
New Hire
REPORTING

for Wisconsin Employers

Wisconsin New Hire Reporting
P.O. Box 14431

Madison, WI 53708

Call Toll Free
1-888-300-4473

Web Site
http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/uinh/

Email
newhire@dwd.wisconsin.gov

DWD is an equal opportunity employer
and service provider.  If you have a 
disability and need information in an

alternate format or need it translated to
another language, please call

608/267-8997 or TTY 608/267-0477.

UCB 10677-P (R. 07/2012)

Information/Assistance

Receive New Hire information from the
Internet:
	 WT-4 form
	 File specifications for electronic
     reporting

Call Toll Free
1-888-300-4473

Staff available to answer questions
Monday through Friday

8:00am - 4:00pm

Web Site
http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/uinh/

Email
newhire@dwd.wisconsin.gov

The Employer’s Guide to Child Support
contains information on wage withholding.

To obtain a copy visit
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/bcs/

employer.htm

Or call 608-266-9909



New Hire Reporting
New Hire is a national program required by both 
state and federal laws designed to quickly locate 
parents with child support obligations.

New Hire information will also be used in the ad-
ministration of Social Security and public assis-
tance programs, and to detect and prevent fraud 
within Unemployment Insurance and potential 
other programs.

Accurate and timely reporting by employers 
is essential for the continued success of the 
program.

A Simple, Effective Process

	 Employers submit information on every 
newly hired or rehired employee to the De-
partment of Workforce Development.

	 New Hire data is stored in the State
Directory and matched against state child 
support cases.

	 If a match is found, a wage withholding no-
tice is sent to the employer for collection of 
child support.

All states’ New Hire, quarterly wage and
Unemployment Insurance benefit data are trans-
mitted to the National Directory for
interstate matching and child support
enforcement.

Compliance
All employers with a FEIN (Federal Employer 
Identification Number) must participate in New 
Hire reporting.

An employee is any individual who is
considered an employee for federal income
tax withholding purposes.

A newly hired employee is:
	 Any individual reporting to work with an em-

ployer for the first time.
	 Any individual rehired, recalled, or return-

ing to work after an unpaid interval of more 
than 60 days.  The hire date for this type of 
employee is the return to work date.

New Hire reports are regularly compared against 
wage files to identify reporting compliance.
Employers who have never reported to New Hire 
should submit all current employees immediately 
to ensure compliance.
Wisconsin law (s. 103.05 and Ch. DWD 142, 
Wis. Adm. Code) requires employers to report 
each employee hired 1998 or later.  This is in 
compliance with U.S. Code Title 42.

Reports Must Contain
	 Employee name
	 Employee address
	 Employee social security number
	 Employee date of birth
	 Employer name
	 Employer payroll address
	 Employer FEIN
	 Date of hire

	 Secure Internet Site
	 http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/uinh/
	 Key individual reports or transfer an entire 

file.  
	 Diskette, Magnetic Tape, Paper (forms 

WT-4, W4, or a list containing the required 
information).

Send reports to:
Wisconsin New Hire Reporting

P.O. Box 14431
Madison, WI 53708

Toll Free Fax:  1-800-277-8075

Due Dates

Within 20 days after the date the employee 
starts work.  Incomplete reports are discarded.

Options for Multistate Employers

Federal legislation allows employers with em-
ployees in more than one state the option to 
choose a single state for all New Hire reporting.

More information is available on our web site at 
http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/uinh/ or by calling 
toll free 1-888-300-4473.

Tips

	 Internet reporting is very convenient and 
eliminates mailing costs associated with 
paper forms, tapes and diskettes.  Visit our 
web site at http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/uinh/ 
Follow the links to New Hire to register for a 
user password and start reporting on-line.

	 The employer address on New Hire reports 
will be used by Child Support Enforcement 
agencies to send wage withholding notices.  
Please consistently provide the best
employer address for this use on your New 
Hire reports.

	 Please do not include a cover sheet with 
faxed reports.

	 Duplicate reporting increases program 
costs.  Please do not submit an individual 
report more than once per hire or rehire.

Reporting Methods


