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The Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development administers a number of labor standards laws which 
vary considerably in their coverage and requirements. 
 
Employers covered by these standards also may be subject to similar federal laws and regulations as well.  In 
cases where the laws contain different requirements and the state regulations are more stringent, the 
department is required by law to enforce the state regulations.  Federal laws do not preempt state regulations 
in these cases. 
 
This publication summarizes Wisconsin’s labor standards requirements that were in affect at the time this 
pamphlet was published.  Requirements may change due to changes in state laws or rules, or as a result of 
judicial or administrative interpretations.  The Equal Rights Division can explain any changes, which may have 
occurred since this pamphlet was printed. 
 
Subjects are listed below in alphabetical order. 
 
LABOR STANDARDS SUBJECTS 
Business Closing Law 
Cessation of Health Care Benefits Law 
Employment of Minors 
Employment of Minors / Serving Liquor 
Medical Examinations  
Minimum Wage & Subminimum Wage Licenses 
One Day of Rest in Seven 
Overtime Pay Requirements 
Penalties & Enforcement 
Personnel Records open to the Employee 
Prevailing Wage (Construction) 
Private Employment Agencies 
Records Employers Must Keep 
Rest Periods/Coffee Breaks 
Seats for Workers 
Sick Leave 
Termination Notices 
Vacation Pay 
Wage Claims 
Wage Deductions 
Wage Payment & Collection 
Weight Limits  
 
Not all workers are protected.  How these various labor standards apply in specific cases depends on some or 
all of the following conditions: 

 Type of industry 
 Type of work performed 
 How employed (contract, commission, etc.) and 
 Worker’s age 

 
BUSINESS CLOSING LAW 
Employers with 50 or more employees in the state who decide to conduct a business closing or mass layoff are 
required to give 60 days’ notice to DWD, affected employees, unions representing affected employees and the 
highest official of the town, village or city in which the employer is located. 

ERD-4906-P (R. 12/2010) 



 
CESSATION OF HEALTH CARE BENEFITS 
Employers with 50 or more employees in the state must provide 60 days’ notice to any affected employees, 
retirees, or their dependents, when they decide to cease providing health care benefits. 
 
This provision applies to situations where employers completely eliminate their entire package of health care 
benefits for broad categories of workers or retirees.  It does not apply to employment termination of individuals 
or to modifications of continuing plans. 
 
EMPLOYMENT OF MINORS 
Minors under age 11 cannot be employed at any time.  Minors age 11 to 13 may be employed in only 
very limited types of work. 
 
The state requires every employer who hires a minor (any person under 18), or who permits a minor to 
work at any “gainful occupation,” to obtain a valid work permit, issued by the state, for that minor.  The 
only exceptions are agricultural work, apprenticeships, domestic service, public entertainment, and volunteer 
work for non-profit organizations. 
 
Minors also are protected by laws and regulations which restrict their hours of labor, the time of day they may 
work, and the types of work they may do, depending on their ages. 
 
Because of the length and complexity of these rules, please refer to the “The Wisconsin Employment of Minors 
Guide” (DWD-ERD-4758) for more details.  The guide is published by the Equal Rights Division. 
 
The complete child labor rules (Chapter DWD 270) may be obtained online at 
http://legis.wisconsin.gov/rsb/code/dwd/dwd270.pdf. 
 
EMPLOYMENT OF MINORS / SERVING LIQUOR 
Wisconsin restricts the employment of minors under age 18 wherever liquor is sold, with certain exceptions.  
 
Minors 14 years and older may be employed in: 
 Establishments where liquor is dispensed if the youth are not involved in serving, selling, giving away or 

otherwise dispensing liquor.  These jobs may be in such establishments as hotels, motels, summer resorts, 
clubhouses, bowling alleys and restaurants.  Minors in this age group may work as bus boys or girls in 
clearing tables, or as waiters or waitresses but can not take drink orders, and liquor must be handled and 
served by an adult. 

 Stores and wholesale warehouses in which liquor is sold only in sealed packages for consumption off the 
premises, if the minor does not make the sale and a licensed operator is present all times the minor is 
working. 

There are additional state laws and local ordinances which restrict the access of minors to places where beer 
and liquor is present.  They are administered by other agencies and questions should be directed to those 
agencies. 
 
EMPLOYER RETALIATION AGAINST WORKERS 
Employers are prohibited from retaliating against any employee who: 

 Files a complaint; 
 Attempts to enforce a right under certain statutes; 
 Testifies in a case; or 
 Assists in a case  
 

under the state’s labor standards laws, such as child labor, minimum wage, hours of work and overtime, wage 
payment and collection, and prevailing wage rate laws.  
 
