Child Labor Hours Limits Changed to Match Federal Law
Effective July 1, 2011
Effective July 1, 2011, Wisconsin’s child labor hours limitations will be the same as those under federal law.
The new law provides:
- Minors 16 years of age and over may not work during hours of required school attendance. Other than that, the law no longer limits either the daily or weekly hours, or the time of day that they may work. The law still allows the department to set meal and rest times. Under current rules, minors may not work longer than 6 consecutive hours without a 30-minute meal period during which they are completely relieved of duty. This does not change.
- Minors under 16 years of age are limited to working no more than 3 hours
per day on school days and no ore than 8 hours per day on non-school days.
- From the day after Labor Day through May 31, they may work no longer than 18 hours in a week (Sunday through Saturday) and their work must be between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m.
- From June 1 through Labor Day, they may work no longer than 40 hours in a week (Sunday through Saturday) and their work must be between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m.
Minors and Hazardous Work
Wisconsin's laws restricting minors under 18 from performing hazardous work have not been affected by these changes, nor has the requirement that minors obtain child labor permits prior to working in most occupations (other than agriculture or domestic service).
Child Labor Poster
A new child labor poster (ERD-9212-P) has been issued, effective July 1, 2011.