WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
ACT MEMO

2013 Wisconsin Act 356 Cosmetology Training
[2013 Senate Bill 395] Requirements

2013 Wisconsin Act 356 changes the required number of training hours for a
cosmetologist license from 1,800 to 1,550. The Act also exempts the following services from the
cosmetology license requirement:

e A service performed preparatory to a live public performance or appearance,
whether in person or through broadcast media.

e A service performed in the course of the production of any digital, analog, or other
recording of a moving or still image intended for public release or broadcast.

The Act also allows someone who has been educated at an out-of-state cosmetology
school to have that education be recognized for Wisconsin licensure, provided that the school
was accredited by an agency approved by the Department of Safety and Professional Services,
which must promulgate rules to identify these agencies.

Effective date: April 25, 2014.
Prepared by: Laura Rose, Deputy Director May 30, 2014
LR:jb;ty

This memo provides a brief description of the Act. For more detailed information,
consult the text of the law and related legislative documents at the Legislature’s Web site at: http://www.legis.wisconsin.gov.
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2013 WISCONSIN ACT 356

AN ACT toamend 440.62 (3) (ar) 2., 454.02 (3) (b), 454.06 (2) (b), 454.06 (3) (b), 454.06 (4) (b) 1., 454.06 (5) (b)
1.,454.06 (6) (b) 1., 454.10 (2), 454.23 (2) (d), 454.23 (3) (b) and 454.26 (29, @eae 454.02 (3) (bm), 454.075,
454.21(3) and 454.245 of the statutegiating to: cosmetologist training hours, recognition of accredited schools
of barbering, cosmetologgiesthetics, manicuring, and electrolagyemption of makeup artists from barbering and
cosmetologylicensure requirements, and requiring the exercise of rule—-making authority

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in SeEcTION 4. 454.06 (2) (b) of thetatutes is amended
senate and assembly, do enact as follows: toread:
454.06(2) (b) Graduates from a course of instruction
of at least-1;80Q,550training hours in not less than 10
monthsin a school of cosmetology licensed under s.
SecTioN 1. 440.62 (3) (ar) 2. of the statutes is 440.62(3) (ar)-er exempted under s. 440.61, or acered
amendedo read: ited by an accrediting agency approved by the baard,
440.62(3) (ar) 2. Requires as a prerequisite to gradu hassuccessfully completed apprenticeship under s.
ationcompletion of a course of instruction in cosmetol- 454.10.
ogy of at least-1,80Q,550training hours in not less than SECTION 4c. 454.06 (3) (b) of the statutes is amended
10months. The course of instruction may not exceed 8to read:
traininghours in any one day for any student or 48 hours ~ 454.06(3) (b) Completes 4,000 hours of practice as

in any one week for any student. a licensed cosmetologist under the supervisionaof
SecTION 2. 454.02 (3) (b) of thetatutes is amended licensedcosmetology manager or completes 2,000rs
to read: of practice as a licensed cosmetologist and 150 training

454.02(3) (b) Applying-cosmetich service per-  hours of theoretical instruction in a school of cosmetol-
formed preparatory to a_livepublic performance _or  ogylicensed under s. 440.62 (3) (ar) @empted under
appearance, whether in—person or throligbadcast s. 440.61, or accredited by an accrediting agency

media.including the Internet approvedoy the board
SecTION 3. 454.02 (3) (bm) of thetatutes is created SECTION 4g. 454.06 (4) (b) 1. of the statutes is
to read: amendedo read:

454.02(3) (bm) A service performed in the course of 454.06(4) (b) 1. A course of instruction in aesthetics
the production of anyligital, analog, or other recording of at least 450 training hours in not less thhmweks and
of a moving or still image intended fpublic release or  notmore than 30 weeks) a school of cosmetology or a
broadcastincluding through the Internet. schoolof aesthetics licensed under s. 440.62 (3)dar)

* Section 9911, WisconsINSTATUTES Effective date of acts. “Every act and every portion of an act enacted by the legislature over thegy
partial veto which does not expressly prescribe the time when it taflees siiall take ééct on the day after its date of publication.”
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(b) er, exempted under s. 440.61, aecredited by an
accreditingagency approved by the board

SeCTION 4n. 454.06 (5) (b) 1. of the statutes is
amendedo read:

454.06(5) (b) 1. A course of instruction in electrol
ogy of at least 450 traininigours in not less thard veeks
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454.23(2) (d) The applicant graduates from@urse
of instruction in barbering of at least 1,000 training hours
in barbering in not less tha® months in a school of bar
beringlicensed under s. 440.62 (3) (ag) or accredited by
an accrediting agency approved by the departmeant
schoolof cosmetology licensed under s. 440.62 (3) (ar)

andnot more than 30 weeks, in a school of cosmetology or accredited by an accrediting agency approved by the
or a school of electrology licensed under s. 440.62 (3) (ar)cosmetology examining board or a school that is
or (c)-or exempted under s. 440.61, or accredited by anexemptecunder s. 440.61 or the applicant successfully

accreditingagency approved by the board

SEcCTION 4r. 454.06 (6) (b) 1. of the statutés
amendedo read:

454.06(6) (b) 1. A course aihstruction in manicur
ing of at least 300 traininigours in not less than 7 weeks

completesan apprenticeship under s. 454.26.

SecTioN 5m. 454.23 (3) (b) of the statutes is
amendedo read:

454.23(3) (b) The person completes 4,000 hours of
practiceas a licensed barber or licensgzsmetologist

andnot more than 20 weeks, in a school of cosmetology \ngerthe supervision of a licensed barbering manager
or a school of manicuring licensed under s. 440.62 (3) (aN)jicensed cosmetology manager or completes 2H008s

or (d)-et exempted under s. 440.61, or accredited by an

accrediting agency approved by the board

SecTION 4t. 454.075 of the statutes is created to read:

454.075 Examining board approval of accrediting
agencies. The examining board shall identify by rife

accreditingagencies it approves to accredit schools for
the purpose of satisfying educational requirements for an
initial license or a license renewal under this subchapter

SecTION 4w. 454.10 (2) of the statutes is amended to
read:

454.10(2) Apprentices shall receive at least 3,712
hoursof practical training andt least 288 training hours
of theoretical instruction in a school of cosmetology

licensedunder s. 440.62 (3) (ar), exempted under s.

440.61,0r accredited by an accrediting ageagproved
by the boardn order to complete the apprenticeship-pro
gramand be eligible to takithe examination for a cos-
metologistlicense. Apprentices shall receive training for

atotal of at least 32 hours per week. The training shall

of practice as a licensed barber or licensed cosmetologist
and 150 training hours of theoreticalstruction in bar-
beringin a school of barbering licensed under s. 440.62
(3) (ag) or_accredited by an accrediting agency approved
by the department, achool of cosmetology licensed
unders. 440.62 (3) (ar) or accredited by astrediting
agencyapproved by the cosmetology examining board,
or a school that isxempted under s. 440.61.

SECTION 5q. 454.245 of the statutes is created to
read:

454.245 Department approval of accrediting
agencies. The department shall identify by ruthe
accreditingagencies it approves to accredit schools for
the purpose of satisfying educational requirements for an
initial license or a license renewal under this subchapter

SECTION 5s. 454.26 (2) of the statutes is amended to
read:

454.26(2) An apprentice in barbering shadiceive

be completed in not less than 2 years and not more thar@tleast 3,712 hours of practical training in barbering and

4 years.

SecTiON 5. 454.21 (3) of the statutes is created to
read:

454.21(3) (a) A service performed preparatory to a
live public performance or appearance, whether in—per
son or through broadcast media, including the Internet.

(b) A service performed in the course of greduc-
tion of any digital or analog recording of a movingstll

atleast 288 training hours of instruction in barbering in
aschool of barbering licensed under s. 440.62 (3)dag)
accreditedby an accrediting agency approved by the
departmenta school of cosmetologlicensed under s.
440.62(3) (ar) or accredited by an accrediting agency
approvedby the cosmetology examining board, or a
schoolthat is exempted under s. 440i6brder to com
pletethe apprenticeship program and be eligible to take

imageintended for public release or broadcast, including the examination for a barbdicense. An apprentice in

throughthe Internet.
SeCTION 5e. 454.23 (2) (d) of the statutes is amended
to read:

barberingshall receive training in barbering for a total of
atleast 32 hours per week. The trainstwll be com-
pletedin not less than 2 years and not more thgaats.
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