This law’s protections also apply if an employer takes an adverse employment action against an employee 
because the employer believes the employee has exercised any of the above rights.  Persons who need 

http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/dwd/publications/erd/pdf/erd_4758_pweb.pdf
http://legis.wisconsin.gov/rsb/code/dwd/dwd270.pdf


further information concerning protection under the state’s retaliation provisions should contact the Equal 
Rights Division. 
 
FAIR EMPLOYMENT 
The Wisconsin Fair Employment Law prohibits discrimination in all areas of employment against any qualified 
person because of sex, race, disability, age (40 and over), creed, color, national origin, ancestry, sexual 
orientation, marital status, arrest and conviction record, military status, use of lawful products and genetic 
testing.  The Fair Employment Law also regulates the use of honesty tests by employers.  Copies of 
Wisconsin’s Fair Employment Law (ERD-8925) may be obtained online at 
http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/dwd/publications/erd/pdf/erd_8295_pweb.pdf.  
 
FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE LAW 
Wisconsin’s Family and Medical Leave Law covers employers with 50 or more permanent employees.  
Employees of those employers who have been employed for the prior 52 weeks, and have worked at least 
1,000 hours during that period may be eligible for protected leave.  For covered employees, the law requires 
that employees be allowed six weeks of leave for the birth or adoption of a child; two weeks of leave to care for 
a parent, child or spouse with a serious health condition; and two weeks of leave for the employee’s own 
serious health condition.  Copies of the law (ERD-8300) may be obtained online at 
http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/dwd/publications/erd/pdf/erd_8300_p.pdf.  
 
MEAL PERIODS 
Employers are not required to provide meal periods to adult employees.  The law recommends, however, that 
employers provide 30 minutes or more for a meal period.  Employers must provide meal periods to employees 
under age 18 who work shifts longer than 6 hours. 
 
Meal periods provided to minors must be at least 30 minutes in length and reasonably close to the usual meal 
times of 6:00 a.m., 12 noon, 6 p.m. and 12 midnight, or near the middle of the shift. 
 
No minor may be employed for more than 6 consecutive hours without a meal period. 
 
Employers must pay all employees for “on duty” meal periods.  An “on duty” meal period is one where the 
worker is not provided at least 30 consecutive minutes free from work, or where the worker is not free to leave 
the employer’s premises. 
 
Employers are not allowed to require that meals be accepted as part of a worker’s wages. 
 
MEDICAL EXAMINATIONS 
Employers may require applicants for employment or employees to take medical examinations.  The employer 
must pay the cost of examinations required as a condition of being hired or remaining employed. 
 
MINIMUM WAGE 
Wisconsin sets minimum hourly wage rates employers must pay workers. 
 
The Wisconsin law applies to all private and public employers, including non-profit organizations, regardless of 
whether they are covered by the federal minimum wage law.  State and local units of government are also 
covered. 
 
A separate minimum wage rate exists for employees who receive tips or gratuities from patrons.  Employers 
may pay wages under the schedule for “tipped employees” if they can establish by payroll records that, when 
tips and wages are added together at the end of a pay period, they at least equal the general minimum wage 
rate.  Deductions also may be made for board and lodging, within limitations, which vary by type of 
employment. 
 
Subminimum wages are authorized only to employers licensed by the department who employ persons with 
disabilities, operate rehabilitation facilities, or participate in bona fide student-learner programs. 
 
The rates set for such employees are fixed in relation to their ability, as determined by the department. 

http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/dwd/publications/erd/pdf/erd_8295_pweb.pdf
http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/dwd/publications/erd/pdf/erd_8295_pweb.pdf
http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/dwd/publications/erd/pdf/erd_8300_p.pdf
http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/dwd/publications/erd/pdf/erd_8300_p.pdf


 
Subminimum wages also may be paid to student-employees of private colleges and universities for the first 20 
hours of work each week.  After that limit, the full minimum wage must be paid.   
 
Minimum wage rates and rules are revised periodically by administrative rule. 
 
ONE DAY OF REST IN SEVEN LAW 
The law provides that all employees in covered establishments must be given 24 consecutive hours of rest in 
each calendar week. 
 
However, the law does not require that the day of rest be given every 7 days.  For example, an employer may 
legally schedule work for 12 consecutive days within a two-week period if the days of rest fall on the first and 
last days of the two-week period. 
 
The “One Day of Rest” Law exempts certain specific employment in factories and commercial establishments 
from coverage.  The department can explain to you which jobs are exempted. 
 
