Home > News Releases
> Department Issues Information On Child Labor Laws
Department Issues Information On Child Labor Laws
MADISON – With another school year coming to a close, and thousands of minors preparing to enter the workforce, the Department of Workforce Development (DWD) today issued a reminder for employers, minors and parents to become familiar with what minors are and are not permitted to do regarding working in Wisconsin.
"As school lets out for the summer months, and many young people become engaged in employment activities, we call upon young workers, their parents and employers to take some time to review the rules regarding younger workers," DWD Secretary Jennifer Reinert said.
Young people who are 14 or 15 years old may work between 7am and 9pm a maximum of 8 hours per day and 40 hours per week during non-school days and weeks from June through Labor Day. Work times and number of hours during this period are not restricted for 16 and 17 year olds, but state law requires compensation of time and one-half for work in excess of 10 hours per day or 40 hours per week, whichever is greater.
The law requires minors 12 and over to have a work permit. Employment options for 12 and 13 year-old minors are limited to working in school lunch programs, in street trades, and as caddies. Minors 12 and 13 years old may also work and under the direct supervision of parent or guardian in connection with that parent or guardian’s business, trade or profession. Last year Wisconsin issued 113, 530 child labor permits.
In addition to laws protecting children by restricting hours of work, there are laws in effect to protect children from physical danger resulting from hazardous types of employment. In general, people under the age of 18 may not work in mining, logging, meatpacking, roofing, excavation or demolition. They are also prohibited from being a driver, operating a forklift, working with saws, explosives, radioactive materials and most power-driven machines. More information on prohibited employment can be found at the Department of Labor Web site listed below.
Federal Child Labor Laws
Wisconsin Child Labor
Laws (608) 266-6860 (Madison) or (414) 227-4384 (Milwaukee)
of Administrative Services
Content Contact: Christopher Marschman