Home > News Releases
> Department Seeks Lien Against Prism Southwest Corp.
DEPARTMENT SEEKS LIEN AGAINST PRISM SOUTHWEST CORP.
Madison – The Department of Workforce Development filed a preliminary wage lien against Prism Southwest Corp, located in Kieler, Wisconsin, after the department received several complaints from former employees that they were not paid for three weeks of work.
"The Department has complaints that Prism Southwest Corp. shut down in late December and that none of the approximately 60 employees were paid for their final 3 weeks of work," Secretary Gassman said. "People that do a job rightfully expect to get paid for doing it, and our intent is to see that workers receive what they are entitled to," she said.
Preliminary estimates show that former employees could be owed as much as $170,000 in unpaid wages. In addition, the department may be looking at whether the business’s abrupt closing was in violation of the state law requiring businesses to provide 60 day’s notice to employees and the state. The department is yet to receive a complaint on the business closing violation and cannot start a formal investigation until receiving a complaint from an affected worker. The total dollar amount the state is seeking on the lien is $1,340,000.
Wisconsin law requires employers with 50 or more workers to give a 60-day notice of closing or mass layoff. Violators can be forced to pay workers for the number of days they would have worked had notice been given.
Employees have the right to file a wage claim with the Equal Rights Division if there is a dispute with the employer in the amount of wages owed, or if an employer fails to pay the wages agreed upon for the time actually worked. If the employer refuses to pay wages earned on the regular established payday, the employee should request payment.
Persons filing a claim for wages must do so on a form furnished by the Department of Workforce Development Equal Rights Division. There is a two-year statute of limitations on the collection of wage claims. Wages must be claimed within two years of the date earned.
More information can be found by calling the Equal Rights Division at (608) 266-6860, or the DWD Web site at http://www.dwd.state.wi.us/er/labor_standards_bureau/default.htm
of Administrative Services
Content Contact: Christopher Marschman