Monday August 25, 1997
The minimum wage increases to $5.15 an hour for most workers in Wisconsin on September 1. That is up from $4.75 an hour. Wisconsin's basic minimum wage is the same as the federal rate.
Opportunity wages of $4.25 can continue to be paid for employees aged 19 and younger for the first 90 days of any job. A job change restarts the clock.
Employees who receive tips will continue to get a wage of $2.33 an hour at a minimum. That is higher than the $2.13 under federal law and therefore will continue to apply to all tipped employees in Wisconsin - except those under age 20, for whom the opportunity wage for the first 90 days will be $2.13.