More New Hire Resources
Wisconsin New Hire Reporting
A program requiring employers to report newly hired employees to the State Directory of New Hires. For more details, see New Hire Program Overview.
Federal and state law requires all Wisconsin employers and
labor organizations with a Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) to
report within 20 days:
§ Each newly hired employee
§ Employees who are rehired after a separation of 60 days or more, including individuals who remain on the payroll during the separation
Report New Hires Online
Job Center of Wisconsin
Post job opportunities, and explore more resources to find employees.
HIRE (Hiring Incentives to Restore Employment) Act: Questions and Answers for Employers
The HIRE Act is NOT connected to the New Hire reporting program.
- WT-4 Form information
The WT-4 form IS intended for New Hire reporting.
- W-4 Form Information
The W-4 form CAN be used for New Hire reporting if it includes the employee's date of birth and date of hire.
- I-9 Form Information
The I-9 form typically is NOT adequate for New Hire reporting.
- Department of Workforce Development Information for Employers
- US Internal Revenue Service Information for Wisconsin Employers
- Employer Unemployment Insurance Accounts
New Hire reporting does not require an Unemployment Insurance account.
Wisconsin law requires employers to report each newly hired employee to the State Directory of New Hires within 20 days after the employee starts work.
Employers must also report employees who are rehired, recalled, or returning to work after an unpaid interval of more than 60 days.
For more information, see Reporting Fundamentals.
New Hire Online
- Secure Site / Password Protected
- Key individual reports, or send a file
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Toll Free Inquiry Line 1-888-300-4473
Specialists available Monday through Friday 8:00 am until 4:00pm (CST).