DWD logo

Scott Walker, Governor
Reginald J. Newson, Secretary

Department of Workforce Development
Secretary's Office

201 E. Washington Avenue
P.O. Box 7946
Madison, WI 53707-7946
Telephone: (608) 266-3131
Fax: (608) 266-1784
Email: sec@dwd.wisconsin.gov

Monday, April 13, 2015
CONTACT: DWD Communications, 608-266-2722
On the Web: http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/dwd/news.htm
On Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/WIWorkforce
On Twitter: @WIWorkforce

Secretary Newson Congratulates 14 Wisconsin Corporate Safety Award Winners for 2014

Secretary Newson also congratulated the president of Johnsonville Sausage for being inducted into the Wisconsin Safety Hall of Fame

MADISON – Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development (DWD) Secretary Reggie Newson today congratulated 14 Wisconsin employers on winning a 2014 Wisconsin Corporate Safety award and Bill Morgan, President of Johnsonville Sausage, LLC for being honored as the 14th inductee into the Wisconsin Safety Hall of Fame.

“As more and more businesses expand in or into Wisconsin, workplace safety remains a top priority,” Secretary Newson said. “These employers have demonstrated that a successful business is also a safe business. I congratulate them on this well-deserved recognition, and for being examples that the rest of Wisconsin and the country can follow."

The Wisconsin Safety Council and DWD announced the 14 winners. DWD and the council, an educational division of the Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce, are co-sponsors of the annual award. The winners are:

Agropur Inc., Luxemburg
Alliant Energy Corporation - WPL, Madison
The Boldt Company, Appleton
Chr. Hansen, Inc., Milwaukee
Colony Brands, Inc., Monroe
Energis High Voltage Resources, Inc., Green Bay
ITU AbsorbTech, Inc., New Berlin
Lakehead Painting Company, Inc., Superior
Northeast Asphalt Inc., Greenville
Phillips-Medisize - Design Development Center, Hudson
Phillips-Medisize - Phillips Medical, Menomonie
Teel Plastics, Inc., Baraboo
Tyco Fire Protection Products, Marinette
USG Structural Technologies, LLC, Delevan

An independent panel of 33 safety, health, and human resource professionals selected the winners. A total of 117 submitted applications, and 80 advanced to the final round of judging by the panel. The 14 winners will receive their awards at the 73rd Annual Wisconsin Safety and Health Conference, set for April 21 and 22, 2015, at the Kalahari Resort and Convention Center, Wisconsin Dells.

As the state's talent development agency, DWD connects employers with a robust pool of skilled workers; assists job seekers with disabilities in achieving their employment outcomes; and oversees the state's Unemployment Insurance, Equal Rights and Worker's Compensation programs.

Email DWD DWD Photo Gallery DWD on Twitter DWD on Facebook DWD on YouTube DWD on LinkedIn DWD RSS Feed

A proud partner of the network