Wisconsin Apprenticeship Advisory Council

The Wisconsin Apprenticeship Advisory Council's mission is to advise the Department of Workforce Development on matters involving the Wisconsin Apprenticeship System, including the enactment of laws, rules, and standards. 

Council Composition

The Council is required by law to maintain the following composition:  

All members of the WI Apprenticeship Advisory Council must be persons who are familiar with apprenticeable occupations.   Employee and employer members serve three-year terms and are nominated by statewide trade associations, employer groups, the state labor organization, and community based organizations.  Only designated members of the Council are authorized to vote.  The Council generally meets three or four times a year, or more often as needed. 

Council Members


Employee Members

  • David Branson, Building&Construction Trades Council of South Central WI
  • Jim Cook, NECA IBEW Apprenticeship&Training
  • Michael Daily, United Steel Workers
  • Kilah Engelke, OPCMIA Local 599
  • Mark Kessenich, WI Regional Training Partnership
  • Brandon Mortenson, Harley-Davidson
  • Hollie O'Neill, IBEW 2150 WI Electric Power
  • Mark Wieseke, UAW Local 469

Employer Members

  • Ruben Anthony, Jr., Urban League of Greater Madison
  • Daniel Barker, Ariens Co.
  • Wayne Belanger, Associated Builders&Contractors of Wisconsin
  • Gert Grohman, Associated General Contractors of Greater Milwaukee
  • Callie Hellenbrand, Alliant Energy Corp.
  • Henry Hurt, Hurt Electric, Inc.
  • Gene Jacobson, Precision Drive&Control
  • Kathellen Pfannerstill, Toolcraft Co. Inc.
  • Chris Reader, Wisconsin Manufacturing&Commerce

Educational Representatives

Public Members

Council Subcommittees

Subcommittees are typically comprised of Council members, but may also include other apprenticeship stakeholders.

Career Pathways Subcommittee

Mission: Advise and develop a formal bridge between the Department of Workforce Development's Youth Apprenticeship and Registered Apprenticeship programs.

  • Ruben Anthony
  • David Branson
  • Leigh Emrick
  • Kilah Engelke
  • Terry Hayden
  • Mark Kessenich
  • Dawn Pratt
  • Mike Wagner

Educational Linkages Subcommittee

Mission: Develop critical linkages between the apprenticeship community and the secondary and post secondary educational system

  • Dan Barker
  • Gert Grohmann
  • Henry Hurt
  • Mark Kessenich
  • Brent Kindred
  • Carrie Morgan
  • Brandon Mortenson
  • Holly O'Neill
  • Elizabeth Roddy

Equal Access Subcommittee

Mission: Increase access, recruitment, training and retention of women and minorities in state approved apprenticeship programs.

  • Ruben Anthony
  • Dave Branson
  • Bill Cadotte
  • Michael Daily
  • Kilah Engelke
  • Tracy Griffith
  • Gert Grohmann
  • Callie Hellenbrand
  • Henry Hurt (Chair)
  • Nancy Nakkoul
  • Kathy Pfannerstill
  • Elizabeth Roddy

Outreach Subcommittee

Mission:  Promote apprenticeship opportunities into high growth areas.  Devlop outreach materials to assist applicants and sponsors.

  • Wayne Belanger
  • Bill Cadotte
  • Michael Daily
  • Kilah Engelke
  • Tracy Griffith
  • Mark Kessenich

Policy and Standards Subcommittee

Mission:  Review and provide recommendations to the DWD/Bureau of Apprenticeship Standards concerning apprenticeship regulations and policies.

  • Jim Cook
  • Leigh Emrick
  • Terry Hayden
  • Gene Jacobson
  • John Mielke
  • Nancy Nakkoul
  • Chris Reader
  • Kelly Tourdot
  • Mark Wieseke

Apprentice Applicants Employers / Sponsors Apprentices Veterans
Email DWD DWD Photo Gallery DWD on Twitter DWD on Facebook DWD on YouTube DWD on LinkedIn DWD RSS Feed

A proud partner of the network