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To: Corporate Offices for Insurance Carriers and Self Insured Employers
From: Frances Huntley-Cooper, Division Administrator
Subject: FY2009 Worker’'s Compensation Administrative Assessment

Purpose: To communicate to insurance carriers and self-insured employers the new rate and
assessment timing adjustment information for FY2009 through FY2014, along with the assessment
invoice. The assessment has traditionally been issued each year at the end of December. To
coordinate the annual assessment with the state fiscal year, beginning in 2008 the administrative
assessment will be issued one month earlier each year for the next six years to bring the issuance of
the assessment in line with the beginning of the state fiscal year — July 1st.

Background: Wisconsin Statute 102.75 authorizes the department to assess and collect the
administration costs for the Wisconsin Worker’'s Compensation Act from worker’'s compensation
insurance carriers and self-insured employers. Each company’s indemnity amount is determined by
summing the amounts paid for each “first closed” claim. Indemnity includes payments for temporary
total and partial disability, permanent total and partial disability, compromises, death benefits and
funeral expenses, paid holidays, supplemental benefits, disfigurement, and vocational rehabilitation.

The department’s worker’'s compensation administration assessment rate is then computed by
dividing the current fiscal year’s net operating cost by the total indemnity payments from carriers and
self-insurers for claims closed in the previous calendar year. The indemnity paid for 2007 first-closed
claims was $247,672,181. The Worker's Compensation Division’s net operating revenue to be
collected for FY 2009 is $13,120,000. Based on this calculation ($13,120,000 -:- $247,672,181), the
general assessment rate is 5.30%.

Self-insured employers are paying an additional 0.91% to cover the administrative cost of operating
the self-insured employers program. Each self-insured employer invoice also includes the $200 self-
insured renewal fee for July 1, 2008 through June 30, 2009.

Each company’s assessment amount was determined by multiplying its 2007 first-closed claims total
indemnity payments by the rate indicated. Each company’s claim detail listing is available on the
division’s web site (http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/wc) under “Assessment Reports”.

Action Requested: Your company’s assessment invoice for FY 2009 is enclosed. Payment
is due by December 31, 2008. Make your check payable to DWD-Worker's Compensation and
mail to the address on the invoice.

Inguiries: For questions on the assessment, contact Jean Culbert at 608-266-6898.

Enclosures: INVOICE

References: See Worker's Compensation Division Web Site for claim detail.



mailto:dwddwc@dwd.state.wi.us

