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The following comparison of federal and state Family and Medical Leave Acts (FMLA) 
presumes, in comparing any two provisions, that employer coverage and employee 
eligibility requirements have been met for both jurisdictions.  In addition, commonly 
asked questions and answers are included. 
 
Employers must comply with any provisions of state or local law that provide greater 
family or medical leave rights than the rights established by the federal FMLA.  The 
U.S. Department of Labor will not enforce state family and medical leave laws, and 
states may not enforce federal family and medical leave laws.  Employees have no 
obligation to designate whether the leave they are taking is federal or state FMLA 
leave.  Thus, employers covered by both federal and state FMLA must comply with the 
provisions of both. 
 
Further information on federal FMLA may be obtained by contacting the nearest office 
of the Wage and Hour Division, listed in most telephone directories under U.S. 
Government, Department of Labor, Employment Standards Administration. 
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MAJOR PROVISIONS OF FEDERAL AND STATE FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE LAWS 

Issues 
Federal 

Enforced by the U. S. Department of Labor. 

Wisconsin 
Enforced by the Department of 

Workforce Development 

Most Favorable 
to Employees. 

Employers Covered Employers of 50 or more employees in at least 20 weeks of 
current or preceding year. 

Employers of at least 50 permanent 
employees during at least 6 of the 
preceding 12 calendar months. 

See attached 
Questions and 
Answers. 

Employees Eligible Have worked for employer at least 1,250 hours in preceding 
12 months and employed for at least 12 months and 
employed at worksite by employer with 50 or more 
employees within 75 miles of that worksite. 

Have worked for employer at least 
1,000 hours in preceding 52 weeks 
and for at least 52 consecutive 
weeks.  

See attached 
Questions and 
Answers. 

Amount of Leave 12 weeks during a 12 month period. 
Leave for birth, adoption, or to care for sick parent or child
must be shared by spouses working for same employer. 

During a 12 month period. 
* 6 weeks for birth or adoption 
* 2 weeks for serious health condition 

of parent, child or spouse. 
* 2 weeks for employees own serious 

health condition. 

See attached 
Questions and 
Answers. 

Type of Leave Contact USDOL@ 608-441-5221 for inquiries. Birth, placement of child for adoption 
or foster care, to provide care for 
parent, child, spouse, domestic 
partner or parent of domestic partner 
with serious health condition, or 
employee's own serious health 
condition. 

Wisconsin 

Serious Health 
Condition 

(1). Illness, injury, impairment, or physical or mental condition 
involving incapacity or treatment connected with inpatient 
care in hospital or hospice. 

(2). Residential medical care in hospital, hospice, or residential 
medical care facility. 

(3). continuing treatment by a health care provider involving: 
(a). Incapacity or absence of more than 3 days from work, 

school, or other activities. 
(b). Chronic or long-term condition incurable, or so 

serious if not treated would result in incapacity of 
more than 3 days. 

(c). Prenatal care. 

Means a disabling physical or mental 
illness, injury, impairment, or 
condition involving inpatient care in a 
hospital, nursing home, hospice, or 
out patient care that requires 
continuing treatment or supervision 
by a health care provider. 

Comparable 

    
    



Issues 
Federal 

Enforced by the U. S. Department of Labor. 

Wisconsin 
Enforced by the Department of 

Workforce Development 

Most Favorable 
to Employees. 

Health Care Provider (1). doctors of medicine or osteopathy authorized to practice 
medicine or surgery in the State; 

(2). podiatrists, dentists, clinical psychologists, optometrists, 
chiropractors (for manual manipulation of spine to 
correct subluxation demonstrated by X-ray) 

(3). nurse practitioners, and nurse-midwives, if authorized to 
practice under State law; or,  

(4). Christian Science practitioners listed with the First 
Church of Christ Scientist in Boston, Massachusetts. 

Means: licensed physician, nurse, 
chiropractor, dentist, podiatrist, 
physical therapist, optometrist, 
psychologist; certified occupational 
therapist, occupational therapy 
assistant, respiratory care 
practitioner, acupuncturist, social 
worker, marriage and family 
therapist, professional counselor, 
speech-language pathologist or 
audiologist; and Christian Science 
practitioner. 

Varies, as Federal 
and State laws 
each include 
several different 
types of health 
care providers. 

Intermittent Leave Permitted for serious health condition when medically 
necessary.  Not permitted for birth or adoption unless 
employer agrees. 

Permitted for all family and medical 
leaves in increments equal to the 
shortest increment permitted by 
employer for any other non-
emergency leave 

Wisconsin 

Substitution of Paid 
Leave 

Employee may elect or employer may require accrued paid 
leave to be substituted in some cases.  No limits on 
substituting paid vacation or personal leave.  Employee may 
not substitute paid sick leave, medical, or family leave for any 
situation not covered by employer's leave plan. 

Employee may elect to substitute 
accrued paid or unpaid leave of any 
other type provided by employer. 

Wisconsin 

Reinstatement 
Rights 

Must be restored to same or equivalent position in all terms 
and conditions. 

