
 

State of Wisconsin\DIVISION OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS 
Brian Hayes, Administrator  
Office of Worker's Compensation Hearings 
P.O. Box 7922 
Madison, WI 53707-7922 

Telephone: (608) 266-1340
FAX:  (608)266-0018

Email:  DHAWCMail@wisconsin.gov
Internet:  Http://dha.state.wi.us

 

ADMISSION TO SERVICE AND ANSWER TO APPLICATION 

You are the RESPONDENT in this matter. 
Provision of your Social Security Number (SSN) is voluntary. Failure to provide it may result in an information processing delay. 
Personal information you provide may be used for secondary purposes [Privacy Law, s. 15.04 (1)(m), Wisconsin Statutes].  

WC Claim Number Employee Name 

Employee Social Security Number Employer Name 

Date of Alleged Injury Employer Mailing Address 

Insurance Company Name Insurance Company Mailing Address 

Respondent Attorney Name Respondent Attorney Mailing Address 

 

The enclosed hearing application must be answered within 20 days by mailing a copy of the answer to the Office of Worker’s 
Compensation Hearings and to applicant’s attorney or applicant if unrepresented. Provide such responses as are now known and amend 
your responses later as necessary. The worker’s compensation insurer has a duty to defend and submit an answer on behalf of the 
employer except that the employer must defend and submit its own answer as to the following claims: (I) 15% increased compensation for 
safety violation, Wis. Stat. 102.57; (II) refusal to rehire, Wis. Stat. 102.35 (3); (III) penalty for late payment against employer, Wis. Stat. 
102.22; (IV) penalty for illegal employment of minor, Wis. Stat. 102.60; and (V) bad faith against employer, Wis. Stat. 102.18 (1) (bp). 
Failure by the employer or insurer to file a timely answer may result in liability by default order. 

In answer to the application, using reverse side if additional space is necessary, the respondent states as follows: 
1. The accident or occupational exposure occurred as alleged  Admit  Deny

2. The relationship of employer and employee existed  Admit  Deny

3. The parties were subject to the worker’s compensation act  Admit  Deny

4. At the time of alleged injury, the employee was performing service growing out of and incidental to employment  Admit  Deny

5. The accident or disease causing injury arose out of the alleged employment  Admit  Deny 

6. Notice of injury was given to employer within 30 days/2 years of alleged injury  Admit  Deny 

7. Applicant was temporarily disabled for the period claimed  Admit  Deny
 If denied, state disability admitted:  

8. Applicant is permanently disabled to the extent claimed  Admit  Deny
 If denied, state disability admitted:   

9. The rate of wage claimed is correct  Admit  Deny
 If denied, state wage admitted: and attach a fully updated WKC-13-A 

10. The alleged employer was insured or self-insured under the Worker’s Compensation Act  Admit  Deny

11. Do you contend that additional parties must be joined for a complete resolution of applicant’s claim? If “yes,”  Admit  Deny
 attach expert opinions supporting joinder and explain who should be joined and why. 

12. Do you contend the employee was discharged or suspended for misconduct or substantial fault after being   Admit  Deny
 released to return to a restricted type of work during the healing period? 

13. Do you contend that indemnity or death benefits were not paid because the employee violated the employer's  Admit  Deny
 policy on alcohol or drug use and the violation was causal to injury? 

14. Describe any matters in dispute not already noted above and state all reasons for denying liability not already noted above. 

Insurance Carriers & Self-Insured Employers must attach an up-to-date WKC-13 and if wage is disputed, an up-to-date WKC-13-A. 

Respondent Signature:  Date Signed:  

Printed Name: Title: Phone Number: ( ) - 

Representing:  Insurance carrier and the insured interests of employer  Insurance Carrier  Employer  

WKC-19-DHA (N. 10/2016) 