Employers are permitted to ask the department to waive provisions of this law in unusual circumstances.  
Waivers generally are granted if representatives of the employer and the employees make the request jointly. 
 
OVERTIME PAY REQUIREMENTS 
Workers, regardless of age, must be paid 1-1/2 times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 
40 hours per week, if employed by factories, mercantile establishments, restaurants, hotels, motels and 
resorts, beauty parlors, retail and wholesale stores, laundries, express and transportation firms telegraph 
offices and telephone exchanges. 
 
Exempted from overtime pay requirements are certain administrative, executive, and professional employees,; 
certain outside sales and commissioned employees; taxi cab drivers; certain employees of motor carriers who 
are covered by federal regulations; parts persons, salespersons, service writers, or mechanics employed by 
motor vehicle dealers; and apprentices receiving classroom instruction. 
 
Other than under the Prevailing Wage Laws (see below), there is no required daily overtime pay for 
adults. 
 
Whether daily overtime must be paid to minors under age 18 depends on whether the work is agricultural or 
nonagricultural, if school is in session, and the age of the minor.  For additional information, please see the 
“Employment of Minors Guide” (ERD-4758). 
 
The federal Fair Labor Standards Act includes federal minimum wage, overtime, and child labor requirements.  
It is administered by the U.S. Dept. of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, and may set requirements that differ 
from state law.  It is the responsibility of the employer to comply with both laws. 
 
For further information about the FLSA, contact the: 
 

U S DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
WAGE & HOUR DIVISION 

740 REGENT ST 
SUITE 102 

MADISON WI  53715 
 

Phone: (608) 441-5221 
 
PENALTIES AND ENFORCEMENT 
There are different penalties for violating different laws and rules.  In general, however, violators may be 
assessed between $10 and $100 a day for each day of each violation of most of Wisconsin’s labor standards 

http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/dwd/publications/erd/pdf/erd_4758_pweb.pdf


laws.  The department may ask the Wisconsin Department of Justice to seek these penalties in court if 
attempts to resolve the labor standards dispute have failed.   
 
In addition, employers may be required to pay any wages that may be due employees because of the violation. 
 
Employers may also be penalized for employing a minor without a work permit or violating other child labor 
regulations. 
 
Furthermore, if a minor was injured or died in the course of work, the employer may be liable for double 
compensation under Wisconsin’s Workers’ Compensation Law if it employed the minor without a work permit.  
It may be liable for treble compensation if the minor was injured while employed in a job prohibited by statute, 
regardless of whether a work permit was issued.   
 
PERSONNEL RECORDS OPEN TO THE EMPLOYEE 
Employers must permit employees to inspect certain personnel documents within 7 working days of a request.  
Employers may require that the request be in writing.  Employees also have the right to obtain copies of these 
documents.  Please refer to Wis. Stat. § 103.13 for more detailed information. 
 
THE PREVAILING WAGE LAWS 
Wisconsin’s Prevailing Wage Laws require the payment of wages on public works projects that are 
representative of the wages normally paid to workers on similar private projects in the area.  The division 
conducts an annual survey to determine the wage rates that prevail on public works projects that are bid or 
negotiated by the state or any unit of local government.  Division staff inspect employers’ payroll records to 
ensure that workers are properly classified, that they are receiving the appropriate prevailing wage rate and 
that they are receiving overtime for work performed in excess of the prevailing hours of labor.  These laws 
require the payment of daily overtime for all covered work performed in excess of 10 hours per day.  Premium 
pay is also required for covered work performed on Saturdays, Sundays, and six major holidays.  Contact the 
Equal Rights Division for further information. 
 
PRIVATE EMPLOYMENT AGENCIES 
The department licenses applicant paid fee private employment agencies operating in the state, and sets 
standards for them in their fees, advertising, bonding and periodic reporting on activities.   
 
Employer paid fee agencies must register with the department annually even though they are not regulated 
under the law. 
 
Temporary help agencies, labor union hiring halls, theatrical and booking agencies and employment 
counselors are not subject to this law. 
 
Applicant paid fee agencies which meet state standards are issued a license to operate.  The Equal Rights 
Division can tell you whether or not a private employment agency is licensed or registered with the department. 
 
RECORDS WHICH EMPLOYERS MUST KEEP 
Employers must keep the following time and payroll records for at least 3 years for each employee: 
 Name and address 
 Date of birth 
 Dates employment began and ended 
 Time work began and ended each day 
 Total hours worked daily and weekly 
 Rate of pay for each payroll period 
 Wages paid each payroll period 
 Amount and reason for each deduction 
 Output of employee, if paid on other than a time basis. 
In addition, the time each meal period began and ended must be recorded when meal periods are required for 
employees, or when meal periods are deducted from work time.  This information is not required when work is 
such that production or business activity ceases on a regularly scheduled basis. 