Similar Provision Comparable 

Key Employee 
Exception 

Exempts salaried employees if among highest paid 10% and 
if restoration would lead to grievous economic harm to 
employer. 

No Similar Provision Wisconsin 

Maintenance of 
Health Benefits 
During Leave 

Health insurance must be continued under same conditions 
as prior to leave. 

Similar Provision Comparable 

Leave Requests Made by employee 30 days in advance or as soon as 
practicable.   

Made by employee in advance in a 
reasonable and practicable manner. 

Wisconsin 

Medical Certification 
May be Required By 
Employer to Support 

Request for leave because of serious health condition. 
Employee's fitness to return to work from medical leave. 

Similar Provision 
 
No Specific Provision 

Comparable 
 
Wisconsin 

    



Issues 
Federal 

Enforced by the U. S. Department of Labor. 

Wisconsin 
Enforced by the Department of 

Workforce Development 

Most Favorable 
to Employees. 

Executive, 
Administrative and 
Professional 
Employees 

Salaried executive, administrative and professional 
employees of covered employers, who meet the Fair Labor 
Standards Act (FLSA) criteria for exemption from minimum 
wage and overtime under Regulation 29 CFR part 541, do 
not lose their FLSA-exempt Status by using any unpaid 
FMLA leave.  This special exception to the “salary basis” 
requirement extends only to “eligible” employees use of leave 
required by FMLA 

Unpaid leave would not result in loss 
of exempt status under State 
minimum wage and overtime law. 

Comparable 

 
 



QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS ABOUT THE INTERFACE OF 
WISCONSIN AND FEDERAL LEAVE 

 
 
The existence of different Family Medical Leave Laws on state and federal levels raises questions 
about the coordination of rights and responsibilities of employers and employees.  The following 
questions and answers are intended to provide users with information on the coordination of leave 
entitlement.  They are intended to provide general advice.  For advice on specific situations involving 
entitlement to Wisconsin Family and Medical Leave, please contact the State of Wisconsin, 
Department of Workforce Development, Equal Rights Division at (608) 266-6860 – Madison or 
(414) 227-4384 – Milwaukee.  US Department of Labor's telephone number is (608) 441-5221– 
Madison. 
 
1. What are an employee's leave entitlements under the federal law? 
 

Answer: The federal Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 entitles employees who have worked 
12 months for an employer and at least 1,250 hours in the 12 month period prior to leave, up to 12 
weeks of leave.  This leave may be taken for the birth or placement for adoption or foster care of a 
son or daughter, the serious health condition of the employee's parent, son, daughter, or spouse, 
or on the serious health condition of the employee.  An employee is not entitled to 12 weeks for 
each of these reasons within a 12-month period.  Questions concerning entitlement to federal leave 
should be addressed to the United States Department of Labor. 
 

2. What are an employee's leave entitlements under the Wisconsin Family and Medical Leave 
Law? 

 
Answer:  The Wisconsin Family and Medical Leave Law entitles employees who have worked for 
an employer for 52 consecutive weeks and at least 1,000 hours in the 12 months prior to leave, up 
to six (6) weeks of leave on the birth or adoption of a child.  Two (2) weeks to care for a parent, 
child or spouse of the employee with a serious health condition and two (2) weeks for the serious 
health condition of the employee.  Unlike leave under the federal law, entitlement under the 
Wisconsin Family and Medical Leave Law are specific to the category of leave requested. 

 
3. Does an employee's pay continue during a period of leave? 
 

Answer:  Leave under both state and federal law is unpaid.  However, under the state law, an 
employee may substitute paid or unpaid leave.  Under federal law, an employer may require or an 
employee may elect to substitute paid leave for the otherwise unpaid leave. 

 
4. Do employee's health benefits continue during a period of leave? 
 

Answer:  If the leave is covered by either state or federal law, the employee's health insurance 
shall continue, under the same conditions as comparable active employees. 

 
5. What is the 12-month period within which an employee's leave is to be taken? 
 

Answer:  For Wisconsin leave purposes, the 12 month period during which leave must be taken is 
based on a calendar year.  The federal 12-month period during which leave may be taken is based 
on the period selected by the employer, which may be a rolling or fixed year.  The year may be 
based on a calendar year, fiscal year, or the employee's anniversary date. 
 

 



6. If an employee qualifies for leave under one of the laws, does the employee automatically 
qualify for leave under the other law? 

 
Answer:  An employee must qualify under the federal law to be entitled to the 12 weeks of leave.  
The employee must qualify under Wisconsin law to be eligible for the Wisconsin leave entitlement.  
Satisfaction of one law's eligibility requirements does not necessarily mean the employee has 
satisfied the requirements of the other.  However, an employer may use the lower of the federal 
and state requirements for purposes of leave administration.  In such a case, the satisfaction of the 
lower thresholds for federal and Wisconsin leave will result in employee entitlement to such leaves. 

 
7. If an employee is entitled to leave under both laws, how is his or her leave charged against 

the entitlement? 
 

