
COMPLAINT STRATEGIES 
 

►For complaints or questions about a 
federally funded project under the Davis 
Bacon Act, CALL:  U.S. Department of 
Labor - Madison: 608-441-5221 
Milwaukee: 414-297-3585 

 
►For complaints or questions about 
working on a State Highway project, 
CALL:  Wisconsin Department  of 
Transportation - Madison: 608-266-6961 

 
►To file a complaint about your pay 
while working on a municipal or state 
building project or local street or 
sewer project,  CALL: Wisconsin 
Department of Workforce 
Development - Construction Wage 
Standards Section - Madison: 
608-266-6861 
 

If DWD concludes that your 
employer was in compliance with the 
law, you shall be charged for the 
investigation.  
 

PROTECT YOUR RIGHTS 
 

►Keep the following records: 
All your pay stubs 
The name & location of the project 
The dates & hours you worked, and 
The type of work you did on each 

“white sheet” project. 
 
►Your paycheck and/or pay stub must 
clearly state the following:   

The number of hours worked 
The rate of pay, and 
The amount of and reason for each 

deduction from wages due or earned 
(except for personal and 
miscellaneous deductions requested 
by you). 

 
►Your employer may not retaliate 
against you for providing information for 
an investigation under the prevailing 
wage laws.  This type of retaliation is 
subject to penalties under the law. 
 

HOW DWD ESTABLISHES 
PREVAILING WAGE RATES  

 
►Every year, DWD conducts a 
statewide survey of construction 
contractors’ wage rates. 
 
►DWD uses this survey data to 
determine the next year’s prevailing 
wage rates for all trades in each 
county. 
 
►Where possible, DWD includes 
future prevailing wage rates and 
effective dates. 
 
►DWD issues prevailing wage rate 
determinations on a project-by-
project basis. 

 
Visit our website for specific 

prevailing wage rate information: 
www.dwd.state.wi.us/er/ 

Programs:  Prevailing Wage 
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WAGE RATES 

 
►Not all public works projects re-
quire a prevailing wage rate 
determination.  Total project costs 
must meet a specific monetary 
threshold, which is determined each 
year.  For example, in 2008, 
$45,000 was the monetary 
threshold applied to a single trade 
project and $221,000 applied to a 
multiple trade project. 
 
►The prevailing wage rate for a 
trade consists of an hourly base 
rate and an hourly fringe benefit 
rate.  Your pay is the combined 
total hourly amount. 
 
►If you get no fringe benefits, you 
must be compensated in cash or 
any combination of cash and bona 
fide fringe benefits. 

 

 
►Project owners must post the 
prevailing wage rates (“White Sheet”) 
on the project site.  If impractical, the 
rates may be posted at a prominent 
community site. 
 
►You must be paid at least once 
every 31 days unless otherwise 
required in your union contract. 
 
►You may not accept less than the 
permitted prevailing wage rate or 
“kickback” earned wages to your 
employer or bank hours. 
 
►Your prevailing wage rate depends 
on your specific duties and not a job 
title. 

 

 
►You will not be paid a prevailing 
wage rate for travel time to and from 
the jobsite. 
 
►With DWD’s permission, contractors 
on some projects for some trades 
might employ subjourney persons at 
less than the prevailing wage or 
journeyperson’s rate. 
 
►State or federally approved 
apprentices can work on public works 
projects at less than the prevailing 
wage rate. 
 
►Truck drivers may qualify for 
prevailing wage rates depending on the 
material delivered and how it is 
distributed on the jobsite. 

 

                 OVERTIME 
 
►For all hours worked over 40 
hours in a week, you must be paid 
1½ times your regular pay rate or 
1½ times the hourly base rate plus 
the hourly fringe benefit rate for a 
public works project. 
 
►If you work more than 10 hours 
per day (Monday through Friday) on 
a public works project, you must 
receive 1½ times the hourly base 
rate plus the hourly fringe benefit 
rate for the extra hours. 
 
►If you work on Saturday and/or 
Sunday or any of the six nationally 
recognized holidays, you must 
receive 1½ times the hourly base 
rate plus the hourly fringe benefit 
rate for the excess hours. 

 
 
 