 
REST PERIOD/COFFEE BREAKS 
State law does not require that brief rest periods, or coffee breaks, be provided to employees.  Such 
matters are to be determined between the employer and the employee. 
Rest periods or breaks of less than 30 consecutive minutes are considered work time, and employers may not 
deduct from a worker’s wages for them. 
 
SEATS FOR WORKERS 
State law requires that manufacturing, mechanical and commercial establishments provide seats for workers 
when they are not actively engaged in work duties. 
 
SICK LEAVE 
Employers are not required by Wisconsin law to grant sick leave to their workers, whether with pay or without.  
There are special exceptions in the Family and Medical Leave Law. 
 
TERMINATION NOTICES 
Unless termination of employment is covered under the notification requirements found in the Business Closing 
Law, there is no requirement either the employer or the employees give any notice.  See the Business Closing 
Law section. 
 
VACATION 
Employers are not required by Wisconsin law to grant vacations to their workers, whether with pay or without.  
Such matters are determined entirely by written or unwritten agreements between the employer and the 
employee.  However, where such benefits have been agreed upon, the department may take action as part of 
a wage claim. 
 
WAGE CLAIMS 
Employees have the right to file a wage claim with the department for unpaid wages if there is a dispute with 
the employer in the amount of wages owed, or if an employer fails to pay the wages agreed upon for time 
actually worked.  If the employer refuses to pay wages earned on the established payday, the employee 
should request payment. 
 
If the employee does not receive the payment after 6 days, the employee may file a claim with the department.  
Once a claim is filed, the department will seek to resolve the matter with the employer. 
 
The department may take action on the following types of wage claims: 
 Salaries 
 Severance pay 
 Commissions 
 Dismissal pay 
 Holiday pay 
 Bonuses 
 Illegal deductions from wages 
 Vacation pay 
 Supplemental unemployment compensation benefits when required under a binding collective bargaining 

agreement. 
 Other similar advantages agreed upon between the employer and the employee, or provided to employees 

as an established policy. 
 
The department may not have authority to take legal action on some claims, including: 
 
 Unpaid bills owed to the employee 
 Claims by independent contractors 
 Claims already filed in court 
 Out-of-state employers, in some cases. 
 



Union members who wish to file wage claims will be advised by the department to exhaust contractual 
remedies available through the union before filing a claim. 
 
Persons filing a claim for wages must do so on a form furnished by the department’s Equal Rights Division.  
There is a 2-year statute of limitations on the collection of wage claims.  Wages must be claimed within 2 
years of the date earned. 
 
WAGE DEDUCTIONS 
Employers are required to state clearly on each employee’s paycheck, pay envelope or other accompanying 
paper the number of hours worked, the rate of pay, and the amount of, and reason for, each deduction. 
 
The only exception is where the employee has requested a deduction for personal reasons.  In those cases, 
the deduction may be labeled “miscellaneous” or similarly disguised. 
 
Employers may use a reasonable coding system in listing all deductions. 
 
Employers can only deduct for loss, theft, damage, or faulty workmanship as provided under Wis. Stat. § 
103.455. 
 
WAGE PAYMENT AND COLLECTION 
Employers must pay all workers at least once a month.  Employers engaged in logging operations and 
farming are exempted from this requirement, but must pay no less often than at regular quarterly intervals. 
 
Employees who quit or are discharged from their jobs must be paid in accordance with the employer’s 
established payroll schedule. 
 
WEIGHT LIMITS 
Wisconsin law does not set any limits on the amount of weight that employees can be required to lift or carry in 
their jobs.  Employers are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance.  For further information, contact 
the Worker’s Compensation Division at (608) 266-1340. 
 
To file claims or complaints, or to obtain more information about any of these provisions, contact the 
department’s Equal Rights Division at either of these locations. 
 

EQUAL RIGHTS DIVISION 
 
 819 N 6th ST PO BOX 8928 
 MILWAUKEE WI  53203 MADISON WI  53708  
 414-227-4384 608-266-6860 
 414-227-4081 (TTY) 608-264-8752 (TTY) 
 

Offices are open 7:45 to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. 
 
Department of Workforce Development is an equal opportunity employer and service provider.  If you 
have a disability and need to access this information in an alternate format or need, it translated to 
another language, please contact us is Madison at (608)264-8752 or in Milwaukee at (414) 227-4081. 
 

Website: http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/er/ 
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