Answer:  If an employee qualifies for federal family and medical leave and for leave under state 
law, leave used counts against the employee's entitlement under both laws. 

 
8. If an employee is entitled to leave under only one law, how is his or her leave accounted 

for? 
 

Answer:  If an employee is entitled to leave under only one law, his or her leave used counts 
against the entitlement under that law. 

 
9. If an employee is entitled to leave under both laws, which requirements for notice, 

certification, substitution and intermittent leave apply? 
 

Answer:  Nothing in the Federal Family and Medical Leave Act supersedes any provision of state 
or local law which provides greater family and medical leave rights than those provided by the 
federal law.  Therefore, where an employee is entitled to leave under both laws, the notice, 
certification, substitution and intermittent leave requirements which provide the greater leave rights 
apply.  However, if an employee's leave extends beyond the period of coverage under one of the 
laws, an employer may require the employee to comply with the requirements of the continuing 
law. 

 
10. If an employee is entitled to leave under only Wisconsin law, what rules apply as to notice, 

certification and intermittent leave. 
 

Answer:  When an employee is entitled only to leave under Wisconsin law, then only the 
Wisconsin rules regarding notice, certification, and intermittent leave apply. 

 
11. If an employee is only entitled to leave under the federal law, what rules apply concerning 

notice, certification, substitution, and intermittent leave? 
 

Answer:  If an employee is only entitled to leave under the federal law, then the federal rules 
concerning notice, certification, substitution, and intermittent leave apply. 

 
12. If an employer's policy or collective bargaining agreement provides greater family and 

medical leave rights than are provided by either federal or state law, which rules apply? 
 

Answer:  To the extent that an employer's policy or collective bargaining agreement provides 
leave rights in addition to or greater than those provided by state or federal law, the employer's 
policy or collective bargaining agreement shall apply to the extent they are more generous. 



13. If an employee takes leave for the birth or adoption of a child and is eligible for leave under 
Wisconsin and federal laws, how are the leaves coordinated? 

 
Answer:  For an employee who qualifies under both the federal and Wisconsin laws for leave on 
a birth or adoption, the six weeks of Wisconsin and federal leave may commence prior to, on or 
after the birth or adoption.  Wisconsin law provides that the six weeks of leave must commence 
within 16 weeks before or after the birth or adoption.  Under federal law, up to 12 weeks of leave 
is available for the birth or placement for adoption provided the leave is concluded no later than 12 
months after the birth or placement.  The federal and Wisconsin leaves will run concurrently where 
an employee is entitled to both. 

 
Example:  Following the birth of a child, mother desires to take off 12 weeks and father six weeks.  
Mother will be on leave for her own serious health condition for a period of six weeks, under her 
employer's disability plan, concurrently using two weeks of Wisconsin leave for her serious health 
condition and six weeks of federal leave for her serious health condition.  At the end of the six 
weeks of disability, she may take an additional six weeks of leave for the birth of the child under 
Wisconsin law, concurrently utilizing the remaining six weeks of her federal leave.  The father will 
take six weeks of leave for the birth of a child.  Concurrently using his six weeks for the birth of a 
child under Wisconsin law and six weeks of his federal entitlement, leaving six weeks of leave 
under the federal law which may be used for other qualifying purposes later in the year. 

 
14. Is placement for foster care covered? 
 

Answer:  Placement for foster care is covered only under federal law; it is not covered under state 
law. 

 
15. If an employee is eligible for leave to care for a family member with a serious health 

condition under Wisconsin and federal law, how are the leaves coordinated? 
 

Answer:  Under Wisconsin law, an employee is entitled to take up to two weeks per year to care 
for a parent (including parent-in-laws), child, or spouse with a serious health condition.  Federal 
law allows an employee up to 12 weeks per year to care for a parent, child, or spouse with a 
serious health condition.  If the requirements for leave under both laws are met, the leave under 
both laws run concurrently. 

 
Example:  The child of an employee experiences a serious health condition, which has a duration 
of 12 weeks.  The first two weeks are covered by both laws with the next 10 weeks of leave 
covered only by federal law.  If the employee's need for leave should extend beyond 12 weeks, 
the availability of additional weeks will be governed by the employer's leave policies. 

 
16. If an employee experiences a serious health condition, how are his or her leave entitlement 

coordinated under Wisconsin and federal law? 
 

Answer:  An employee will be entitled to up to two weeks of leave under Wisconsin's law for his 
or her own serious health condition, and up to 12 weeks of leave under federal law, provided the 
leave has not been used for other purposes.  If the employee is entitled to leave under both laws, 
then leave use will be counted against both entitlements concurrently. 

 

Example:  An employee experiences a serious health condition which renders him or her unable 
to perform the functions of his or her position.  The first weeks of leave are covered by both the 
Wisconsin and federal laws, concurrently, with any additional leave covered and charged only 
against the employee's federal entitlement, for up to 10 additional weeks.  If the employee's need 
for leave extends beyond 12 weeks from its commencement, the availability of leave from work 
will be governed by the employer's leave policies. 
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