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Wisconsin Proof of Coverage Notice under a master policy 
for small clients under s. 102.315(5)(c), Wis. Stats. 
 

 

 

 

 
This form must be filed with the Wisconsin Worker’s Compensation Division with an attached copy of the policy 
naming the client as a covered insured, within 30 days of the inception of such coverage. 
 
COMPLETE ALL ITEMS OR THIS FORM WILL BE RETURNED TO YOU.  If questions, call 608-266-3046. 
 

Personal information you provide may be used for secondary purposes [Privacy Law, s. 15.04(1)(m)]. 
 

Insured Employee Leasing Company Information
1.  Insured’s Name  
       

2.  Insured’s Address 
       

City   
      

State 
      

Zip Code 
      

3.  Insured’s Federal Employer Identification Number 
       

 

 

Insurance Carrier Information 
1.  Carrier Name  
       

2.  NCCI Carrier Code 

           

3.  Policy Number 
       

4.  Policy Effective Date 
       

5.  Policy Issue Date 
       

6.  Effective Date of Client’s Coverage 
       

 

 

Client Information (Client of Employee Leasing Company)
1.  Client’s Name  
       

2.  Client’s Address 
       

City 
      

State 
      

Zip Code 
      

3.  Client’s Federal Employer Identification Number 
       

 

Department of Workforce Development 
Worker’s Compensation Division 
201 E. Washington Ave., Rm. C100 
P.O. Box 7901 
Madison, WI  53707-7901 
Telephone: (608) 266-1340 
Fax: (608) 266-6827 
http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/wc 
e-mail: DWDDWC@dwd.wisconsin.gov 



Section 102.315(1)(h), Wis. Stats. 

 “Master policy” means a single worker’s compensation insurance policy issued by an insurer authorized to do 

business in this state to an employee leasing company in the name of the employee leasing company that covers 

more than one client of the employee leasing company. 

Section 102.315(1)(j), Wis. Stats. 

  “Small client” means a client that has an unmodified annual premium assignable to its business, including the 

business of all entities or organizations that are under common control or ownership with the client, that is equal to or less 

than the threshold below which employers are not experience rated under the standards and criteria under ss. 626.11 and 

626.12, without regard to whether the client has a divided workforce. 

Section 102.315(5), Wis. Stats. 

 MASTER POLICY; SMALL CLIENTS. (a) Regardless of whether a master policy has been approved under 

sub. (4), an employee leasing company may insure its liability under sub. (2) with respect to a group of small clients of 

the employee leasing company by obtaining a master policy in the voluntary market insuring that liability.  The fact that 

an employee leasing company has a client that is covered under a mandatory risk−sharing plan under s. 619.01 does 

not preclude the employee leasing company from obtaining a master policy under this paragraph so long as that client 

is not covered under the master policy.  An insurer may issue a master policy under this paragraph insuring in the 

voluntary market the liability under sub. (2) of an employee leasing company with respect to a group of small clients of 

the employee leasing company regardless of whether any of those small clients has a divided workforce.1 

 (b) Within 30 days after the effective date of an employee leasing agreement with a small client that is covered 

under a master policy under par. (a), the employee leasing company shall report to the department all of the following 

information: 

 1. The name and address of the small client and of each entity or organization that is under common control or 

ownership with the small client.  

 2. The number of employees initially covered under the master policy. 

 3. The estimated unmodified annual premium assignable to the small client’s business, including the business 

of all entities or organizations that are under common control or ownership with the small client, without regard to 

whether the small client has a divided workforce, which information the small client shall report to the employee 

leasing company. 

 4. The effective date of the employee leasing agreement. 

 (c) Within 30 days after the effective date of coverage of a small client under a master policy under par. (a), 

the insurer or, if authorized by the insurer, the employee leasing company shall file proof of that coverage with the 

department.  Coverage of a small client under a master policy becomes binding when the insurer or employee leasing 

company files proof of that coverage under this paragraph or provides notice of coverage to the small client, whichever 

occurs first.  Nothing in this paragraph requires an employee leasing company or an employee of an employee leasing 

company to be licensed as an insurance intermediary under ch. 628. 

 (d) If at any time the unmodified annual premium assignable to the business of a small client that is covered 

under a master policy under par. (a), including the business of all entities or organizations that are under common 

control or ownership with the small client, without regard to whether the small client has a divided workforce, exceeds 

the threshold below which employers are not experience rated under the standards and criteria under ss. 626.11 and 

626.12, the employee leasing company shall notify the insurer and obtain coverage for the small client under sub. (3) 

or (4). 

                                                      
1  An employee leasing company may obtain a master policy under this paragraph to cover its clients not eligible for experience rating, and 
simultaneously have a client or clients eligible for experience rating covered by the Wisconsin insurance pool, provided the client or clients covered by the 
Wisconsin insurance pool are not covered under the master policy. 


